Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Anneke Van Giersbergen - Agua de Annique: Air CD (album) cover


Anneke Van Giersbergen


Prog Related

3.99 | 40 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

4 stars The sadness of the output of "Anneke" the band "The Gathering" was immense but incredibly good thing also happened, she set up another band. "Agua de Annique". Keeping the softness of the times of "The Gathering" with the sound traveler. This is not a copy, is a new band, original. "Anneke" can express yourself even better than before, the lyrics are living that perpetuate feelings through your voice. "Beautiful One" is a sonic journey that starts the album followed by the more lively "Witnesses." The other members do not call attention to themselves, play their part as best as possible in order to enhance the brightness of the voice of "Anneke". The debut album is full of passages for travelers especially the aforementioned "Beautiful One", "Witnesses," "Day After Yesterday" ... could quote almost the entire album. "Joris Dirks - guitarist" stands out on the track "Yalin" while the very "Anneke" joins his beautiful voice with his arrangements of piano on the track "Day After Yesterday". "Jacques de Haard - bass" and "Rob Snijders - drummer" the band complete. They are short tracks, nice. Just close your eyes and travel. "Take Care Of Me" is able to break the hardest of hearts. A song almost dragged, chords sung like an ordeal, one last time ... Once again the band stands out and rises the majestic voice of "Anneke" that in the final seconds gave himself to the promptings. In the track "Ice Water", "Joris Dirks" comes with "Anneke" on backing vocals increasing the drama of the music. beyond the short solo disconcerting that culminates with the voice of "Anneke" reaching the climax of the song. "You Are Nice" is the most aggressive song on the "CD" and also requires a higher pitch by "Anneke". "Trail Of Grief" has a strong mark on bass and other instruments of a growing, making this a more "collaborative" track on the album among the musicians. "Come Wander With Me" comes and goes like a breeze, simple e calm. "Sunken Soldiers Ball" gives us a moment of delicate strings with "Heleen de Witte - flute" and "Timothy Conroy - trumpet." "Kristin Fjellseth" sing along with "Anneke" in "Lost and Found." Unfortunately the album is finished and "Asleep" is the sound of goodbye. It is a journey worth every second, is a unique moment that lasts 51:19.
Vobiscum | 4/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password


Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.