Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Communio Musica


From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Communio Musica Special Alloy album cover
3.00 | 3 ratings | 1 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review
from partners
Studio Album, released in 2000

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Break Water (4:28)
2. SFX (3:01)
3. Art Birds (3:47)
4. Play Black (3:39)
5. SFX-Reprise (2:21)
6. Angels In the Streets at Night (4:07)
7. Air Certificate (1: 29)
8. Razor Blade Soup (2:42)
9. Jet Lag (2:31)
10. Autumn Tune (1:59)
11. Cool Breeze (1:31)
12. Crimsonites & Other Species (5:24)
13. Under Different Skies (8:55)

Total Time 47:26

Line-up / Musicians

- Hugh Steinmetz / trumpet & flute, reversed piano, varied percussion
- Robin Taylor / electric guitar & bass, synthesizer, drum programming, varied percussion & clay drums, looping & taping
- Rasmus Grosell / drums & percussion
- Anna-Lise Malmros / percussion
- Ture Kindt-Larsen / double-bass
- Peter Friis Nielsen / electric bass
- Kim Menzer / saxophone, trombone, flute, & harmonica
- Peter Ole Jorgensen / drums (on four tracks)
- Steffen Poulsen / saxophones, vocalize (on three tracks)
- Christian Kyhl / saxophones & flute
- Marco Martinovic / piano
- Christer Irgens Meller / piano (on two tracks)
- Michael Nielsen / saxophone & flute
- Karsten Vogel / saxophones
- Giorgio Musoni / drums (on one track)

Releases information

DOCD 5441

Thanks to eugene for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy COMMUNIO MUSICA Special Alloy Music

More places to buy COMMUNIO MUSICA music online Buy COMMUNIO MUSICA & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

COMMUNIO MUSICA Special Alloy ratings distribution

(3 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(0%)
Good, but non-essential (100%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

COMMUNIO MUSICA Special Alloy reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by kev rowland
3 stars This 'group' was put together by Hugh Steinmetz (trumpet etc.) in 1996 initially for live performances as part of the Copenhagen Cultural Capital of Europe. A CD was released after this, and it was suggested by Robin Taylor (drum programming, keys, bass etc) that they record another CD together. Although some of those involved have worked with Robin on other projects, this was Hugh's project, and recordings took place in the winter of 1997 although they were not released until three years later. Not every musician plays on every track, and they don't all play on any single track, but there are a lot of guys involved and the result is an avant- garde big band, where improvisation and bouncing ideas is very much the order of the day which is quite an accomplishment given how many were involved was heavily involved. The musicians involved (as well as Hugh and Robin) were as follows:- Karsten Vogel (saxophones), Steffen Poulsen (saxophone etc.), Michael Nielsen (saxophones), Christian Kyhl (saxophones), Kim Menzer (trombone, saxophone etc.), Christer Irgens-Møller (piano), Marko Martinovic (piano), Peter Friis Nielsen (bass), Ture Kindt Larsen (double bass), Peter Ole Jørgensen (drums), Rasmus Grosell (drums, percussion), Giorgio Musoni (percussion) and Anna-Lise Malmros (percussion).

Possibly due to the large number of musicians involved, this album doesn't contain the spontaneity that I have come to expect from Robin's work, either solo or as part of groups, and I found it quite a difficult album to get into it just because there are so many different styles at play. There are times when the piano is very much the lead, with some strident bass, whereas at other it is the turn of the brass. Sometimes it swings with a latin beat, whereas at others it is RIO and almost staccato in approach. Many of the songs are quite short, and "Air Certificate" is one that I wish was a lot longer as the sabar drums gives the number a life and vitality.

Overall this is an interesting album, although certainly not as essential as some of the other things that Robin has been involved with.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of COMMUNIO MUSICA "Special Alloy"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives