Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Hawkwind - Spacehawks CD (album) cover




Psychedelic/Space Rock

3.41 | 18 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Special Collaborator
Symphonic Team
3 stars Hawkwind's 'SpaceHawks' adds to the massive list of Hawkompilations that have churned out of the Hawkwind machine over the years and it is not half bad at that. Immediately it must be stated that this list of songs is not your normal run of the mill Hawkwind back catalogue of songs devoted fans have already owned for years. This time around the band have reinvented themselves with new studio versions of some of their most beloved tracks such as stirring versions of Assault & Battery and Golden Void, originally from the masterful "Warrior On The Edge Of Time".

Seasons from 2012's 'Onward' is also re-recorded with this new lineup; Dave Brock is always the most consistent element of the band and he is fine voice as always. Where Are They Now is another one from the 70s given a new glossy makeover and then the surprise of the album is a studio version of the classic fun-filled bizarre Sonic Attack. Dibs is as loony as ever and it is remarkable to finally hear a studio version of this timeless oddity from the 'Space Ritual' masterpiece.

Demented Man is another new recording from "Warrior On The Edge Of Time", given a more melancholy acoustic d'cor. There is a new one to indulge in We Two Are One, that will appease the Hawkwindians out there. We Took The Wrong Step is a strange choice, acoustically driven and originating from 1971's "In Search Of Space" classic. Every decent comp will have the ultimate Hawkwind track Masters Of The Universe, and this time it is reimagined with guitarist Huw Lloyd-Langton's personal twist on it, his final Hawkwind recording so it acts as a tributary cut to his musical prowess.

Sacrosanct is another new one with swathes of synth and techno rhythms. From 'Blood of the Earth' comes a new version of Sentinel, not as heavy as the original but interesting as a softer approach to this gem. It's All Lies is better with the Hawkwind Light Orchestra, and Brock waxes eloquent about the state of the world. Touch is a new recording seguing into The Chumps Are Jumping, dripping with synth lines and space out cosmic nuances. The album closes with the new Lonely Moon and finally a soft version of Sunship BOTE from "Blood of the Earth".

The conclusion that can be reached after hearing these songs is it was nice to relive some of the Hawkwind back catalogue with the new spin on it from this 2013 lineup. The new songs are okay though nothing too flash. All in all it is a Hawkwind album worth visiting and cements their reputation as Masters of the Space Rock Universe.

AtomicCrimsonRush | 3/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this HAWKWIND review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives