Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Steven Wilson - The Future Bites CD (album) cover

THE FUTURE BITES

Steven Wilson

 

Crossover Prog

3.14 | 181 ratings

From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Soul2Create
3 stars Finally, this is it, the new Steven Wilson's album. A year later and with more than half of the songs released as singles. So, what does it sounds like?

Edit: Now that I have listened to the Deluxe edition Box I can tell you that some of the best songs are in it, and would rise the note to 4 stars.

01. Unself (9/10) - Ok, it is short and it stops when it reaches the high point, and yet is one of the best songs of the album. Actually, the long version of the deluxe edition serves more like an ambiental continuation of this.

02. Self (6.5/10) - Right in your stomach, the beauty of the first track is destroyed by this experimental-electronic-indie piece. Not bad, the chorus is infectious!

03. King ghost (7/10) - Another electronic piece, this one with a very powerful chorus. What I don't like are the processed vocals and the spoken words.

04. Twelve things I forgot (7/10) - This one changes the mood and we are taken to the pop territory. Too much. I would have appreciated a small psychedelic twist, or at least a good guitar solo.

05. Eminent Sleaze (7.5/10) - Back to the synth pop. Here the voice of Steven reminds me of John Frusciante's in one of his solo albums. I love the verses and the rythm, but in the end the whole song feels like it could have much more potential.

06. Man of the people (9.5/10) - This is the SW we all know. Even with the synthesized drums this is the best song of the album. Great crescendo towards the end.

07. Personal shopper (7.5/10) - The longest song of the album is just an illusion. A well constructed piece of synth pop that again feels undeveloped. Catchy chorus though.

08. Follower (8/10) - Modern pop with few interesting experiments in it.

09. Count of unease (7.5/10) - A good ambiental track, with Wilson experimenting with some sounds in the second half.

B-sides, Deluxe edition tracks (remixes excluded, as they add little to the original versions in my opinion):

10. Haa-Bloody ha (8/10) - A classic SW song driven by acoustic guitar. It breaks into an ambiental/electronic soundscape in the middle. Very good! Reminds me of Porcupine Tree.

11. Move like a fever (6.5/10) - Modern electronica, almost dubstep. I like the base, but it is too repetitive for me. It goes more melodic towards the end. Still feeling that the idea could have been developed better.

12. Eyewitness (7.5/10) - another electronic track, reminds me of Depeche Mode. I love the voice of Steven here. Really feels ike the perfect B-side to Emient Sleaze.

13. In floral green (9.5/10) - Yep, it is a cover, and is the second best song of the album.

14. Hey Sleeper (9/10) - This one is only vinyl exclusive. Very reminiscent of Porcupine tree again!

15. I am cliche (6/10) - How to mix electronic and heavy guitars. Not (very) bad.

16. Wave the white flag (9/10) - Another Porcupine tree infected song. Love the acoustic guitar and the psychedelic efects. Perfect!

17. In pieces (8.5/10) - Obscure and really good synth pop. Feels like a collaboration of Depeche mode, Porcupine Tree and Franz Ferdinand.

18. Every kingdom falls (7/10) - An ambiental song with a strong post rock vibe. Again, the voice of Steven is the best instrument here.

Overall, a good album, plenty of good moments. Give it time, and listen to the B-sides and extra material if you want to hear more of the classic Steven Wilson. Recommended!

Soul2Create | 3/5 |

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this STEVEN WILSON review

Social review comments () BETA







Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — jazz music reviews and archives | MetalMusicArchives.com — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.