Header
Magenta - Another Time... Another Place CD (album) cover

ANOTHER TIME... ANOTHER PLACE

Magenta

Neo-Prog


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
richardh
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars This review is based on only one listen but i doubt whether my opinion will change.For me Magenta are one of the best prog bands around.I've seen them live twice and they kicked ass both times.This live selection is taken from their 2 excellent studio albums 'Revolutions' and 'Seven'.The production is spot on.The performances are perfect.Can't really say more.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to richardh (BETA) | Report this review (#33626)
Posted Sunday, January 09, 2005 | Review Permalink
4 stars Some day, one day this band is going to make it BIG, so here's the ideal chance to get in on the ground floor and say "I WAS THERE BEFORE...." A live double cd which shows perfectly how tight this band really is. THE MUSIC? Well, to me it's melodic prog rock. They really wear their influences on their sleeve and they're not ashamed to admit it.Genesis, Yes, Gentle Giant. All the usual suspects and it's all the better for it because in my opinion they're saying to me .."We like the music you like, but nobody's doing it anymore so we're going to give it a go" The music is a heady mix of complex melodies/harmonies, grand themes, difficult time signatures, soaring guitar solos (This guy Chris Fry really is the mutts nuts) and the STUNNING voice of Christina. It's powerfull, yet tender. At once distinctive, yet (to me) reminds me of one of the Wilson sisters (HEART) before they fell in love with their hairdryers!! I've always been a sucker for the 20 minuters with a big finish so they slot in lovely amongst the Spock's Beard, Rush and Dream Theater and Yes section of my cd rack. They are not as heavy as some of these groups but thet can easily crank it up to 11 when they need to. I saw them in Rotherham last year and they were amazing....My only gripe is that they seem to play a gig every 7 months. Come on boys and girls...sort it out and get over to the North West (and I don't mean Wales!!)

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to The Barrel (BETA) | Report this review (#33627)
Posted Sunday, January 23, 2005 | Review Permalink
selkadi@terra
4 stars Great performances, wonderful singing, nice setlist and good sound recording: this is a really good record to me. If you don't know Magenta yet, this is a nice record to start with, as it contains good songs from each of their previous studio records. And I am amazed with Christina: how she manages to sing this way live, almost like in the studio versions, is truly a blessing!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#33628)
Posted Tuesday, January 25, 2005 | Review Permalink
4 stars You could be forgiven for thinking that it's maybe a little early, career-wise, for this band to go down the tried and tested double-live album route. After all they've only given us two studio albums to date - 'Revolutions' (2001) and the superb 'Seven' (2004). However, I'd have to argue with you on the subject. For starters it's such wonderful material. Magenta throw a handful of obvious influences from the classic era of prog into the blender and come up with a stunning new recipe - and this is a band that is best heard live!

Seasoned progheads will be pleased to hear that the 'Revolutions' album, a double CD, brought together no less than FOUR twenty-minute epics, and on this live album we are treated to two and a half of them. 'Children Of The Sun' is a beautiful concept piece and 'The White Witch' is probably my favourite piece by the band so far, clocking in at 22 minutes it explores the medieval witch trials and the work of Matthew Hopkins the Witchfinder General.

The band's second album 'Seven' is a concept album based around the seven deadly sins. Included in the live set are 'Gluttony', 'Lust', Pride' and 'Anger'. 'Lust' is introduced as 'The White Witch Part 2' and it continues in the same lyrical vein as it's older sister.

Musically there are some very Genesis-like moments in parts of Rob Reeds keyboard work and Chris Fry manages to sound very like Dave Gilmour on more than one occasion. Christina's voice reminds me very much of Maire Brennan, although the Clannad comparison certainly has to end there! Rob Reed's compositions and arrangements show masterful musicianship. The early parts of 'Children Of The Sun' has some great interplay between vocal passages in 6/8 and instrumental stabs in 5/8 (at least I think it does if I counted right!). On the other hand Magenta are perfectly capable of pulling off a four-minute rocker, proved perfectly here with a punchy rendition of the single 'Broken'.

Of course this wouldn't be me writing if I didn't mention the bassist! Matthew Cohen's work on this album is staggering. He plays a pair of Warwick six-strings through a Warwick rig (hmmmm...wonder if he's got a sponsorship?). Together with drummer Allan Mason-Jones he builds a striking rhythm section, pulling off some complex moves. I wish his bass was a little higher in the mix to be honest, but then I'm from the Chris Squire school of bass volume!

Magenta are planning a new double studio album and a live DVD this year, I think they are about the most exciting band in the UK prog scene at the moment so I'm looking forward to adding them to my collection!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Andy Long (BETA) | Report this review (#33629)
Posted Wednesday, February 02, 2005 | Review Permalink
tszirmay
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Crossover Team
4 stars The time has come to anoint a new candidate to join the prog elite: I name Magenta. It takes more than a couple of good releases to reach such lofty heights and this band delivers on all counts with this third major disc. Magenta's first release "Revolutions" took the prog world by storm, unleashing unanimous praise from all circles worldwide, with both fans and critics taking serious notice. To start off with a 2CD debut is already a clear sign that confidence and purpose is spearheading this effort to create an outstanding series of 20 minute epics is mindblowing! Then, after a brief respite, Magenta comes out with another winner , the equally compeling "Seven" which also draws rave reviews from almost everyone! Wonder what will be next up, you ask? Forever unpredictable , they return to the fold with a 2CD LIVE recording! What balls! What audacity! Especially when taken into account that Live albums are not exactly prog strongest suite , as opposed to say well documented classic live rock, blues or jazz albums ! Some past concert takes are often spotty affairs, sounding too overblown or even mechanical . Outside of the mesmerizing "Coma Divine" by Porcupine Tree , there are few classic Live prog albums. Another Time, Another Place is a rendition of a typical Magenta concert, in the course of a recently completed European Tour (according to the credits) and what a compelling ride it is! Leader and keyboardist Robert Reed (of Cyan & Fyreworks fame) surrounds himself with highly capable musicians who are obviously also pals, the enthusiasm is apparent throughout the proceedings. The rythm section is spot on , the dueling guitars of Chris Fry and Martin Rosser keeping everything interesting and of course, the revelation: the new queen of prog, Christina Booth! Her performance live really confirms her stature as a new force in prog , handling the complex music with unbriddled ease, delivering the goods without a hitch. They all work as a well oiled team of seasoned proggers, conjuring up all the power, the passion and the dedication our beloved genre can express. All the material is well reproduced , close to the original without sounding even remotely mechanical , again due to the overt passion displayed by the players. The entire concert flows majestically with no peaks or valleys , just pure bliss! Three magical albums later, Magenta has landed at the gate of Prog immortality, especially if the next album reaches similar heights. I shudder at the thought! 4 clappies

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to tszirmay (BETA) | Report this review (#33630)
Posted Monday, February 28, 2005 | Review Permalink
philipbirtwis
5 stars Almost certainly a band with a great future, Magenta cap the first part of their career with a superb double live CD. The bands best early moments are captured throughout the 110 minutes of musc on offer.

Despite the studio output being mainly the work of Rob Reed and Christina, the live band are able to stamp their own identity on the often lengthy tracks on offer here, with Matthew Cohen and Allen Mason-Jones anchoring the sound perfectly. And just wait until the DVD comes out to see Chris Fry at his best, a guitarist to watch as well as listen to. Martin Prosser is usually unseen at the back of the stage, but makes his mark with some terrifically imaginative playing.

Splendid to see my daughter Ruth pictured in the booklet as well, 10 year old prog fans are few and far between.

Now, if only they'd get around to putting Sloth in the live set, life would be perfect....

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#35912)
Posted Thursday, June 09, 2005 | Review Permalink
erik neuteboom
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars After 3 studio albums the UK five piece band Magenta decided to release a 2-CD with live material. I have only heard the first two albums from Magenta but listening to this 2-CD live set I notice that few things changed: pleasant female vocals with hints from Annie Haskam (Renaissance), wonderful guitarplay (from tender acoustic to fiery electric), a strong rhythm-section and a lush and varied keyboards sound (sampled Minimoog, Hammond, Mellotron, Fender Rhodes). The very melodic compositions are in the 24-carat symphonic rock tradition with obvious hints from Yes (vocal harmonies, bass sound, Minimoog flights) and Genesis (keyboards) but Magenta sounds more mainstream, less adventurous and less elaborate. But there is a huge demand for this kind of progressive rock, I think many progheads will be pleased with this live 2-CD from Magenta. To me it sounds very professional, this band has a bright future in the world of the progressive rock.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to erik neuteboom (BETA) | Report this review (#51658)
Posted Thursday, October 13, 2005 | Review Permalink
3 stars Magenta is a band that seems to get better with each release - "Revolutions" was deadly dull and "Seven" was identikit neoprog, but this is halfway listenable. Live, their sound is much more dynamic than the bland, mannered studio versions, and both band and audience sound like they're having fun. Yet "Another Time. Another Place." ultimately confirms rather than dispels my original impression of the band - they still sound like an ironic parody of a progressive rock band for the most part. Except for the cringe-inducing moment when Christina Murphy yells "Let me see your hands in the air", where a little irony might not have gone amiss.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Politician (BETA) | Report this review (#59143)
Posted Sunday, December 04, 2005 | Review Permalink
ZowieZiggy
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars I believe that "Magenta" should have waited a bit before releasing a double live album.

So far, the band has released one (short) double studio work, a (long) single album and one EP. Needless to say that most of these are featured on this live set. It makes this one a good entry point to the bands for the ones who are willing to discover their "Renaissance-Yes-Genesis" music.

I can't really say that the band sounds better on stage since songs are pretty close to their studio versions. What's for sure is that Christina Murphy, their female lead vocalist sounds as pleasant while singing live. The tracklist is perfect in terms of their first effort. The whole of CD one is played (if you except the short transition track "Opus I"). These were the two best songs from it . Their most personal ones. The version of "The White Witch" is my fave in this live offering.

They will also play an edited (and good) version of another one of their epic from "Revolutions" which featured four tracks clocking at twenty minutes. "Yes" is omni-present during "Genetesis".

From their second effort called "Seven" in reference to the seven sins, "Gluttony" was my preffered one. Not only because of its title but due to great vocals from Christina again. I also liked very much "Greed" from this album. But unfortunately it won't be featured on "Another Time, Another Place". On the contrary, the weakest song IMO "Anger" could have been avoided. But this is a personal choice.

From their average EP, we'll get the best of it ("Broken") as well as the worse ("Opus III"). The later being used as an intro a la "Firebird" from who you know.

All in all, it is a good live album and an interesting way to discover the first part of their work. Three stars.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to ZowieZiggy (BETA) | Report this review (#149489)
Posted Wednesday, November 07, 2007 | Review Permalink
3 stars Why this fine Welsh prog rock band released a double live album only after two full length albums and one EP; only the honorable woodpeckers in Wales knows. But why complain when the result is a highly entertaining 110 minutes long live album.

Music wise, Magenta is more in the vein of Renaissance than any other bands in the scene. The add their other influences like Yes and Genesis into their music and you have Magenta. The comparison with Renaissance is quite obvious, both being fronted and based around female vocals. Magenta's music is very symphonic at places, but also at time driven by the vocals of Christina. There is also plenty of guitars, piano and keyboards in their sound.

The songs on this album is really good. Songs like Gluttony, Broken, Children Of The Sun, Pride and Call Me. The rest of the material is good too.

Their sound could overall be a bit more dense and that is my only problem with Magenta. I get the feeling their sound is a bit naive and lacks the punch Renaissance have. Maybe it is the vocals or the instruments.

But Magenta is as far as I am concerned one of the better neo-prog rock bands on this planet and this live album proves why. It is recommended.

3 stars.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to toroddfuglesteg (BETA) | Report this review (#188052)
Posted Wednesday, November 05, 2008 | Review Permalink
SouthSideoftheSky
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Symphonic Team
4 stars Opus 1

This double CD was Magenta's first live release, followed only a year later with a live DVD (called The Gathering) featuring live performances of many of the same songs. However, unlike the DVD, this live album does not feature a single complete show, but instead was recorded in various places, over a longer period of time (hence the title: Another Time... Another Place). This fact alone favours The Gathering DVD over this live album.

But also the respective set lists, though very similar to each other, favours the DVD. Comparing the set lists, we see that there are only two songs featured here that were not also on the DVD; Lust and Anger. These are also my least favourite songs here. Lust, in particular, is somewhat dull and meandering in comparison with the rest. The DVD, on the other hand, holds a few more songs that are not on this album, all of which are among the band's best.

Like the live versions featured on the DVD, the versions found on the present album are much improved over their studio counterparts. Magenta's live sound has a slightly harder edge, it is slightly heavier, and also more energetic compared to their studio sound. As I found the studio versions of these songs somewhat too timid and lacking in power, I am very happy with these live versions. Children Of The Sun is a brilliant piece of music, and the version on this live album might be the best version of it.

Overall an excellent live album, that outshines the studio albums by the band by a wide margin. But if you manage to find The Gathering live DVD, you don't really need this as well unless you are a collector of all things Magenta.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to SouthSideoftheSky (BETA) | Report this review (#694864)
Posted Wednesday, March 28, 2012 | Review Permalink

MAGENTA Another Time... Another Place ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of MAGENTA Another Time... Another Place


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | GeoIP Services by MaxMind | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.22 seconds