Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Canterbury Scene

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Caravan The Anthology/The Ultimate Anthology album cover
2.91 | 8 ratings | 2 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
DVD/Video, released in 2007

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Nine feet underground (18:57)
2. For Richard (13:02)
3. Caravan medley (15:24)
- The Dabsong Conshirtoe
- All Aboard
- Where But For Caravan Would I Be
- O Caroline
- The Dabsong
- The Love In Your Eye
- Backwards
- A Hunting We Shall Go
4. Nightmare (9:12)
5. All the way (3:49)
6. A very smelly little oik (6:31)
7. If I could do it all over again.. (listed but omitted)
8. Liar (7:03)

Bonus tracks
9. Magic man (3:54)
10. Place of my own (3:05)
11. Golf girl (4:11)

Approximate running time 82 minutes

Line-up / Musicians

- Pye Hastings / guitars and vocals
- Richard Coughlan / drums
- Richard Sinclair / bass and vocals
- Jimmy Hastings / flute and saxophone
- David Sinclair / keyboards
- Jan Schelhaas / keyboards
- Doug Boyle / lead guitars
- Geoffery Richardson / viola, flute, backing vocals, spoons
- Jim Leverton / bass, vocals
- Doug Boyle / lead guitar
- Simon Bentall / percussion

Releases information

Classic Rock Legends CRL1568

Thanks to easy livin for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy CARAVAN The Anthology/The Ultimate Anthology Music

More places to buy CARAVAN music online

CARAVAN The Anthology/The Ultimate Anthology ratings distribution

(8 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(12%)
Good, but non-essential (50%)
Collectors/fans only (12%)
Poor. Only for completionists (25%)

CARAVAN The Anthology/The Ultimate Anthology reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Easy Livin
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin
3 stars If I could do it all over again. . . I'd make sure the track list was correct

This is actually a DVD compilation which brings together songs from three concerts already available on DVD.

We begin with two tracks from a 1990 performance in Nottingham UK, previously released on the "Live in Nottingham" DVD. The versions of "Nine feet underground" and "For Richard" are pretty much the full renditions by the classic Caravan line up. It does seem a bit odd being presented with the traditional Caravan closer ("For Richard") so early in the set here, but both songs sound as superb as they ever did. One minor quibble though is that the director appears to have some difficulty distinguishing between sax and keyboards, frequently giving us shots of the wrong band member during solos.

From Nottingham, we are transported to Trenton, New Jersey, USA for a 2002 gig previously released as "A Night's tale, live in the USA". From this gig, we also have two lengthy tracks, including a superb "Caravan medley". The medley draws in a fine cross section of the band's works, merging them together seamlessly into a wonderful suite. The footage mixes film of the rehearsals with parts from the actual performance.

Finally, we return across the pond to London UK for a gig in 2003. Three tracks from this concert are included (not four as listed on the sleeve, "If I could do it all over again.." does not in fact appear), including the superb "All the way" from "Blind dog at St Dunstans". Unfortunately, this great song is cut back from its original 9 minutes to less than half of that.

The bonus tracks are archive film from Beat Club performances for German television in the early 1970's, including a full colour version of "Golf girl". It is perhaps these three tracks (the others are "Magic man" and "Place of my own") which make this collection attractive to fans of Caravan.

The picture quality is a bit variable, with the Nottingham footage being a bit fuzzy while the 21st Century recordings are much better. The 5.1 surround sound is generally very good.

This collection tends to be sold at a very cheap price these days, so those with a passing interest in seeing Caravan in concert would be well advised to pick this up. Committed fans should go for the original DVDs.

Review by Matti
3 stars A low-budget compilation from previously released CARAVAN live DVD's. As Easy Livin' points out, there is even a fault in the track listing, and also otherwise there is a cheapie feel to the DVD, but I'm quite happy with it nevertheless. The sound is OK, the picture is here and there far from perfect, but overall the contents are good and gives a well-balanced selection from the whole discography, with the emphasis on the classic 70's era. Included are lengthy classics 'Nine Feet Underground' and 'For Richard'.

No fancy live visualistics, just plain professional playing that is enjoyable to watch and listen to. For the most part tracks are instrumental, and so it's very nice bonus to have three early videos of 'Magic Man', 'Place of My Own' and 'Golf Girl'. Recommendable for any CARAVAN friend.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of CARAVAN "The Anthology/The Ultimate Anthology"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.