Header
Los Jaivas - Alturas de Macchu Picchu CD (album) cover

ALTURAS DE MACCHU PICCHU

Los Jaivas

Prog Folk


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
loserboy
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars "Alturas De Macchu Picchu" (The Height Of Macchu Picchu) is a brilliant blend of Andrean folk and progressive rock music styles. Essentially Los JAIVAS have taken traditional Peruvian / Chilean folk music and blended it with a heavier Progressive rock style (moogs, guitars, drums...). The end result is something you have never heard before but will definitely learn to love quickly. Lead singer Gato Alquinta has an amazing voice and can really belt it out without ever sound overly overbearing. His vocals are sung of course in Spanish and are done so with high degree of romanticism not unlike many of the Italian prog greats. The band houses 2 keyboardists but are surprisengly not the most dominant aspect of their music and instead ensures the music remains symphonic. A couple of songs are pure Chilean folk but blend beautifully against the more symphonic pieces throughout. Without a question progressive fans will fall off their chair when they hear "La Poderosa Muerte" an 11 mins piece of progressive rock magic. A great album for sure...!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to loserboy (BETA) | Report this review (#29127)
Posted Tuesday, March 30, 2004 | Review Permalink
Marcelo
PROG REVIEWER
5 stars LOS JAIVAS is a very well-known and one of the most popular bands in Chile. Most of their albums are dedicated to Andean folk, adding occasionally rock elements, but "Alturas De Macchu Picchu" is their closest approach to progressive rock, and... what a majestic approach! The band achieved an unique and wonderful symphonic sound keeping their folk roots, with beautiful and powerful voices (in Spanish) and magnificent instrumentation.

The album highlights for prog fans are -no doubt- "La Poderosa Muerte", a long fantastic song (I dare to say one of the most beautiful in South American prog history) and "Final", the atmospheric end. There are pure folk tracks too -very good indeed-, including the super-classic anathem "Sube A Nacer Conmigo Hermano" (poetry by the great Pablo Neruda, winner of Nobel Prize in literature in 1971; if you don't speak Spanish try to translate, because lyrics are fascinating).

Check it out; even when you wouldn't be into South American folk music this album will be a special surprise!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Marcelo (BETA) | Report this review (#29129)
Posted Monday, April 26, 2004 | Review Permalink
Steve Hegede
PROG REVIEWER
5 stars What would it sound like if you combined symphonic prog with Andean folk influences? Well, "Alturas De Macchu Picchu" by Los JAIVAS answers that question. This album is an incredible find for anyone who enjoys both progressive rock and traditional Peruvian, and Chilean, folk music. If you can imagine electric guitars, bass, drums, piano, and the Moog interacting with instruments like the cuatro, quena, and zamponia then you're in for a treat. "Alturas..." combines epic-length symphonic prog tracks, with shorter traditional Andean songs. In my opinion, the keyboardist really stands out when playing acoustic piano. He tends to mix pentatonic-based melodies with local rhythms, yet those melodies sound closer to Chinese classical folk more than American blues, or Eastern European folk. His style is unique in the world of rock. The other musicians are equally impressive, but I think most listeners will focus in on the excellent vocals. Anyway, this is one of the top 5 prog rock albums to come out of South America.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Steve Hegede (BETA) | Report this review (#29132)
Posted Thursday, May 27, 2004 | Review Permalink
arkhangel978@
5 stars Somebody already said it. How it couldn't be a masterpiece with similar combination of elements?:

The Scene: The Incredible Ruins of the City of Macchu Picchu, summit of the Incaican civilization, mystic by essence, superior by Lineage.

The Letter: The greatest Poetry of one of Nobel Prized of Chile, Don Pablo Neruda, who inspired by the soul of America, wrote verses in honor to the Indigenous feeling.

Music: Simply, Los Jaivas...

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#29134)
Posted Friday, June 11, 2004 | Review Permalink
Sean Trane
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Prog Folk
4 stars I had always beem wary of South American prog because of the clichés of latino music (carribana - salsa - calipso - mambo etc..) and the fact is that this latino stuff irks me after a few minutes (I think they all sound alike and are extremely commercial but I also admit being almost prophane because of my general ignorance of those musics). Back in 81, I had however done my end-of-secondary-school escapade in S. America starting out in Venezuela and finishing in Chile - the original goal was to go to Tierra Del Fuego but we smoked too much what had to be smoked and chewed what had to be chewed , so we did not keep pace and never managed the last two thousand Kms. Certainly we payed no attention to the music other than the Andean Indian Folklore that we dearly loved and the cassettes in our 4WD. We had no idea that such a band was releasing an album that very year we were there(although they were fleeing the Pinochet regime and were recording from France, I gather) that represent one of the aspects of prog I was waiting for: Folk-prog from the Andes.

This album starts out great with Andean pipes and other flutes and soon we jump in the "pièce de résistance" Poderosa Muerte which is stupendous - read the other reviews. However the waryness I had was confirmed on the third and fifth or sixth number as the Latino rythm and music take over in what I will classify under Mariachi music for lack of better knowledge (I know Mexico is far away from Macchu Picchu , but as I said above, I fully admit to not knowing the intrinsicaties of those styles). The other numbers are much more in the line of the great second number. I only have one tiny critic on thiose two songs is that on one of them they obviously ripped off Hackett with a Latimer sound. The final small numbers echoes off the debut of the album.

This was my first album from that continent (Rael and Cinema Show being clones of you- know-who don't count, and I quickly got rid of them) and this album pleased me enough to want to persue my research. I discovered afterwise that my library has a few albums including this one! I would like to thank YOU , ProgReviewers on this site and Gnosis for helping me guide my research to a good start . Should we call this Mariachi Prog? :-) (Please avoid hitting me below the belt and above the shoulders)

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Sean Trane (BETA) | Report this review (#29137)
Posted Monday, September 27, 2004 | Review Permalink
Cesar Inca
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
4 stars This is one of the most celebrated prog albums to come out from the South American Continent, and one of the definitive highlights of the Chilean band Los Jaivas. Conceived and recorded while the fivesome were residing in Paris, the lyrics were taken from an evocative poem collection written by Pablo Neruda (also Chilean), inspired by the amazing and mysterious beauty of the ruins of Macchu Picchu - located in Peru -, and expressing a mystic reflection upon the contrast between the power of that ancestral beauty and the weakness of human nature, perpetually trapped by temporality and death. This dramatic appreciation, full of alternating joy, sadness, exaltation and melancholy, is properly conveyed by the colourful compositions: these musical ideas are based on a perfect amalgam of Andean folk (lots of Andean pipes and hand drums in many places) and an eerie symphonic prog, mostly influenced by WYWH- era Pink Floyd and vintage Genesis. The performances are tight, with the band working as a whole unit at keeping a sense of enthusiasm that can be perfectly perceived even by those who don't know Spanish and/pr are not familiar with South American folklore. The duets of Alquinta's guitar and Eduardo or Claudio Parra's synths are really outstanding, and so are the grand piano parts played with superb elegance by Claudio Parra. After the brief intro 'Del Aire al Aire' (a sequence of Andean woodwind and percussives displayed on a background of synthetic wild wind), the 11-minute long epic 'La Poderosa Muerte' exhibits a series of varied passages that epitomize the maximum level of splendour contained in this album: a long eerie intro that leads to the cueca-based first sung section, next a stylized diablada, followed by a second cueca section that eventually leads to the explosive prog climax, ended with the sound of synthetic thunder. All diverse sections are fluidly intertwined. A special mention goes to that brief moment in which the ocarina and the Moog indulge in a game of responses until they almost melt into one single sonic source. Later on, the same epic ambitions of 'La Poderosa Muerte' remerge in the shorter 'Antigua América', although this time the chamber element is a bit more prominent, due to the stylishly Baroque use of clavinet in some passages. Between these two tracks, there are 'Amor Americano' (basically, an exciting Andean folk piece played with rock instrumentation) and the mesmerizing symphonic ballad 'Águila Sideral'. 'Sube a Nacer Conmigo Hermano' is the most popular tune: unlike the preceding repertoire, it is not based on Andean folklore, but the tropical lands of Venezuela - more exactly, it's a joropo reconstructed under the frame of rock and jazz fusion. The inclusion of this number doesn't break up the album's musical cohesion: on the contrary, it helps the band to make their point about human finitude as a genuine universal concern. The sensual joy that is inherent to the joropo allows the track 'Sube a Nacer.' to state an optimistic view about the destiny of all Latin American nations (back in the early 80s there were still lots of cruel dictatorships functioning there). But then again, 'Final' closes down the album with a resumed sense of melancholy: Alquinta's whispering vocal and the flowing piano arpeggios remind us of the fact that the river of one man's life is destined to end up in the immense sea of death. In conclusion: an excellent addition to any good prog collection.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Cesar Inca (BETA) | Report this review (#29138)
Posted Thursday, October 21, 2004 | Review Permalink
5 stars To put poetry into music is difficult; to put Pablo Neruda into music is even more difficult; to make that sound amazing is impossible. And LOS JAIVAS did it. One more amazing thing: they composed the entire album in just 3 months. Definetly, a masterpiece... a must-have for every music lover. This is a great album, great music, perfectly performed. In this album you will find an excellent drums performance by master Gabriel Parra, an even more amazing Claudio Parra in the pianos and harpsichord, the great and unique voice of Gato Alquinta, the very creative basslines of Mario Mutis and the geniously keyboards and moog-synth of Eduardo Parra. And also, we have the Andean instruments, like the trutruca, quena, zampoña and ocarina. The final result is just wonderful. There is no words that describes what this album makes you feel.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to TheSilentManII (BETA) | Report this review (#29140)
Posted Sunday, December 26, 2004 | Review Permalink
erik neuteboom
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars This band from Chile is one of the most interesting blends of folk and symphonic rock. They are playing many instruments including the ethnic tutruka, charanjo, tarka, tumbadore, bongo and maracas. My favorite album is "Alturas de Machu Picchu"" from '81, featuring Nobel prize winning poet Pablo Neruda, responsible for the lyrics. Highlight is "La poderosa muerte", a melodic and harmonic composition (around 12 minutes) that starts with the typical sound of the panflute and melancholic piano notes, very beautiful and moving, followed by emotional Spanish vocals. The build up is magnificent with propulsive drums and sparkling piano play, soon accompanied by a fat sounding synthesizer and fiery electric guitar. The dramatic atmosphere is emphasized by pathetic vocal harmonies. The moods keep on shifting with lots of (ethnic) instruments, a very emotional experience and a fine proove that progrock has emotion!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to erik neuteboom (BETA) | Report this review (#29142)
Posted Tuesday, February 22, 2005 | Review Permalink
5 stars the first time that listens to east album went to the 12 years old and I transform myself into one of my favorites, clear that in that time very clear nontapeworm the idea of which it was the progressive rock very original songs of a very own sound in the style of Nektar or Emerson lake & to palmer and but the impressive thing that the jaivas did it in 3 months the only VIVA CHILE

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to MANTICORE (BETA) | Report this review (#29143)
Posted Thursday, June 02, 2005 | Review Permalink
fuc_king77@ho
5 stars Brilliant. A Masterpiece of MUSIC. With this album from 1981, Los Jaivas takes another large step in their musical evolution...Unlike the first albums full of improvisations and "musica de vanguardia" on "Alturas del Machu Pichu" the chilean folks create a very well thinked opus and every single note was crafted with dedication and patience.

Highlights: La Poderosa Muerte, Aguila Sideral, Sube a Nacer conmigo Hermano, Final.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#39762)
Posted Monday, July 18, 2005 | Review Permalink
5 stars I heard this album twelve years ago in a friend´s house and left me impressed. I bought the album and since then Alturas de Macchu Picchu has stay with me as one of my favorite albums of all time.

I have to admit that can´t be objective, but my enthusiasm is, by far, bigger than any reason when I talk about music so here`s what I think:

This is not just an album about folklorical sounds of Southamerica, this album is as conceptual as "Tommy" or "The Snow Goose" because it features passages from "Alturas de Macchu Picchu" a book of poems from Pablo Neruda, in a very clever way: It goes from the glorious past of a ancient civilization to the decadent present of an opressed people finishing with a pray.

Musically goes from Muliza - a musical form from the peruvian Andes - in "Amor Americano" to Joropo - a musical form from Venezuela - in "Sube a Nacer conmigo Hermano" in such a natural way that doesn´t feel like a different band despite the variety of genres.

The lyrics are really something, Neruda´s identification with the opressed is part of the spirit of this album - "I come to talk for your death voice" says in "Sube a Nacer conmigo Hermano" - and the capacity of the band to achieve an album that stays far away from the cliché is remarcable.

They have earned each one of the 5 stars!!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Alka (BETA) | Report this review (#60307)
Posted Wednesday, December 14, 2005 | Review Permalink
Trotsky
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
5 stars For all the spectacular achievements of Los Jaivas, it is widely accepted that it is Alturas De Macchu Picchu on which the group reached its peak (although I think I just about prefer the double album Obras De Violeta Parra). Certainly it is this album on which its international reputation was established. Based on selected texts of the poet Pablo Neruda, this brilliant work was crafted when the band was in exile in France. At various times during the course of this album, the band's fusion of its Andean influences and "conventional" prog-rock abilities is flawless.

Del Aire Al Aire helps provide the majestic ambience, but the album's real opening statement is of course La Poderosa Muerte. Slow-building, like many of their best pieces (notably Cancion Del Sur from the previous album), it sees a gradual establishment of Andean flutes, a haunting vocal melody from Alquinto (with deliciously pained harmony). The entry of Gabriel Parra's superbly inventive drums, the fuzzy synthesizer work, a swirl of sci-fi inspired Moogs, the energetic emergence of the electric guitar, traditional chants with clever piano backing that eventually leads into another beautiful vocal segment from Alquinta, a brief brass symphony ... this composition has so many elements. This really is music of the ages, a timeless piece in which the musical journey is natural and flawless.

Thankfully the masterpiece keeps unfolding. Amor Americano is playful and relies more on vocals although the strident guitar (double-tracked with synths) is also important, particularly during the gorgeous solo passages. This song echoes earlier Los Jaivas folk material, but uses the instruments of Western rock, not native Andrean folk. Then there's the phased vocals of the eerie compelling masterpiece Aguila Sideral, which layers piano, guitar and then pan-pipes over an unobtrusive rhythm, in a truly unforgettable manner.

As for Antigua America, Claudio Parra's piano playing (I believe it is he, even if brother Eduardo is the other keyboardist) is simply stunning and Gabriel's drumming is also extremely creative. When the band is in full flight with dancing guitar and piano lines, it is thing of pure beauty. The exuberant Latin brass theme of Sube A Nacer Conmigo Hermano also bristles with life, and although this sort of music is nowadays the purvue of acts like The Gypsy Kings, Los Jaivas' arrangements are excellent. The violent power of the vocals always takes surprise me when I return to this album. Final is just that ... a tantalising soliloquoy over rippling piano lines ... an irresistibly melancholic piece of music.

Alturas De Macchu Picchu is deeply emotional, steeped in legend and history, a seamless fusion of what was then past and present. ... 90% on the MPV scale

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Trotsky (BETA) | Report this review (#74872)
Posted Thursday, April 13, 2006 | Review Permalink
4 stars A great album, but not really a masterpiece. Combining western progressive piano based softrock/folk with Andean folk, Alturas de Macchu Picchu is probable the best album Los Jaivas made. Thoroughly enjoyable.

The opening song Del Aire al Aire is really just that, it's a clear statement of their Andes roots, slow ambiant with some panflute melody, a little restraint in melody and not really good, a bit misleading for the unaware listener for the musiuc that follows is of high quality.

The album really starts for me with the 11 min. song La Poderosa Muerte, a wonderfull testament of Los Jaivas's progressive skills and talent. you can listen the song on this site, great music, it get's better with every passing minute. Amor Americano is like the title suggest a lovesong for america, very joyfull music, with great spanish vocals and fabulous keyboard works.

Aguila Sideral goes very slowely but all too beautifull, candy for my ears really. lots of piano some flute little rhythm, but just enough to keep it flowing. Antigua America starts with the typical Andean flute sounds, but again more western orientated piano rock takes over the main theme and goes rockingly forward with increasing tempo, fabulous again.

Sube a Nacer Conmigo Hermano like the previous songs filled with piano and compelling spanish vocals, great tempo and some fabulous soli. The album ends with the expediently called Final mostly piano, and quite nice, but like the opening song, I could do without.

The opening and closing of the album aside this album is candy for my ears, very nice melodies, with Andean and western influences. Great music especially for those who like traditional and folk music. Listen and judge yourself.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to tuxon (BETA) | Report this review (#91774)
Posted Sunday, September 24, 2006 | Review Permalink
FruMp
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars A unique blend of Chilean folk music and conventional prog.

This album is a remarkable folk album, with rich South American instrumentation and traditional prog guitars, synth and drums. The album starts off on a light note with a haunting pan flute intro song leading into the stellar 'La Poderosa Muerde', easily the best song on the album with sad melody on piano and flute before moving into quite a depressing motif with some excellent guitar and some interesting bell-like synth work later leading into some authoritative chanting before ending triumphantly. 'Aguila Sideral' is another highlight, very laid back and contemplative with some great kraut style drums and more enthralling flute work.

There are some weak points on the album though notably 'Amor Americano', it's not a bad song but it's a bit of a departure from most of the songs on the album, it's a fairly benign song with an odd latin time signature and that's about it. Overall though Alturas Del Machu Pichu is a great album for fans of Andean folk, symphonic prog and folk in general, highly recommended.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to FruMp (BETA) | Report this review (#144749)
Posted Monday, October 15, 2007 | Review Permalink
NotAProghead
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Errors & Omissions Team
5 stars A masterpiece

There are enough reviews on this album, so I guess no one will read mine :)).

Breathtaking from start to finish, powerful and gentle, when needed. Sometimes the band sounds like an orchestra because of lots instruments used (especially dual keyboards, grand piano and synthesisers, and different ethnic woodwinds). No weak moments at all, but my personal highlights are epical ''La poderosa muerte'' (I'm not too original here) and catchy ''Sube a Nacer Conmigo Hermano''.

Great poetry by Pablo Neruda. If you, like me, don't speak Spanish, you can find translations to many languages.

The album is much more accessible than another great LOS JAIVAS work, ''Obras de Violeta Parra''.

In my opinion ''Alturas de Machu Picchu'' is LOS JAIVAS best album. A must have. Very good starting point for those who are new to the band's music, only the same-name DVD is better. 5 stars without any hesitation.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to NotAProghead (BETA) | Report this review (#159915)
Posted Saturday, January 26, 2008 | Review Permalink
ZowieZiggy
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars Los Jaivas have been releasing several efforts by 1981. All of them being full oriented towards Andean ethnic music. Only their debut one featured some rocking moments inspired by "Santana".

The central piece of this work is the long (just over eleven minutes) "La Poderosa Muerte" (the mighty death). It is indeed a very good song, especially during the instrumental parts. Vocals are weak and dull unfortunately.

The band is closely related to his "tierra" and often cites the Andean mountains or landscapes in their lyrics. I guess that the fact to be far away from your country only increases the need to talk about your origins. They left Chile a long time ago by now (in 73), not only to escape the fury of the regime but simply because they wanted to integrate new sounds to their music.

They travelled and they stayed in Argentina till 77 but were playing live gigs in Uruguay, Paraguay and Brazil from their new "home" base. Due to many political problems in these mid-late seventies in South America, the band decided to move to Europe and they choose "la ville lumière" to settle. Because of its cultural aura as well as its central location. It was a complete new slife for "Los Jaivas". They had to start from scratch, since they were completely unknown on the old continent.

Starting with this effort, their albums will be released on both sides of the Atlantic and their fame will grow internationally as well.

This album is a considered as one of their most important and it is true that it holds some good music. A bit more rocking than usual. The great guitar sound I have already mentioned is back again during "Sube A Nacer Conmigo Hermano" (too short, unfortunately). But what kills me are the below average vocals and these awful trumpets. Reminds me more of some parties while I pay a visit to my Mexican step family. Several songs holding weak lyrics as well ("Antigua America", "Aguila Sideral").

This album is their more "adventurous" so far. But a song as "Amor Americano" is fully representative of their native music and holds very few prog elements. One of the weakest numbers together with the opening and short "De Aire Al Aire". Andean ambient music; repetitive and naïve.

I was expecting more of these "Alturas De Machu Picchu". The great "La Poderosa Muerte" seriously helps this album above the average territories. The second best song IMO is the complex "Antigua America". A powerful and fully prog song featuring a great beat and some excellent guitar work. The closing Final is the only one during which vocals are on par with the music. A very sentimental piece of music.

Three stars.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to ZowieZiggy (BETA) | Report this review (#160079)
Posted Monday, January 28, 2008 | Review Permalink
Andrea Cortese
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
4 stars Los Jaivas is a prolific talentous band from Chile that plays symphonic prog blended with their own emotional andinean folk roots. In 1981 they released what is considered their most famous (if not the most beautiful) work based on the poems of a certain Pablo Neruda.

I think the music is unique and shows a significant grandeur as in the highlight and magnum opus La Poderosa Muerte (11:08) which is by no means a wonderful passionate crescendo that you'd want never stop.

This is really a gem and I'm proud to have it in my personal discography. The whole record is more into the folk side as is quite evident listening to songs as Amor Americano (5:26) and Sube a Nacer Conmigo, Hermano (4:48).

Aguila Sideral (5:20) is instead darker with dynamic bass lines, pan flute and filtered vocals. Antigua America (5:37) starts off with pan flute and then gines the scene to fast classic piano playing and a strong rythm session. Excellent happy-andinean-symphonic prog in the second half.

This is certainly a miliar stone in the whole southern america prog experience. A legendary testament for the perfect balance between music and lyrics.

4.5 stars.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Andrea Cortese (BETA) | Report this review (#165280)
Posted Saturday, March 29, 2008 | Review Permalink
kenethlevine
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Prog-Folk Team
4 stars To the baby boomers weaned on Latin American music via "El Condor Pasa", "Alturas De Machu Picchu" comes as both a comfort and a shock. Simplistically speaking, this album presents nothing but amplified traditional (or neo traditional themes), almost stereotypically so at times, particularly on "Amor Americana", but a mere gentle scratch on this veneer reveals a more accurate picture. The arrangements are more symphonic progressive than anything, retaining the original melodic inspiration while displaying considerable virtuosity, particularly on the many piano embellishments and the tumescent bass, even if the lead guitars are occasionally a bit dichotomously raucous.

The exception to the generally overriding folk flavour can be found in spades in the eleven minute wonder that is "La Poderosa Muerte", where Los Jaivas comes close to defining some type of new genre. The suite is highlighted by the best vocals of the album, stately shifts of pace from pensive to harried, and an overarching purpose. It can also be appreciated from listen 1 to n, where n approaches infinity.

While "Alturas de Machi Picchu" is an essential classic of progressive folk and one of the best from South America, its over-reliance on archetypal tunes prevents it from reaching the peaks of which it speaks. 4.5 stars rounded down.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to kenethlevine (BETA) | Report this review (#202381)
Posted Wednesday, February 11, 2009 | Review Permalink
5 stars i think, one think they are the beatles of chile one or the Best band of chile, i never see them on a live, but that album ALTURAS DE MACHU PICHU i think or many think that is one of the best cd of chile, when radiohead come to chile, our nation give 3 albums altura de machu picho, and they other i forget. and the most of the lirics of the songs are poem by the famous pablo nerudo and la poderoso muerte, is one of my favourite song of chile, and what progressive, i dont hear many folk, in special i hear metal but i know when a cd or a bad are a good band or cd . Gato Alquinta sing very good, and play guitar very good in my personal opinion he is a very music, Mario Mutis in one oprtunity i hear a sentence very good: "el viejo sabe" it was a bassist and the sentence is because we was talking about bass, and mario use the classic rickinbacker 4002 i only have to say one thing more: i never hear a best folk than los jaivas (except jethro tull)

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to insomniak (BETA) | Report this review (#235971)
Posted Sunday, August 30, 2009 | Review Permalink
Marty McFly
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Errors and Omissions Team
4 stars OK OK, it's a masterpiece, prog fan must have and maybe also revolution. But it does not work for me so much, as I wanted. And yeah, I wanted a lot, because I've seen this one in charts for a long time and hesitated to finally get into it. I finally did, as you can see and my feelings are confused. It's folk, that's for sure and I hear it all over this album, shouting at me. I like folk music, especially these exotic ones (I'm used to listen/live in western culture), but as far as I can decide, it's not so much prog. In some elements, it is. And folk power of this is high enough to give me justice to give

4(-), but not more. So far at least. Maybe there will happen same thing as with "Mice And Rats In The Loft". Giving less would be on verge of prog blasphemy (even I would dare to do it if I would like - why not after all), fortunately, I don't feel that way. I don't want to anyway - because there has to be a way to this album. Well, to close this somehow, I can't hold this anymore. Wanna know what Picchu means in my language ? Well, it's unappropriate for this site, so I'll let it on cu_t - of course, this doesn't mean anything

Not easy listening (if you want to listen carefully and closely)

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Marty McFly (BETA) | Report this review (#259335)
Posted Monday, January 04, 2010 | Review Permalink
snobb
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
3 stars I was never fan of folk-prog (or folk-rock), but I saw this Los Jaivas album in PO Top-100 for a long, and at the first possibility I just decided to listen it. To be honest, I have some experience with earlier Los Jaivas album, and singing poetry/Latin folklore I heard on it didn't impress me at all.

But - new album often means new impression. Album's opener "Del Aire al Aire " is short Andean folk instrumental with birds singing sound over it. Not bad, but still folk I was so disappointed on my previous experience with Los Jaivas. Second song "La Poderosa Muerte " is nice Andean folk composition combined with singing Pablo Neruda poetry and some keyboards. Somewhere from the middle of the composition drums and bass are taken their place as well, so in whole it sounds as folk-based psychedelic prog composition with symphonic elements. OK, things go better I see. In some moments it sounds as South American version of early RPI, but at least there is some rock and some prog on this album!

Third song ,"Amor Americano", opens with electric guitar soloing, and I start to believe this album is related with progressive rock ! Vocals on this song are bombastic and almost operatic, but OK, such things happens. I think the bigger problem than vocals (with is great by itself, but is hardly connected with rock music) is the fact that all album's music is very static. By the way, folk element on third song sounds very similar to Chinese, how strange!

"Aguila Sideral "begins with spacey/birdie effects we heard yet on one of previous song, but there electronic sounds are on the front ,what gives some psychedelic atmosphere. Simple and nice Andean melody with prog keys from early 70-s.

"Antigua America" is a rare real progressive song on this album, kind of keyboards-based symphonic prog, with light flavour of Latin folk. Not very original, but it represents Latin symphonic prog-folk as I understand it."Sube a Nacer Conmigo Hermano" is something what I usually hear from "Buena Vista Social Club" with some additional electric keyboards and guitars. I really love Cuban music, and this song is great reminder.

Album's final song - "Final" - is short neoclassical semi-acoustic ballade.

It's difficult to evaluate such album in whole. Really better then some their earlier folklore works, it is specific kind of folk rock with some progressive influences. Folk element is really very strong, and some songs are just modern folk. Prog elements on other songs are presented, but usually they are early RPI or symphonic prog , coming from early 70-s. The album is recorded in 1981 in France, and it aged bad.

Generally not a bad album, but more the music for specific fans of Andean folk-rock, possibly could attract RPI and few symphonic prog fans as well. For any other progressive ROCK fan could be a very risky purchase.

My rating is 2,5,rounded to 3

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to snobb (BETA) | Report this review (#291899)
Posted Sunday, July 25, 2010 | Review Permalink
4 stars A good album of this chilean quintet, poet Pablo Neruda provided the lyrical richness that few albums have, just to mention that in those times progressive music was not recognized in the Americas, this was a genre that was never popular even in the called "underground", so it is doubly recognize the effort of this band to do something different ... Musically the album is not a gem, or perfect, the voices are not the best, even the execution of the instruments, but does not lose quality, or is questioning his reputation as musicians. From my perspective the highlights of the album are the track´s 2 and 3, "La poderosa muerte" and "Amor americano" two songs that reflect the full potential of these South American musicians.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Diego I (BETA) | Report this review (#429835)
Posted Saturday, April 09, 2011 | Review Permalink
5 stars For me the perfect music album of folk rock prog... nothing left and nothing overdone here... each song very different, with their own theme... lyrics are very powerfull (must read it!) and the music, a very amazing dialog between rock and folk instruments and melodies... simple passages and also very complex lines... and most importat... Los Jaivas didn't try to sound like nobody but themselves... They invented a form to play music... they search for pentatonic scales based on original folky tunes of south america... they didn't play rock rythms, but the use rock instruments in a very particular style... Grande Los Jaivas.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to hacia los bosques (BETA) | Report this review (#803026)
Posted Saturday, August 11, 2012 | Review Permalink
5 stars In Argentina's bicentennial celebrations in 2010, the Jaivas were invited to participate. It was especially exciting to hear the song play La Poderosa Muerte (The Mighty Death). This work is a classic South American progressive music, rhythms and sounds imbued native. Among the latter we find zampoña, quena, ocarina, trutucas, tarka. Alturas de Machu Pichu (At heights of Machu Pichu), the group's most progressive album, it achieved a unique fusion, incomparable. Andean folk, rock, psychedelic folk. The lyrics are by Pablo Neruda, thoughtful and intimate. Excels neat and virtuoso work of Claudio Parra in grand and electric piano. Variety is perceived in the nostalgia of The Mighty Death, Joy of Amor Americano and Sube a Nacer Conmigo Hermano, melancholy of Aguila Sideral melancholy and Antigua America. Great legacy left by this Chilean band.

And if we talk about this part of the world, Astor Piazzolla think should be included in ProgArchives, like Vox Dei.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to sinslice (BETA) | Report this review (#933043)
Posted Tuesday, March 19, 2013 | Review Permalink
4 stars Today's piece of prog will be "Alturas de Macchu Picchu" by the Chilean band Los Jaivas from 1981. It seems t be their most famous and appreciated album and their highest ranked one. It was a really pleasant listening which combined originallity and tradition. The cover picture is fascinating with a monster with beautiful clothes sitting on a rocky landscape holding a glass ball in its hand. The album is an addaption of Pablo Neruda's poems and it is the band's seventh record.

It contains a lot to like on these seven tracks. "Del Aire al Aire" is an instrumental beautiful introduction with indian flutes that builds up the feeling good (8/10). Next track: "La Poderosa Muerte" is the longest and also the best on this album. It shows pure love for music in form of dramatic almost opera singing, different flutes and later drums with keyboards och then electric guitar in a wonderful way. In the end I get some feelings of Ange and the final in symphonic and great. A very living track (10/10). "Amor Americano" has a very traditional South American melody, known for you who have heard South American indian folk musik. But this is also inspired of Classical European music. I find a very playful time here(9/10). "Aguila Sideral" is musicaly nice with a lot of instruments but hasn't an easy achieved melody but more of a modal feeling(7/10). "Antigua América" is the album's second best track. I find it symphonic and the melody almost Asiatic and it is very smart built up like someone climbing up a mountain(10/10). "Sube A Nacer Conmigo Hermano" takes a totally different shape, traditional perhaps but not for European ears. It sounds like a carnival or Brazilian stuff. The singer sings fast and frenetic(7/10). The record ends with "Final", a pretty surrounding of everything with pure piano and lyrical vocals(7/10).

Over all, this is good qualitative music that lightens up your world for a time. I wouldn't consider it a masterpiece but they did some wonderful experiments or musical expressions on this album. Four stars!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to DrömmarenAdrian (BETA) | Report this review (#1011278)
Posted Monday, August 05, 2013 | Review Permalink

LOS JAIVAS Alturas de Macchu Picchu ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of LOS JAIVAS Alturas de Macchu Picchu


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | GeoIP Services by MaxMind | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.42 seconds