Header
Pink Floyd - Masters Of Rock Vol. 1 CD (album) cover

MASTERS OF ROCK VOL. 1

Pink Floyd

Psychedelic/Space Rock


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
Cluster One
PROG REVIEWER
2 stars Released only on vinyl as an LP in the mid-seventies, this little known compilation by the FLOYD is out of print and fairly rare to find. Containing almost essentially the same songs as that found on "The Early Singles" bonus CD in the 1992 "Shine On" Boxset, this release is purely for collectors and completely non-essential.

The only difference from the aforementioned "Early Singles" CD is that "Masters of Rock Vol. 1" has two "Piper At The Gates of Dawn" songs, 'Matilda Mother' and 'Chapter 24' instead of the much superior and harder to find 'Point me At The Sky' and 'Careful With That Axe, Eugene'.

For collecting purposes this is great to have, but if you're looking for an 'early' FLOYD compilation, go and pick up the more appreciated fan favourite "Relics".

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Cluster One (BETA) | Report this review (#36463)
Posted Tuesday, June 14, 2005 | Review Permalink
myremix2001@y
5 stars I have a vinyl copy made by Emi Italy. It's a record you must have. It shows what Pink Floyd were with Barret. Withuot him they were another band. For me Pink Floyd history ends with their first album. In this compilation you find only jewels. If you find it, buy as soon as you can.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#40800)
Posted Friday, July 29, 2005 | Review Permalink
2 stars I had waited years to hear Apples and Oranges and when I finally tracked it down on this release it was a major disappointment. Relics is a better selection than this although it certainly brings together a few of the rare early pink Floyd tracks. This record is also extremely short even by the periods standard 30imins is not great value. This release is now getting quite valuble, so in that respect I am glad I bought it. However I was never much of a Pink Floyd fan and this set didn't help to improve my view of them.

Addition to review 19-6-12.

Over the last 6 years I have finally fallen for the Floyd, and now own all the Rodger Walters era recordings. Even so "Apples and Oranges" is still by far their weakest track.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to burgersoft777 (BETA) | Report this review (#101630)
Posted Tuesday, December 05, 2006 | Review Permalink
ZowieZiggy
PROG REVIEWER
1 stars This is insanity !

I already mentioned on my review for "Best Of Pink Floyd" released in 1970 that I was going to post the same review for "Masters Of Rocks" not to count one more review but only with the purpose that this fact will have more exposure amongst Floyd fans.

WHAT ANNOYS ME THE MOST IS THAT THIS COMPILATION IS MADE OF ALMOST SYD'S WORK (SEVEN OUT OF 10 SONGS) AND THAT HE IS NOT EVEN FEATURED ON THE FRONT COVER !

This scandalous "thing" was already released in 1970 with another cover still with Syd unfeatured under the title of : "Best Of Pink Floyd".

The track list of this "compilation" is rather poor. It consists more of B-sides, poor album number (from "Piper") and some great hit singles than anythong else.

I know how David and Roger were close to Syd, so how could have they accepted such a thing ? I have no clue. This should deserve zero star for this scandalous approach, but since it is not possible I will raise my rating to one star.

Avoid this one like pest.

RIP Syd.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to ZowieZiggy (BETA) | Report this review (#108251)
Posted Sunday, January 21, 2007 | Review Permalink
3 stars A Rock Artifact

Prior to being eclipsed by th 1992 box Shine On Pink Floyd`s lead-off installment in EMIs Masters Of Rock series was signifigant back in `74 when it was first issued. Obviously trying to cash in on the success of Dark Side Of The Moon it introduced fans who had probably missed Floyd`s early 67-68 era when Syd Barret was in the band from which period these tracks are culivated.

Several tracks were already only previously available as singles which even by that time had become coveted collector`s items. Although containing tracks previously released on the anthology LPs Relics ( 1971 ) and The Best Of The Pink Floyd ( 1970 ) but not both it also features the stereo mix of the Rick Wright track It would Be So Nice which was intended for airplay and also featured David Gilmour`s guitar debut with the band. It also features the original mono mix of Julia Dream ( which is different from the Relics version ) with Gilmour`s debut on both vocals and guitar. However the world would have to wait another 18 years for this and Apples and Oranges ( reproduced here in full living stereo ) to be issued on the Shine On box set.

Nonetheless, this package is really of interest to serious collectors of vintage vinyl or fanatical Floyd completionists who want to hunt down the two different covers which aren`t really anything to write home about.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Vibrationbaby (BETA) | Report this review (#217419)
Posted Friday, May 22, 2009 | Review Permalink
3 stars When I bought this album in the early 90's it was far more sought after due to the fact it was one of the few ways you could obtain Syd's "Apples and Oranges" without searching for the single or dealing with dodgy bootlegs. As this track and most of the single tracks are now officially available on the CD format this collection is a bit redundant and just something for devoted fans and collectors. Unfortunately this was a "budget compilation" (as all the "Masters Of Rock" series were) and it certainly sounds like one . The amount of care is most evident on the German Electrola version which in it's "other albums available" section, the cover for "Dark Side Of The Moon" is upside down.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to KMacNutt (BETA) | Report this review (#377508)
Posted Monday, January 10, 2011 | Review Permalink
4 stars A better comilation than Relics, although it's missing "Biding My Time" and the studio version of "Careful With That Axe, Eugene." I had Masters of Rock Vol. 1 on vinyl (as far as I know, it hasn't been released on CD), and it's a joy to listen to. Even though it repeats a few tracks from Piper, the way its sequenced and mastered makes for a thouroughly enjoyable psychedelic record. "Arnold Layne", "Paint Box", and "Julia Dream" are here, as is the still very psych even when censored "Candy and a Currant Bun" (original lyrics were "let's roll another one"), the trippy "Apples and Oranges", and Richard Wright's "It Would Be So Nice," yet another great, great song of his that's notably different from all of his other early songs, as they all are. Interestingly, the song itself is comprised of three completely different yet completely original sections, one startlingly whimsical section, a really trippy pre-chorus with great volume swells in the guitar to compliment dreamy falsetto vocals, and a powerful, bombastic chorus that's quite catchy. These three sections when repeated, contrast with each other to a kaliedoscopic degree, making for a very engaging and totally unforgettable experience. As a whole, these are some of their most psychedelically written and produced songs, and if you see it in a used record store and want to hear some early Floyd, you would not do wrong to pick it up. 4.5 stars.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to 7headedchicken (BETA) | Report this review (#699147)
Posted Thursday, March 29, 2012 | Review Permalink
AtomicCrimsonRush
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Symphonic Team
2 stars A rare 30 minute blast of Prog Rock's finest sees the Floyd machine banging out one old psych nugget after another. The rarity of the vinyl is the only drawcard as the songs are not the band at their best by any stretch of the imagination. Chapter 24, Mathilda Mother, come from the debut, and then Arnold Layne, Candy And A Current Bun and The Scarecrow are perhaps the most well known from the follow up.

The songs are well known and not rare at all but the packaging is. Julia dream and See Emily Play are the highlights for me though this is a raw unrefined Pink Floyd. The compilation has Barrett's batty banter looming over proceedings. The album comes in many packages, various sleeves and track orders but really this is a treasure from the 70s vault and only for collectors who must have anything associated with the band.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to AtomicCrimsonRush (BETA) | Report this review (#751992)
Posted Saturday, May 12, 2012 | Review Permalink

PINK FLOYD Masters Of Rock Vol. 1 ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of PINK FLOYD Masters Of Rock Vol. 1


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | GeoIP Services by MaxMind | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.17 seconds