Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Pat Metheny

Jazz Rock/Fusion

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Pat Metheny Anna Maria Jopek & Pat Metheny: Upojenie album cover
4.02 | 25 ratings | 1 reviews | 28% 5 stars

Excellent addition to any
prog rock music collection

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 2002

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Cichy Zapada Zmrok (Here Comes The Silent Dusk) (3:26)
2. Mania Mienia (The Meaning Of The Means) (3:40)
3. Biel (Whiteness) (3:22)
4. Przyplyw, Odplyw, Oddech Czasu (High Tide, Low Tide, The Breath Of Time...) (4:45)
5. Are You Going With Me? (8:35)
6. Czarne Slowa (Black Words) (5:13)
7. Lulajze Jezuniu( Traditional Polish Christmas Carol) (5:14) *
8. Upojenie (Ecstasy) (4:44)
9. Zupelnie Inna Ja (The Different Me) (3:56)
10. Piosenka Dla Stasia (A Song For Stas) (3:48)
11. Letter From Home (2:46)
12. Me Jedyne Niebo (My Only Heaven) (3:16)
13. By On Byl Tu (Let It Stay) (6:53)
14. Polskie Drogi (Polish Paths) (2:25)
15. Tam, Gdzie Nie Siega Wzrok (Further Than The Eye Can See) (3:49)
16. Na Calej Polaci Snieg (The Snow Falls Over The Place) (Live) (1:47) *
17. Szepty I Lzy (Whisper And Tears) (Live) (4:47) *

Total time 72:26

* Bonus tracks on 2008 Nonesuch

Line-up / Musicians

- Anna Maria Jopek / vocals, Fender Rhodes electric piano, co-producer
- Pat Metheny / guitars (acoustic, classical, baritone, electric, synth), 42-string Pikasso guitar, synthesizers (tracks 1-5 & 7-14), co-producer

- Marek Napiórkowski / classical guitar (11,17)
- Leszek Mozdzer / piano (2,3,5,6,9-11)
- Pawel Bzim Zarecki / synthesizers, organ, loops & programming, percussion (2,3,5,7,9,11-13)
- Piotr Nazaruk / flute, recorder, percussion, hammered dulcimer, banjo & backing vocals (2,5,7)
- Henryk Miskiewicz / soprano saxophone (8,11)
- Darek Oleszkiewicz / acoustic bass (2,9-14)
- Marcin Pospieszalski / electric bass (3,5,7), loops & programming
- Robert Kubiszyn / double bass (17)
- Cezary Konrad / drums (2,3,5,7,9-13)
- Mino Cinelu / udu drum, triangle, crotales, shakers, congas & wavedrum (11,13)
- Wojciech Kowalewski / shaker, temple blocks, timpani, crotales, bongos, tambourine, bells & vibraslap (2,3,5,7,13)
- Bernard Maseli / vibraphone (9)
- Barney / alien voices (7)
- String ensemble / violins, violas, cellos & double bass (9,13)
- Krzysztof Bzówka / violin, concertmaster
- Mateusz Pospieszalski / synthesizer programming & string conductor (9,13)
- Marek Pospieszalski / turntables (un-credited)

Releases information

Arranged by Pat Metheny, Anna Maria Jopek, Mateusz Pospieszalski, Marcin Kydrynski, Pawel Bzim Zarecki, Leszek Mozdzer, Henryk Miskiewicz, Marcin Pospieszalski

Artwork: Piotr Dumala

CD Warner Music Poland - 50466-2281-2 (2002, Poland)
CD Nonesuch - 511496-2 (2008, US) With 3 bonus tracks, different running order and new cover art

Thanks to NotAProghead for the addition
and to Quinino for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy PAT METHENY Anna Maria Jopek & Pat Metheny: Upojenie Music

More places to buy PAT METHENY music online

PAT METHENY Anna Maria Jopek & Pat Metheny: Upojenie ratings distribution

(25 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(28%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(56%)
Good, but non-essential (8%)
Collectors/fans only (8%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

PAT METHENY Anna Maria Jopek & Pat Metheny: Upojenie reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by snobb
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
4 stars This album has interesting history. First released under the name ''Anna Maria Jopek & Friends with Pat Metheny. Upojenie'' in 2002 at Warner Poland for local market, it was re- released 6 years later at Nonesuch Records for international market ( with 3 bonus tracks and different songs order).

Pat Metheny is well known in Poland and during one Jazz Festival concert there he met local pop-jazz diva Anna Maria Jopek. During that meeting they decided to record common CD what happened soon. As main material for the album Anna's popular songs were taken. Local jazz musicinas participated in recording studio as well. Few Metheny classic songs were used also. The result was extremely perfect!

First of all, I think not too many music lovers outside Poland know what the fantastic tradition of pop-jazz are in Poland! I am listening to that music from my teens ( living on very neigbourhood) , in fact this music is a part of my musical education. During late 70-th and all 80-th, when world all around was full of disco and simple synthy pop, big part of Polish music market saved this unique atmosphere of quality jazzy pop. They have many years of tradition, great school and plenty of interesting singers and musicians in that field.

So, what you have on that album is just strong example of characteristic Polish pop jazz with some Metheny touches. The music is soft and dreamy, melodic and nostalgic, with very characteristic west-slavian folk elements. Anna sings with warm voice with some lazyness and sex-appeal in it.Music is well balanced and not very complex pop-jazz with world elements, with synth/keyb domination. Most important thing is atmosphere - it reminds "Aerial" of Kate Bush, but much jazzy version. Music catch you softly, fill the space around you and take you by it's warm touches till the very end.

To be honest, the album has less in common with progresive rock. It's pop-jazz of highest standard, and the original album name was much more correct: it's Anna Maria Jopek album,with some touches of Metheny, not v.v.

I love this album, and can recommend it to any jazz lover - you will find a new name in traditional vocal jazz for you! But proggers should be careful - if names like Cassandra Wilson, Diane Schuur, Diana Krall tell you nothing, or if soft dreamy jazz isn't your cup of tea, better avoid this album.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of PAT METHENY "Anna Maria Jopek & Pat Metheny: Upojenie"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.