Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Procol Harum

Crossover Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Procol Harum Secrets Of The Hive - The Best Of Procul Harum album cover
4.04 | 7 ratings | 1 reviews | 14% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2007

Songs / Tracks Listing

CD One
1. Whiter Shade Of Pale
2. Christmas Camel
3. Quite Rightly So
4. Long Gone Geek
5. All This And More
6. Whisky Train
7. Broken Barricades
8. Simple Sister
9. Salty Dog
10. Fires (Which Burn Brightly)
11. Bringing Home The Bacon
12. Beyond The Pale
13. Nothing But The Truth
14. Something Magic
15. Holding On
16. Into The Flood
17. Old English Dream
18. Repent Walpurgis

CD Two
1. Homburg
2. She Wandered Through The Garden Fence
3. Magdalene (My Regal Zonophone)
4. Shine On Brightly
5. Devil Came From Kansas
6. Whaling Stories
7. Power Failure
8. Conquistador
9. Grand Hotel
10. Souvenir Of London
11. Idol
12. As Strong As Samson
13. Pandora's Box
14. You Can't Turn Back The Page
15. Dream In Ev'ry Home
16. This World Is Rich (For Stephen Maboe)
17. Weisselklenzenacht

Line-up / Musicians

Releases information

Record Label: Union Square
Catalogue No: SALVODCD206
Country of Origin: UK

Thanks to mogorva for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy PROCOL HARUM Secrets Of The Hive - The Best Of Procul Harum Music

More places to buy PROCOL HARUM music online

PROCOL HARUM Secrets Of The Hive - The Best Of Procul Harum ratings distribution

(7 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(14%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(86%)
Good, but non-essential (0%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

PROCOL HARUM Secrets Of The Hive - The Best Of Procul Harum reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by AtomicCrimsonRush
4 stars Best compilation of true legends of early prog.

I had to get hold of at least one Procol Harum and this seemed as good as any. What a delightful feast of early Crossover Prog it is. So contrary to popular belief the great PH are not a one hit wonder with 'Whiter Shade Of Pale' but have a plethora of tasty delicacies that transcend all expectations. All their classics are here from their most celebrated essential albums. Highlights from CD1 include 'Quite Rightly So', 'Broken Barricades', 'Salty Dog' and 'Beyond The Pale'. The psych prog of 'Into The Flood' and 'Repent Walpurgis' is astounding music.

The second CD begins with the instrumental gem 'Homburg' and the weird and delightful 'She Wandered Through The Garden Fence'. 'Shine On Brightly' is from that album and is a definitive track as is 'Conquistador'. My favourite of the CD is 'Grand Hotel' that is structured like no other PH, complete with shimmering Hammond and effective theatrical vocals. It is orchestrated with real orchestra playing real instruments and captures a symphonic wall of sound paving the way for The Moody Blues and Emerson Lake & Palmer. 'Pandora's Box' is a delight also as is 'Weisselklenzenacht'. Headphone music bliss.

Every track features the keyboards and very sporadic drumming. There is some excellent material here lifted from a wide range of PH's discography. Not everything jumps out and bites me but there is enough here to hold interest and it is a compelling and fascinating diverse compilation. The booklet that comes with it is full of stories and a condensed history of this eclectic group. The packaging is a real feature that opens out with a nice photo of the band and many colour photos show the historical lineups and styles of band members.

There are a lot of compilations but this seems to be the most complete of the band. There are even some unreleased tracks such as live renditions of tracks, making this a must have for completists and as a starting point for anyone interested in the bands prolific imprint on prog, look no further.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of PROCOL HARUM "Secrets Of The Hive - The Best Of Procul Harum"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.