Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Various Artists (Label Samplers)

Various Genres

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Various Artists (Label Samplers) The Cyclops Sampler album cover
3.00 | 1 ratings | 1 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review
from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 1994

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Future - Abbfinoosty (7:08)
2. A Kindness - Credo (7:24)
3. Swords & Knives - Epilogue (4:55)
4. The Fool - Grace (6:21)
5. 12:02 - Grey Lady Down (5:03)
6. The Ember - Haze (4:32)
7. Into the Blue (alt.version) - Steve Hillman (7:33)
8. Creation - Geoff Mann (3:47)
9. Circus (remastered) - Mr. So & So (9:33)
10. Slaves (extended) - Primitive Instinct (7:42)
11. Set me free - Walking on Ice (6:35)
12. Lean on me - Grace (6:00)

Total Time 76:55

Line-up / Musicians

Releases information

An introduction to the music of the Cyclops label (first edition).

Thanks to progrules for the addition
Edit this entry


More places to buy VARIOUS ARTISTS (LABEL SAMPLERS) music online Buy VARIOUS ARTISTS (LABEL SAMPLERS) & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

VARIOUS ARTISTS (LABEL SAMPLERS) The Cyclops Sampler ratings distribution

(1 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(0%)
Good, but non-essential (100%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

VARIOUS ARTISTS (LABEL SAMPLERS) The Cyclops Sampler reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by progrules
3 stars This is the first of a pretty impressive line of Cyclops samplers (6) and in contrary to SI this label managed to stay alive for a much longer period. I will rate the songs one by one to give an idea.

1. Future - Abbfinoosty: 3 stars. Bit of a slow song, not too interesting.

2. A Kindness - Credo: 3,75 stars. Vocally poor but terrific guitar solo at the end.

3. Swords & Knives - Epilogue: 3,25 stars. Accessible neo prog.

4. The Fool - Grace: 3,75. Funny and original lyrics. Nice composition as well.

5. 12:02 - Grey Lady Down: 3,5 stars. One of the accessible songs of GLD's debut.

6. The Ember - Haze: 3 stars.

7. Into the Blue (alt.version) - Steve Hillman: 3,75 stars. Nice melodic instrumental (keyboards).

8. Creation - Geoff Mann: 3 stars.not Geoff's best in my opnion. Sudden break off when it got interesting.

9. Circus (remastered) - Mr. So & So: 3,5 stars. Longest track. Nice song but not an impressive epic.

10. Slaves (extended) - Primitive Instinct: 4,25 stars. Best track of the sampler. Great composition with (almost) mindblowing conclusion.

11. Set me free - Walking on Ice: 3 stars.

12. Lean on me - Grace: 2,75 stars.

So that's 3.4 (rounded down to 3) on average. Seems right as conclusion since the other Cyclops I own (no.5) is absolutely better and I rated that 3.6 (4).

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of VARIOUS ARTISTS (LABEL SAMPLERS) "The Cyclops Sampler"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives