Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Jean-Luc Ponty - Jean-Luc Ponty In Concert CD (album) cover


Jean-Luc Ponty


Jazz Rock/Fusion

3.50 | 6 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

erik neuteboom
Prog Reviewer
4 stars This DVD is a registration from a concert on the Jazz Jamboree 1999 in the Polish capital Warsaw with Jean Luc Ponty on electric violin, supported by William Lecomte on keyboards, Guy Nsangué on bass, Thierry Arpino on drums and Moustapha Cissé on percussion. During the concert you will be delighted about these musicians, what an incredible skillful and creative band!

1. Rhythms of Hope (7:57) : Enjoy JL Ponty his flowing and dynamic jazzy-inspired style. The long violin solo has a great build-up and an exciting finale, supported by splendid play on the piano, drums, bass and percussion, very rhythmic!

2. Jig (8:07) : A very swinging track featuring propulsive bass work, a Latin- American percussive undertone, swirling violinplay and an outstanding piano solo, virtuosic and varied (from jazz to Caribbean).

3. No Absolute Time (10:38) : This long composition is mainly based upon strong soli from violin and piano, the atmosphere is mellow.

4. Pastoral Harmony (8:25) : First a dreamy climate with sensitive violin and tender piano, then the piano culminates into swinging. The violin solo is very intense with those typical fast runs from monsieur Ponty.

5. Caracas (8:36) : The intro contains a swinging and pleasant bass and percussion, then a cheerful sounding violin. Halfway an exciting percussion solo on conga's and bongo's which goes into a duet with the drummer, the big smiling faces reveal the pleasure from the musicians, including JL Ponty himself!

6. Memories of California (5:41) : This is an electronic inspired piece delivering synthesizer sounds from Ponty his electric violin and soaring keyboards. Halfway a wonderful, very sensitive violin solo with a classical undertone.

7. Mouna Bowa (8:59) : A catchy rhythm and swinging violin work, then a strong and enthousiastic bass solo, supported by South-American-oriented piano play. Again lots of joy on stage, goose bumps from me while watching this!

8. Enigmatic Ocean, Pt. 2 (7:16) : A splendid rendition from one of his best compositions featuring swirling and dynamic violin work, including an exciting duel between the piano and violin. The rhythm- section is great delivering a short but propulsive drum solo.

9. Open Mind (5:14)1 Rhythms of Hope (7:57) : The final song contains a catchy rhythm with swinging piano and magnificent interplay between all the musicians, a perfect grand finale!


erik neuteboom | 4/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this JEAN-LUC PONTY review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives