Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Jazz Rock/Fusion

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Chicago Chicago XXX album cover
2.29 | 23 ratings | 1 reviews | 4% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 2006

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Feel (Hot Single Mix) (4:01)
2. King Of Might Have Been (3:52)
3. Caroline (3:39)
4. Why Can't We (4:07)
5. Love Will Come Back (3:48)
6. Long Lost Friend (4:33)
7. 90 Degrees And Freezing (3:52)
8. Where Were You (4:17)
9. Already Gone (6:51)
10. Come To Me, Do (4:36)
11. Lovin' Chains (3:56)
12. Better (4:41)
13. Feel (with Horns) (4:30)

Total time 56:43

Line-up / Musicians

- Keith Howland / guitar
- Robert Lamm / piano, Wurlitzer, Hammond, vocals (1,7,10,13), horn arrangements (10)
- Bill Champlin / piano, Fender Rhodes, Hammond, vocals (3,4,8,9,11,12)
- James Pankow / trombone, horn arrangements
- Lee Loughnane / trumpet, flugelhorn, piccolo
- Walter Parazaider / sax, flute
- Jason Scheff / bass, vocals (2,3,5-9,11)
- Tris Imboden / drums (1,5,7-13)

- Jay DeMarcus / guitar, keyboards, piano (2), loops, producer
- Tom Bukovac/ acoustic & electric guitars
- Dann Huff / guitar (3-5,7,,119)
- Yankton Mingua / guitar (6)
- Jakk Kincaid / guitar (6)
- Dean DeLeo / guitar (12)
- James Matchack/ keyboards, loops, sequencing
- Lee Thornburg/ trumpet
- Steve Brewster / drums (3,4)
- John Brockman / drums (2,6)
- Shelly Fairchild / vocals (4)
- Rascal Flatts (Gary LeVox, Jay DeMarcus, Joe Don Rooney) / vocals (5)
- Joseph Williams / backing vocals (2)
- Bobby Kimball / backing vocals (3)

Releases information

Artwork: Hugh Brown

CD Rhino Records ‎- R2 73362 (2006, US)

Thanks to snobb for the addition
and to Quinino for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy CHICAGO Chicago XXX Music

More places to buy CHICAGO music online

CHICAGO Chicago XXX ratings distribution

(23 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(4%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(13%)
Good, but non-essential (26%)
Collectors/fans only (43%)
Poor. Only for completionists (13%)

CHICAGO Chicago XXX reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Easy Livin
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin
2 stars Might have been

Released in 2006, "Chicago 30 (XXX)" was the band's first album of new material since "Twenty 1" in 1991. This though needs to be qualified. They did record a further album in 1994, "Stone of Sisyphus", but that was rejected at the time by the record company, and only saw the light of day (officially) in 2008. They also recorded an album of Christmas songs in 1998, that album containing one new track written by a band member. The expanded 2003 re-release of that album entitled "What's it gonna be santa" contained one additional new composition too. finally, the "Heart of Chicago" compilations had the odd new recording slipped in too. As can be seen though, there was a considerable gap between their last studio release and this, especially when compared to the prolific output of their early days. This album also represents their most recent work as of 2011. Incidentally, the four numbers missing between "The Christmas album (25)" and this album were used by 3 more compilations and a live album.

"Chicago XXX" was produced by Jay DeMarcus, who also wrote or co-wrote several of the songs. Reflecting the new recording techniques of the day, the album was recorded in various locations, with session musicians being used as required to enhance the product. The line up of the band remained intact though, incredibly still including four founding members.

Overall, the album represents a return to the AOR commercialism which prevailed on the band's most recent albums. While the horn section certain gets a fair bit of exposure, there is little if any of the jazz rock of the early days, or indeed of the big band sound which the band revived on their "Night and day" album. With Jason Scheff and to a lesser extent Bill Champlin being the main songwriters for the album, there is an emphasis on accessible pop rock, ballads and AOR. Songs such as "Caroline" and "King of might have been" are clearly recorded with an eye on the singles market, as is the Cetera style ballad "Why can't we", a duet featuring female vocalist Shelly Fairchild:.

The closest we get to a Chicago track from the old days is "90 Degrees And Freezing", a good horn driven rocker which at least has some of the fire the band were admired for. "Already gone" is not a cover of the Eagles song, but a rather average and nondescript affair. Robert Lamm's "Come to me do" is one of the better tracks, hardly original but of the quality we expect from him.

Not previously mentioned is the opening track, a minor hit single which was recorded devoid of horns. As if in a half hearted effort to atone for this, the album closes with a "with horns" version of the same song.

With the long gap between this and previous releases, plus the lack of a big selling single taken from the album, "XXX" was all but ignored by fans of the band old and new. It is a shame to have to report that after enduring such a long wait, we find an album which is adequate but no more than that. At time of writing, it looks like we can expect another new album from the band in 2011. Fingers crossed for something more ambitious!

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of CHICAGO "Chicago XXX"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.