Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Forever Einstein


From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Forever Einstein Opportunity Crosses The Bridge album cover
3.29 | 9 ratings | 3 reviews | 22% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 1992

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Everybody Here Is Broke So Stop Complaining, OK? (2:22)
2. This Ain't Disneyland (1:59)
3. My Friends Made Fun Of My Pants (2:10)
4. Antimony (0:34)
5. Big Fun In The Basement (2:02)
6. Boron (0:51)
7. Appliances Du Sauvage (2:17)
8. Carbon (0:47)
9. Lift And Separate (2:34)
10. Einsteinium (0:39)
11. What's That On Your Shirt? (2:16)
12. Europium (1:10)
13. More Of The Same For Me, Please (2:41)
14. Hydrogen (0:51)
15. Team Fight Song (2:03)
16. Mercury (0:22)
17. This Is America, Why Should I Have To Mow My Own Lawn? (2:22)
18. Neon (0:40)
19. Hercules Pushes Giant Goats Over The Cliff And Watches As They Fall Into The Canyon Below (2:19)
20. Oxygen (0:51)
21. Shut That Thing Off And Come To Bed (1:51)
22. Phosphorus (0:30)
23. Nude Hula (1:49)
24. Radium (0:44)
25. Sheba Wore No Nylons (2:08)
26. Tin (0:39) 27.
27. She Wears Her Dead Mother's Hat (4:20)
28. On The Way To Chartres We Stopped And Walked Through Fields Of Sunflowers In The Early Evening (1:13)
29. Bye Bye, Barbie (3:53)

Line-up / Musicians

- C.W. Vrtacek / guitar, keyboards, compositions
- John Roulat / drums, percussion
- Marc Sichel / bass

- Victor Pachera - narration (29)

Releases information

Cuneiform, Rune 41

Thanks to avestin for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy FOREVER EINSTEIN Opportunity Crosses The Bridge Music

More places to buy FOREVER EINSTEIN music online

FOREVER EINSTEIN Opportunity Crosses The Bridge ratings distribution

(9 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(22%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(33%)
Good, but non-essential (33%)
Collectors/fans only (11%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

FOREVER EINSTEIN Opportunity Crosses The Bridge reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Sean Trane
3 stars 3.5 stars really!!!

Recorded with the same line-up and one year later than their debut album, Opportunity Crosses The Bridge, this album might just FE's wackiest of all. Bearing 29 tracks (!!) in all, the longer ones are all clocking well under the 3 minutes mark, bar two of the three closers at 4 minutes, this album is some sort of concept with short interludes bearing chemical elements on Mendeleev's tables as names. I'm guessing the artwork photo is Rome's Coliseum, taken from the inside between the outer and inner shell.

Claiming to be recorded live in the studio with no overdubs over just two days, it's clear that FE is about performance and tightness, pulling very few actual solos. Musically the "longer" tracks are somewhat very similar to the debut album (read that review), but the small interludes are almost more interesting than the main tracks, themselves. Indeed,Boron, Radium and Einsteinium being weird drones somewhere between organ and harmonium, Antimony, Carbon, Tin and Neon being effect-laden marimba pieces sometimes with other percussions, Hydrogen a percussive mix of tubular bells and bass drum beats, Mercury is an electric piano twiddle, Oxygen sounding like a harmonium recorded backwards with weird percussions and Phosphorus is drum and straight piano ditty. One of the oddity for FE on this album is the track with a narration, the only non-instrumental in their early discography. On The Way To Chartres even reminds me a bit of Velvet Underground's The Gift, as the narration starts first, than the group comes in, retires, appears again as the recited text continues, overflowing in the closing Bye Bye Barbie.

Although at first listen OCTB might seem fairly different, it is just as good as the first album, but doesn't differ that much from it either, after repeated listenings. Those very same listenings will become a bit more arduous as the repetition of their unpredictability ends up creating the opposite effect and there is weariness by the mark of this album, saved a bit by the spoken finale. Certainly worth an attentive listen, more than that is up to you.

Review by Evolver
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Crossover & JR/F/Canterbury Teams
4 stars Say what you want about Forever Einstein, but no one can dispute that they are the kings of the song title. Granted, when writing instrumentals, you can name the song whatever you like, but some of FE's titles are just amazing. Who can compete with Everybody Here Is Broke So Stop Complaining, OK?, My Friends Made Fun Of My Pants, This Is America, Why Should I Have To Mow My Own Lawn? and the ever popular Hercules Pushes Giant Goats Over The Cliff And Watches As They Fall Into The Canyon Below?

The music here is in exactly the same vein as their debut CD, Artificial Horizons. Most of the songs are short compositions, based around the amplified and sometimes effects laden acoustic guitar of C.W. Vrtacek (Charles O'Meara). The songs, like on the first album, sound like a stripped down version of Discipline-era King Crimson, but with a more RIO thought process behind the writing.

Like the first album, this is a very nice listening album.

Latest members reviews

2 stars There are 29 songs on this album, as you have probably noticed. Many of them are around the 2 minute mark. Each of these songs sounds like the others. It's the same silly guitar picking, which is an attempt to be clever (it isn't). There are many songs that are under a minute, which are named after ... (read more)

Report this review (#2238290) | Posted by SyrinxTemple | Monday, July 15, 2019 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of FOREVER EINSTEIN "Opportunity Crosses The Bridge"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.