Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Genesis - Twilight Alehouse  CD (album) cover



Symphonic Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
5 stars Now this is a different story from the "Happy the Man" single. "Twlight Alehouse" is a great Genesis song. The lyrics talk about someone that has turned to alcohol because of the problems and lonliness in his/her life. The chorus is very catchy and has a great feel to it with heavy keys. Gabriel's singing is very powerful during those parts and you can sense the sarcastic type approach he uses to sing the parts such as "just a drink to make me feel like a man again." The flute solo in the middle of the song is very melodic and fits in perfectly. The flute also comes back for a nice instrumental part a little closer to the end of the song. The song than builds up to an interesting and powerful ending. This rating is for the song as a song, not as an album (because you can't really rate this single as an album.) I always wonder why this song wasn't included on one of the early Genesis albums.
Report this review (#56293)
Posted Monday, November 14, 2005 | Review Permalink
5 stars Hm, a piece of genius that many didn't get a shot at until 25 years after its initial release. This is yet another Genesis classic, which would probably be more fitting released after (or on) Nursery Cryme, rather than after SEBTP. Obviously the placement doesn't hinder it, though.

In most cases, it doesn't make much sense to give five stars to a single. But since many of us hear this on Archive #1 rather than by itself, I figure it's sensible in this case. Great track, worth the "essential" rating.

Report this review (#56346)
Posted Monday, November 14, 2005 | Review Permalink
[email protected]
5 stars I must agree with the other reviewers on this song. It is a true masterpiece often overlooked by Genesis and Prog fans alike. It is certainly worth getting. It is dramatic and has great keyboarding as ever by Tony Banks. This can be found on Archive 1 and that is well worth getting.
Report this review (#58661)
Posted Wednesday, November 30, 2005 | Review Permalink
[email protected]
5 stars This is the best Genesis song that did not make it on an LP in the Gabriel era. Musically, it fits very well in the Trespass / Nursery Cryme era and it could have easily been on either album where it would count among the better tracks. Highlight is the powerful instrumental section in the second half.
Report this review (#63007)
Posted Tuesday, January 3, 2006 | Review Permalink
5 stars Twilight Alehouse is suprisingly a great rack for a song, considering it's not on any of the Gabriel era albums.

This is a very dark and powerful track with excellent melodies and chords throughout.

Tony Banks hammond organ playing is superb and Peter Gabriel sounds great.

Phil Collins drumming is very good and as usual in the Gabriel era of GENESIS.

In the middle there is a flute solo but the ending has a really weirdorgan sound very haunting in a way.

Clocking in at nearly 8 minutes longs is a suprise to me how this managed to get onto a 7" vinyl disc.

I have however have this song on an MP3 format, a very underrated masterpiece, shame it's a rare song, however it can be found on the GENESIS box set "The Archives vol 1".

It should have been on Nursary Cryme IMO.

Report this review (#71869)
Posted Tuesday, March 14, 2006 | Review Permalink
4 stars Yes. Like the previous reviewers, I think that this is a very good song, one of the best songs that Genesis composed and recorded with Peter Gabriel. A very "dramatic" song, in some parts "Heavy", "Mysterious", "Dark", with music which very good describes the experiences of an alcoholic who doesn`t know how to stop his drinking.

The first time that I listened to this song it was a live version included in a bootleg, recorded in 1972, maybe during a B.B.C. session. It could have been very interesting for me to see Genesis playing this song live. That live version is better than the studio version in tension, more "heavy" than the studio version. The studio version was originally recorded in 1973, and it also was released as the B-side of the "I Know What I like" single in 1973. It seems that this is an old song, maybe composed in 1968 or even before that year. This song could have been a very good addition to their "Foxtrot" album, as it is more similar in style to the other songs of that album. The studio version was also released in their "Archives 1967-1975" Box Set in 1998.

Report this review (#74081)
Posted Tuesday, April 4, 2006 | Review Permalink
4 stars B-side of 'I Know What I Like'. Very strong track. In fact, this could have been on 'Foxtrot' but I think, due to it's length, they had to leave it out. It's good enough to fit between the other Foxtrot-tracks, though! It takes about seven minutes and contains loud, skilled playing and the good old Gabriel-vocals. Especially Phil Collins really shined powerful on the song. Banks' organ sounds are as strong as on 'The Musical Box'. To be honest, Genesis can do no wrong on 'Twilight Alehouse'. It can be found on the box-set "Archives 1969 - 1975". Excellent prog- track!
Report this review (#74660)
Posted Tuesday, April 11, 2006 | Review Permalink
4 stars This single, unbeknownst to many, actually contains a different version of twilight alehouse than archive 1. Archive 1 is a remix by Nick Davis that includes some guitar parts that were missing in the original. This version is a little bit different all the way through than the Archive 1 version, but it's still a great track. The flute solo in the middle is beautiful and is reminiscent of creatures and fairy tales and such. When the final guitar part begins and the flute comes in, it sends shivers up and down your spine. it's amazing. Although it has a rather rough ending, it's still a great song.
Report this review (#80554)
Posted Tuesday, June 6, 2006 | Review Permalink
erik neuteboom
4 stars This is a real rarity! In August 1973 (and not in February 1974 as mentioned in several Genesis books) it was officially released as the B-side of the single I know What I Like, two months later the UK magazine Zig Zag published their October 1973 issue with the song Twilight Alehouse as a free one-sided flexi disc version (here on Prog Archives). And in 1976 it was re-issued as a free single to the first 1000 members of the Genesis Information. I knew this song from several bootlegs and it's also on the box Genesis Archive 1967-1975 in a slightly different version. I have always wondered why this wonderful, typically early Genesis composition had not been put on a studio album.

The track Twilight Alehouse (7.48) contains all the elements that made Genesis sound so unique and captivating: emotional vocals by Peter Gabriel, dynamic shifting moods (from mellow with twanging to heavy bombastic eruptions), powerful organ runs, delicate flute, varied electric guitar, inventive drum work play and an surprising final part, showing that Genesis succeeded to blend rock, classic, folk and even a bit psychedelia in a very fascinating way!

Report this review (#83118)
Posted Saturday, July 8, 2006 | Review Permalink
4 stars In fact you are more likely to find a copy of this as the flip side of "I know what I like" rather than this version which is hard to find and expensive. As it is this is a corking little track and one which really is essential for Gabriel era fans of Genesis. This track is very long and features all of the trademark features of genesis at the time (around foxtrot) Staring quietly it builds to an early crescendo then takes a more pleasant tack with a great flute solo, after which it builds again to a final and very load end.....priceless.
Report this review (#92252)
Posted Wednesday, September 27, 2006 | Review Permalink
3 stars Twilight Alehouse is the best song Genesis ever released outside of a studio album, plain and simple. The real varying dynamics make this one a treat. The soft and serene segments are completed by energetic keyboard-heavy sections, with great playing all around. No instrument is in the foreground: it's truly a great balance between the keys, drums, vocals, guitar and bass. There's even a healthy portion of flute in there, too. The lyrics are generally about the happiness ale brings to a lonely person. Regardless of lyrical content, though, the song is extremely colourful and the jazzy touches are genuine.
Report this review (#129630)
Posted Saturday, July 21, 2007 | Review Permalink
3 stars I know this song from a bootleg CD called "The Shepherd - Live in London 1970-1972" I bought from Germany in 1991. I still have that CD, it includes several non-abum tracks and surprisingly good ones too. One of them is this song which appeared also as the B-side of 'I Know What I Like'. The song existed at the time of Foxtrot, and I agree that it would have fit into that masterwork if there had been room for yet another track. (All the merrier for us fans to discover these gems from obscure places. The song has appeared here and there - this particular item is a one-sided flexi disc published by a magazine, informs our guaranteed Genesis specialist Erik Neuteboom - but it nevertheless has a rarity status.)

'Twilight Alehouse' is a dark, theatric miniature musical drama in the similar style you know from Trespass and Nursery Cryme albums. Somehow I see it closer in spirit to Trespass, perhaps because on Nursery Cryme and Foxtrot Genesis put on even a bigger prog gear; that is, this song (7:48) is not as epic as e.g. 'Fountain of Salmacis' or 'Can-Utility and the Coastliners'. It starts in a slow and creepy manner and the faster chorus and instrumental sections have quite aggressive and edgy guitar work from Hackett. There's some flute too.

The song is a pleasure for Gabriel-era fans, but I'd say the realization of it is a bit half baked, and I'm sure had they decided to take it on an album, they would have worked it further.

Report this review (#481222)
Posted Wednesday, July 13, 2011 | Review Permalink
Tarcisio Moura
3 stars Another Gabriel-era Genesis rarety. It was never recorded on any of their official albums, although it did get official release as a b-side of the I Know What I like single (UK only, I guess). This original version is slightly different from the one released the box Genesis Archive 1967-1975 (on that boxset it was remixed and had some guitar parts added). It was an old song, and it was part of their live repertoire for years (a live on the studio version is available on youtube as part of their famous TV show in Brussels, Belgium, 1972). Although a much more elaborated song than the other obscure bside like Happy The Man, it is easy to tell why it remained a non lp track: the song does not have a memorable melody line nor the great build up that made others, like The Musical Box, so engaging. At almost eight minutes, it does have some fine parts, with all the right things that made Genesis famous (chiming 12 string guitars, haunting organ bits, nice flute, fairy tale lyrics and so on), but it simply comes up as something unfinished, just a bunch of ideas thrown in without much care for the whole. A good "b side" indeed!

Rating: as anything Genesis released in the early days, this is not crap. It is still interesting, specially for Genesis fanatics like me,. But it is still also not really essential in any way., 3 stars.

Report this review (#1526821)
Posted Monday, February 8, 2016 | Review Permalink

GENESIS Twilight Alehouse ratings only

chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of GENESIS Twilight Alehouse

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives