Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Black Sabbath

Prog Related

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Black Sabbath Blackest Sabbath album cover
1.48 | 4 ratings | 1 reviews | 50% 5 stars

Write a review
from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 1989

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Black Sabbath (06:16)
2. Paranoid (02:50)
3. Iron Man (06:00)
4. Snowblind (05:31)
5. Sabbath Bloody Sabbath (05:42)
6. Hole In The Sky (04:00)
7. Rock & Roll Doctor (03:25)
8. Never Say Die (03:47)
9. Lady Evil (04:22)
10. Turn Up The Night (03:42)
11. The Sign Of The Southern Cross/Heaven & Hell (continued/live) (07:15)
12. Children Of The Sea (live) (06:08)
13. Digital Bitch (03:39)
14. Seventh Star (05:20)
15. Born To Lose (03:43)

Total Time 1:11:40

Line-up / Musicians

- Tony Iommi / lead guitar, keyboards
- Geezer Butler / bass
- Dave Spitz / bass
- Bob Daisley / bass
- Ozzy Osbourne / vocals
- Ronnie James Dio / vocals
- Ian Gillan / vocals
- Glenn Hughes / vocals
- Tony Martin / vocals
- Bill Ward / drums, vocals
- Vinny Appice / drums
- Eric Singer / drums
- Rick Wakeman / keyboards
- Gerald Woodruffe / keyboards
- Don Airey / keyboards
- Geoff Nicholls / keyboards
- John Elstar / harmonica
- Will Malone / brass arrangements
- Bev Bevan / percussion

Releases information

Vertigo 838818-2

Thanks to clarke2001 for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy BLACK SABBATH Blackest Sabbath Music

Blackest SabbathBlackest Sabbath
$5.82 (used)

Right Now on Ebay (logo)

More places to buy BLACK SABBATH music online Buy BLACK SABBATH & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

BLACK SABBATH Blackest Sabbath ratings distribution

(4 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of rock music(50%)
Excellent addition to any rock music collection(25%)
Good, but non-essential (0%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (25%)

BLACK SABBATH Blackest Sabbath reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by clarke2001
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
1 stars Blackest moment of Sabbath's marketing.

Very posh sleeve design with a goldenprint; probably suggesting a gravestone. Two disk set. This compilation represents a guide through a BLACK SABBATH career. You already guessed it - CD 1 contains 70's material, CD 2 80's.

The seventies section really should have been compiled more carefully; this is just hollow. The eighties section - well, is good just as the second Sabbath's decade - from what I've heard so far: it is junk. Only the "Sign Of The Southern Cross/Heaven And Hell" stands out. The "golden era" sections contains 8 songs, and when they are good, they're good indeed. But why, oh, why on Earth three absolutely disposable songs?? To represent each album? Unnecessary. And certainly not "the blackest" possible sabbath. First five tracks are all band's staples, however I'm missing a lot "Wheels Of Confusion" and...actually anything from the early years.

I'm much less familiar with band's discography from the 80's than from the 70's. Therefore I can't tell if the CD 2 "squeezed" the best out the decade or not. As an isolated unit, it is miserable. I'm wondering what will a newbie think after listening to this one - if the CD 1 represent the first decade badly, then maybe 80's aren't so bad and they're worth checking out...or vice versa. I really doubt compilation editors were such psychologists. This one, sublimely, wasn't aimed at Sabbath-newbie market; more on older generation of hard was a matter of time when BLACK SABBATH will use a reference to "Deepest Purple". But there is no point of comparing. This one is only for the money, and it could be easily avoided.

I'm rating it with lowest possible rating. It might not be fair towards the first five tracks which are okay. But damn, is it such a rocket science to cherry-pick the songs for a compilation?. Five (okay, six) good songs out of 15; no excuses, that's bad.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of BLACK SABBATH "Blackest Sabbath"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives