Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Mindflow - Just The Two of US Me and Them  CD (album) cover

JUST THE TWO OF US ME AND THEM

Mindflow

Progressive Metal


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
4 stars A great promise from Brazil. Very young guys, with a great talent. " This is only the beginning" The vocalist is amazing, between Daniel Gildenlow -PAIN OF SALVATION - and Ray Alder - FATES WARNING - Is necesary a quiet listening of the record to apreciate this.
Report this review (#33246)
Posted Wednesday, January 19, 2005 | Review Permalink
5 stars This album is amazing! You must buy, the best prog. metal in my cdplayer in date. Strong influencies of PAIN OF SALVATION and DREAM THEATER. 2 bands that i REALLY like! And Mindflow is nod very far in my discografy. I just relax and wait their new cd.
Report this review (#36948)
Posted Sunday, June 19, 2005 | Review Permalink
4 stars 3 1/2 Stars.... First album of the Brazilian band ,the production is very good!!! You cant find a little aspect from Dream Theater and Pain of Salvation.A mix of two..This is a concept album with good melodie and very nice transition..But the felling is missing sometime!! and for the next album maybe a working on backing vocal job be apreciate.. Al around i think Mindflow delevery a good first album and surtenly the next will be better..
Report this review (#41203)
Posted Monday, August 1, 2005 | Review Permalink
5 stars A great album! Principally at fact that is a debut cd. Is a new and promissing album, that brings one history beyond the musics, increasing the concept. The songs have a great quality, with good solos and progressions. Remembering bands like a Symphony X and Dream Theater, that had influenced the group. We brazilians are wishing much luck for this young guys. We hope that the future have one place for them together with the masters of progressive metal.
Report this review (#54318)
Posted Tuesday, November 1, 2005 | Review Permalink
Mellotron Storm
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars This is one of those records that can't be reviewed properly song by song because of all the material. For a first album, these guys from Brazil have created some complex arrangements. And the way they make most of the songs just blend into the next one really gives this record unity, like a story is being told, as it is.The singers vocals sound a little like Bruce Dickinson when he holds a note, and he also sounds like James Labrie when he changes the tone of his vocals to a higher pitch.

There are lots of guitar riffs and solos, many tempo shifts as well. Some great synth work too. My favourite song is "2nd Dawn" a mid-paced song with some excellent axe work, and the vocals are great too. But there are too many highlights to mention.

Just find this record, it's amazing !

Report this review (#99974)
Posted Wednesday, November 22, 2006 | Review Permalink
5 stars This is an epic piece of music by Brazilian band Mindflow. It is a concept album, and a great concept at that. It deals with a psychic Pearl scribbling down the story of brothers Ariel and John. I won't give away anymore deals, don't want to spoil what is a great story for the rest of you.

The music while having a wide amount of influence, in particular Dream Theater and Pain of Salvation there is something genuinely different and original about the music of Mindflow. Their music is heavy and technical, as well as epic and melodic.

The album is a great emotional ride, as a concept album should be. The musicianship is phenomenal. Benilo Herbert's vocals are brilliant, powerful and emotive. The highlight tracks are 'Honesty', '2nd Dawn', 'Invisible Messages', 'Meeting Her Eyes' and 'the Logic Behind Heads and Tails'. This is some great modern prog metal.

Report this review (#109088)
Posted Friday, January 26, 2007 | Review Permalink
WaywardSon
PROG REVIEWER
5 stars This album is the strongest debut album I have heard from a Prog Metal band. To release a concept album as a debut is quite rare nowadays, let alone releasing one of this quality! Whatīs great about this album is that you can hear the bass clearly. (A lot of Prog Metal bands have the bass mixed far too low or it is drowned out by the heavy guitars) Ricardo Winandy delivers some really complex bass playing on this album, making it a pleasure to listen to on headphones.

The vocalist, Danilo Herbert has a fantastic range and has to be the best vocalist to have come out of South America.

The guitarist displays a strong sense of melody and knows when to hold back or let rip. Toward the end of the album he lets go with some dazzling lead guitar work. Throughout the album he changes from electric to incredible acoustic playing. Miguel Spada also switches from keyboard to piano and although the band cites Dream Theater as a big influence, the keyboard playing is unique and canīt really be compared to anyone else. Somehow, the keyboardist seems to stitch the music together and make the music flow, adding that special "unique" element to their sound that only he knows how.

Rafael Pensando does a lot of complex drumming throughout this album, reminding me a lot of Mike Portnoy. The great thing about this band is that there are no weak links, the musicianship is top notch, the bass isnīt low in the mix, and the music chops and changes without warning.

This is real PROGRESSIVE metal!!

Report this review (#130077)
Posted Tuesday, July 24, 2007 | Review Permalink
ProgShine
COLLABORATOR
Errors & Omissions Team
4 stars Mindflow's first album Just The Two Of Us? Me And Them (2004) was released as any other of the band's albums. Full of pomp and with no support of the big labels. And yet, with high quality.

During many years the band offered this album as a free download everywhere, including their website (and it's still there at mindflow.com.br/downloads.php).

At first this comes as a surprise to me, being a Brazilian I wasn't aware of them at all and the time I discovered them they were already touring their second album Mind Over Body (2006).

In this debut album they have a very interesting concept where the girl Pearl write things in her diary that eventually come to be reality. And then the girl is infused in a completely chaotic world. In the music department Mindlfow was playing simply and plain Progressive Metal, a good one indeed, but sounding too much as the biggest names on the scenery (read it as DT). It would take 2 albums for the band actually get rid of these influences.

Anyway, an album that any Prog Metal fan should check, especially because it's a free download in the link above.

Report this review (#286818)
Posted Thursday, June 17, 2010 | Review Permalink

MINDFLOW Just The Two of US Me and Them ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of MINDFLOW Just The Two of US Me and Them


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — jazz music reviews and archives | MetalMusicArchives.com — metal music reviews and archives