Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Buckethead - Pike 18 CD (album) cover




Prog Related

2.13 | 4 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

siLLy puPPy
2 stars PIKE 18 has remained named PIKE 18 with its 8 untitled tracks and hand drawn artwork by BUCKETHEAD himself since its release on 29 July 2013 but finally on 31 March 2016 it was finally updated and placed into the main flow of PIKES with the secondary title THE ASTRODOME as well as names given to the tracks. Yet another all instrumental release with all instruments handled by BUCKETHEAD and production brought to us by Dan Monti and Albert. This one is a tad longer than most PIKES clocking in at 33:49

"The Astrodome" (6:47) starts out with clean guitar and nothing else developing a nice melody with a very slow tempo. A very light drum beat joins in after a minute or so but is clear at this point that it's one of those super ballad types of tracks. This track is fairly predictable and remains super mellow all throughout. Not my favorite type of BH

1 "Airtight Garage" (1:07) picks up steam a bit with a mid-tempo clean guitar riff and more energetic drumming. The guitars have that cool echo effect and the drumming is much more interesting than the beginning ballad. The melodic riffing is more interesting as well

2 "Explorer Twin" (2:57) reverts back to the slow and somber. Clean guitar, lazy drumming and bass note that sustain awhile. The melody is repetitive and not very interesting. BH's ballady stuff that leaves me a little snoozy

3 "Omega Wing" (5:14) is another slow burner starting with clean guitar, bass and slow drums. It begins the usual slow ratcheting up effect by building up a very simple melody in the same manner as most of these types. This one does up the ante a bit and speeds up the track with an echo effect guitar riff and more energetic drum roll but only a smidge above simmer. Can't really say this distinguishes itself from every other track BH has done of this style

4 "Hollow Eyes" (2:18) is another clean guitar track with bass and drums however this one has a pretty cool riff that also has a nice chord progression. It also has a sort of reggae rhythm to it and a nice development. The timbre delivery is pretty similar to all the other tracks but this track proves that it's the songwriting that counts and this short track is actually different and interesting. So far my fave on the album

5 "Beaming" (2:20) is yet another mellow slow burner with clean guitar, bass and slow drums. Melody is ok but predictable

6 "Sun Heart" (1:01) is a little more upbeat but never breaks above mid-tempo. Somewhat interesting guitar / bass / drum interaction for a mellow track. Has potential but no time to evolve

7 "Light Mote" (12:04) is the longest track by far and starts out with a '- surprise, surprise! '- mellow clean guitar riff!!!! It becomes joined by bass and drums. It goes on for 12 min. Boring

This album really doesn't do a lot for me. It's fairly predictable as BH doesn't throw a lot of imagination into these mellower album for the most part. Let me restate that. Mellow is fine if it's not canned and stale. Much of this material is just reworked from past releases. Not impressed. It's a pleasant listen for those who like this type of material that doesn't jar the listener

siLLy puPPy | 2/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this BUCKETHEAD review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives