Header
Neurosis - The Eye Of Every Storm CD (album) cover

THE EYE OF EVERY STORM

Neurosis

Experimental/Post Metal


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
Prog-jester
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars The first "wordy" review!

I enjoyed NEUROSIS only with this album. I tried some early efforts, but they were to extreme for me. This one is more mellow, while still dark, depressing and heavy. Imagine TOOL inspired by Doom-Metal instead of Alternative Rock. NEUROSIS style is also described as Post-Hardcore; dunno, what should it mean ;), but there is a noticeable share of Post-Rock in their music too. So this should be recommended to Post-Metal/Modern-Prog devotees; if you like PELICAN, ISIS and RED SPAROWES, you should get NEUROSIS without hesitation. Also fans of any kind of dark and depressing music should definitely check this one out. Recommended, but beware - this album may be too gloomy for an ordinary Prog listener ;)

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Prog-jester (BETA) | Report this review (#132123)
Posted Tuesday, August 07, 2007 | Review Permalink
5 stars Not sure how much of a limb I might be going out on here, but I have practically every album these godfathers of post-metal have put out short of Enemy of the Sun and Word As Law and yet this one is the work that never fails to slay me, much more than the others. I guess the closest comparable would be the thunderous, brooding A Sun That Never Sets (and its awesome accompanying DVD).

But for Eye of Every Storm, the feeling is much more intense and spriritual. True to their 'tribal' inclinations Neurosis have created a work that feels like the elements are smashing against you while you stand alone bearing the power of the storm. Yet, this is no enraged, frenzied powersludge fest. This album is beautifully restrained, smouldering, and holds a lot back but when the floodgates open you are indeed overwhelmed by its tidal surge!!! Its probably also their most developed and melodic work. Yes, Steve Von Till and Scott Kelly's vokills are an acquired taste but I say they are in fact essential to the mood and feel, their world-weary, bedraggled tones give a raw earthern vibe. Lyrically this is way deep and actually very upifting in a painful way, no emo whining from these men amongst men!!!! Steve Albini's engineering and production work is stellar, its deceptively raw but allows the music space and time to breathe.

So I can state unequivocally that this is my fav Neirosis album and a seriously top-notch porgressive metal classic.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to superprog (BETA) | Report this review (#148505)
Posted Friday, November 02, 2007 | Review Permalink
UMUR
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
4 stars The Eye Of Every Storm is the 9th full-length studio album by American Experimental/ Post metal act Neurosis. The last album by the band Neurosis & Jarboe (2003) was a bit unusual as it was a collaboration between Neurosis and former Swans vocalist Jarboe. That album stands as a bit of an oddity in an otherwise steady development of Neurosis style from album to album. The album before the Jarboe affair A Sun That Never Sets (2001) had seen Neurosis moving closer to post rock without losing their trademark heavy/ sludgy post metal sound. The Eye Of Every Storm should be seen as a continued development from the sound on A Sun That Never Sets. A slow but impressive development in sound that started with the groundbreaking Souls At Zero (1992) album.

The music on The Eye Of Every Storm is the most subtle the band has produced up until then. This by any means does not mean that this isn´t one heavy album, because it certainly is. The raw hardcore vocals have been toned down considerabley though. A development that already started on A Sun That Never Sets. Scott Kelly is an intense vocalist, who can both sing raw and more emotional types of vocals. I should probably add dark, melancholic and angry emotions to that remark. As always when were talking Neurosis those are the emotions that the band excel in. Scott Kelly´s vocal style evoke those feelings. Sometimes I´m reminded of Nick Cave. The songs on the album are mostly pretty long. Most of them between 7 and 11 minutes and Neurosis is the kind of band who knows how to entertain you all the way through those long songs. It´s not that there are multible riffs or fast impressive playing in the songs. Rather they are pretty slow building and atmospheric. I´m actually not going to mention specific songs from the album as I find the album and the songs on the album very consistent in quality.

The production is professional and powerful.

The Eye Of Every Storm is a natural development for Neurosis. It didn´t surprise me at all, and I guess I´m slighly disappointed because of that. I must say that I miss the aggressive nature of their mid-late nineties albums a bit but the band has chosen another path and I´m gonna have to accept that fact. The Eye Of Every Storm is recommended for those who enjoy hybrids between post rock and post metal. A 3.5 - 4 star rating is warranted. This one might not be my favorite but you can´t deny quality.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to UMUR (BETA) | Report this review (#259718)
Posted Thursday, January 07, 2010 | Review Permalink
Conor Fynes
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars 'The Eye Of Every Storm' - Neurosis (5/10)

Widely held to be one of the cornerstones in the post-metal world, the reputation and legendary status of Neurosis is not in question here. Along with Isis, the band innovated a genre which has now legions of adherents behind it. As with many great bands though, the sound most often changes, or develops from album to album. Ideally, this sound either reivents the band's existing sound into something even more exciting, or changes things up completely, for better or worse. In Neurosis' case with 'The Eye Of Every Storm', the sound has certainly become more mature from their earlier work. However, while the essence of the band is here, Neurosis seems to lack the same intensity and excitement that initially drew me into the band.

Topping seventy minutes in length, one can expect Neurosis to be in this for the long haul; 'The Eye Of Every Storm' is a record that certainly tests the patience of the listener. The ideas are drawn out, and often there will be large breaks from the more metal leaning moments. In fact, the greater part of 'The Eye Of Every Storm' relies moreso on a sombre mellow sound that keeps the same introspective and brooding vibe, but conveys it in a very different light. More often than not, the sludgy guitar textures are exchanged for electronic atmospherics, or minimalistic instrumentation. For these long winded passages, the focus is almost entirely on the gravelly voice of Scott Kelly, of whom this almost feels like a solo album. Much of what 'The Eye Of Every Storm' has to offer revolves around Kelly's distinctive vocals, at times belting but- in the case of this album particularly- resorting to a very sombre croon. Granted that the man's voice is not for anyone, but the really deadpan and rough delivery throughout the most mellow parts does wear thin regardless.

Where Neurosis still strikes gold is with the heavier metal sections, but most of all, the lyrics. Based on what has already been said about Kelly's voice being the centrepiece of the album, the lyrics become that much more important. Although the music often borders on stagnation, there is the sense that this is the work of a weathered poet; rough emotion etches through almost every verse, and it makes 'The Eye Of Every Storm' a surprisingly contemplative effort from these experienced post-metallers. The 'metal' moments here are fairly few and far between, but given the mellowness of the rest of the music here, the dynamics do get more powerful than they would be otherwise, and Neurosis still has a penchant for tasty guitar textures intact.

A disappointing album in some respects, but a reaffirming one in others. All the same, Neurosis has no lack of ambition here, and although the music may not be as enjoyable to me as I was hoping it to, I can still hear the artistic passion in the work of this band.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Conor Fynes (BETA) | Report this review (#452462)
Posted Friday, May 27, 2011 | Review Permalink
EatThatPhonebook
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars 7/10

"The Eye Of Every Storm" is a dissonantly melodic, meditative, and thought-provoking experience.

Recognized as one of the the greatest metal bands of the past twenty years, Neurosis didn't have to prove much, but they once again proved that they're the kings of Sludge Metal, with 2004's "The Eye Of Every Storm", eight years after "Through Silver In Blood". This 2004 release is in my book the second part of the trilogy that concludes Neurosis's career, the first part being "A Sun That Never Sets" and the last one "Given To The Rising". There is a small release in the middle of the trilogy, but I tend to forget about it.

In 2001 the band had significantly changed direction in their sound, going for a more experimental approach, using more interesting sounds and samples and turning down the volume. "The Eye Of Every Storm" continues towards that path, using less strange sounds and focusing much more on the guitar textures, very frequently clean. Of course in both these albums Neurosis manage to get pretty darn heavy, but not as much as they did in the earlier days. Also, I couldn't help noticing that on this more recent release they are less build-ups, and more atmosphere. Clean, undistorted atmosphere, it almost sounds like Post- rock most of the time. The vocals are less aggressive, but still have a rough delivery, sounding frankly like a sort of animal that is whispering in pain. I'm not crazy about this kind of singing, I rather hear Scott Kelly burst in rage like he did previously. The songwriting is good, and the structure of these songs seems a little sparse but very stretched out, almost like if the ideas were all floating around in a pretty long fragment of time, as if they were echoing endlessly in space, dissonantly.

Dark tones are pretty much dominant, thanks also to the samples, which are much less used but when they are they play a great role. There's a good handful of repetition, which seems to overcome the climaxes, and in this way it still manages, once again, to be an Atmospheric Sludge Metal release for Neurosis. However this way the tracks always are at the same tone, without increasing it or decreasing it, which makes the listen a little flat at times. The distortion is very present and is inevitable to miss, as it has a more ambient use to it, so again we have another factor that makes "The Eye Of Every Storm" particularly influenced by Post-Rock.

But these songs are never boring. They always manage to be very fascinating sounding, even though after a while the album gets a little too long for this kind of music. Even some of the songs are a little too stretched out; the title track to me is decent but nothing more, and it goes on for what seems like forever. The other epic song "Bridges" is much more interesting and fascinating, with great sampling and electronics. There are songs, though, that build, "No River To Take Me Home" and even more in "Bridges In The Sky", both very good tracks. The songs in the core of the album are good as well, they have certainly their moments. But the closer "I Can See You" is a dreadful song, the song that has the most emotion, that is probably the most mysterious as well.

This album may not be a good introduction to the band, but it is a great release for Sludge Metal, a definite must if you like this genre, and also an essential addiction to any Neurosis fan.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to EatThatPhonebook (BETA) | Report this review (#550109)
Posted Friday, October 14, 2011 | Review Permalink
JJLehto
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars With this album Neurosis takes a more standard post metal sound, though you can't knock the band for that, since they invented the sound.

I actually prefer newer Neurosis over old, simply put: atmosphere over aggression (as one person once told me). Of course atmosphere has been a Neurosis staple since '92, they've been belting out lengthy, atmospheric metal long before Isis or even Tool, but on "The Eye of Every Storm" they adopt a more heavy/light interplay style, and is greatly subdued. Their bludgeoning, sludgy guitar dirges are still around, but just much less. Neurosis has no problem utilizing melodic passages, and even minimalism.

Opening track "Burn" and "The Eye of Every Storm" have lengthy movements that are almost solely vocals, the latter being backed up a continuous "wub", psychedelic noises and splashes of guitar.

These two being standout tracks. "Burn" is, again, pretty standard post metal, though so well done. Heavy/light transitions, building to a powerful climax. His gruff, sludge metal vocals are so fitting...he does it in a more "singing" style and over soft, beautiful music it creates such an emotional, tortured feeling. Awesome song.

"The Eye of Every Storm" moves like a storm, gradually rolling in until it reaches a real moving part, before entering a long quiet section. A baritone talking takes the forefront, as mentioned earlier, backed up by various trippy noises. Really let it sink in, what he's saying, the ambiance, everything.

Another brilliant song is "Bridges". A steady, (though very distant) punk drum beat carries on while sparse piano, vocals, and fluttering psychedelic noises take the forefront. Picks up a bit before a schizo journey of drones and borderline silence takes over. Both parts are awesome, though it takes some patience to grasp all the subtlety in the quiet (on casual listen it'll sound like honest silence) before a rockin ending. Atmospheric, post metal to the nth degree.

That's really how to best describe whole album. A lot of quiet, spaced with heavy, (in their classic slow, even droning, nature) tons of little detail. Pretty heavy use of synth, though it's never prominent, just filler...another piece you may not hear at first but adds another dimension.

The vocals are still Neurosis' strained, sludge metal style though even here more subdued. He still lets it soar, but all the time and while I was never a huge fan, I like it much more here. The restraint does well, and of course makes it more powerful when he takes off.

No doubt, like most of the bands work this is a difficult album. Even I struggle a bit with some Neurosis. "The Eye of Every Storm" requires some patience and a fine ear. It's not the best for casual listening, as the long quiet parts would have to be boring, this is best for active listening. To really feel this albums power and absorb all the subtle songwriting it's best to sit down, do nothing, and let the album take you over. I like to put it on early morning after I wake up, sitting there relaxed playing this album, or doing so whenever I have some nice down time.

While it's extremely well done, the album is a tad formulaic and it's difficulty may be a turn off, (though I found it easier to get into then old school, crushing Neurosis). The gods of post metal have done it again, putting out a unique and superb post metal album.

Four Stars

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to JJLehto (BETA) | Report this review (#645558)
Posted Sunday, March 04, 2012 | Review Permalink
5 stars Neurosis is not a band that would come to mind if I were to name my top 10 or 20 artists going around. For the most part, I've found it difficult to get into most of their sizeable collection of works.

There's a notable exception with 2004's "The Eye of Every Storm". This is one of my favourite albums, and the best I heard in that year.

The album opens with "Burn", a track that begins with great percussion and tortured guitar over the top. The opening lyric sets the tone for the album. "You lie in the snow, cold but not dead". After a few minutes the track makes a transition to some wonderful atmospherics and whispered vocals. Scott Kelly is sublime in his vocal delivery on this album, and this section exemplifies it perfectly. As he warns "Don't let it steal your eyes" the music ramps up again for a great crescendo.

"No River to Take Me Home" continues in the same vein with a slow, melancholic guitar riff leading into the first of several passages in the song. As with the opening track there is a quiet section with whispered vocals used to great effect. The last few minutes comprise of another plodding, catchy guitar riff that trails off to silence.

Track 3 is the title track and it's a gem, full of briliant atmospherics and once again amazing vocal delivery. A hunted outcast hurtles into an oncoming tempest. Simply mesmerizing. Once again there are a number of passages in this song as the journey is played out. As things quieten at around 5 minutes, synths surge to the forefront. They are like the steadying heartbeat of the protagonist as he calms himself for what lies ahead. In the final passages we're told "Time brings them all home to the eye of every storm".

"Shelter" is a gorgeous instrumental that carries on the theme of the album perfectly.

Then we're presented with what I believe is the centrepiece of the album. "A Season in the Sky" begins with solemn guitars setting the mood. As I listen, I can almost feel the sand under my feet and the desert night sky above. Scott Kelly delivers the lyrics almost as spoken word for most of the track. I could quote the whole song, but will restrict myself to this: "I drifted silently to the desert and began to pray. I came to a pile of ashes and sifted through it looking for teeth." Wonderfully evocative, and when combined with that desolate guitar, simply amazing. When the rest of the band kicks in there's no respite from the heartwrenching mood that has been established. The distorted guitars are as heavy as lead and further crush the listener under the weight of this monstrous track.

This is an album about being lost and alone, cold and desolate, in an unforgiving wilderness with no way out. There's a stark beauty chiselled out of this hopelessness that is nothing short of breathtaking.

For those who love music that paints a picture inside the mind, and that transports one away to somewhere else, it doesn't get better than this.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to bonestorm (BETA) | Report this review (#952918)
Posted Thursday, May 02, 2013 | Review Permalink
Warthur
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars Aside from a collaboration with Jarboe, this is the first Neurosis album to have come out since A Sun That Never Sets, and the sludge metal had changed substantially since then with acts like Isis issuing incredible albums like Oceanic to challenge Neurosis for the subgenre's crown (and Cult of Luna were fast becoming strong challengers too). Here, Neurosis double down on the bleak direction set by the preceding work, though if Steve Von Till was responsible for "filters and textures" I can't help but wonder whether a different hand on the tiller might have been called for, since much of the album's textures feel kind of off to me to an extent I find distracting. (In particular, the vocals sound thin and weak to me.)

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Warthur (BETA) | Report this review (#1126868)
Posted Tuesday, February 04, 2014 | Review Permalink

NEUROSIS The Eye Of Every Storm ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of NEUROSIS The Eye Of Every Storm


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | GeoIP Services by MaxMind | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.20 seconds