Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Psychedelic/Space Rock

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Mushroom Naked, Stoned & Stabbed album cover
3.00 | 1 ratings | 1 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 2010

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Infatuation (1:54)
2. Celebration At Big Sur [The Sound Of The Gulls Outside Of Room 124] (4:01)
3. Jerry Rubin: He Ain't Heavy, He's My Brother (4:31)
4. All The Guitar Players Around Sean Smith Say He's Got It Coming, But He Gets It While He Can (8:12)
5. Take Off Your Face And Recover From That Trip You've Been On (4:58)
6. The Freak Folk Drop By Dressed Up For Each Other (0:59)
7. Tariq Ali (7:45)
8. Though You're Where You Want To Be, You're Not Where You Belong (4:55)
9. Indulgence (4:21)
10. Under The Spell (4:18)
11. Walking Barefoot In Babylon (3:45)
12. I'll Give You Everything I've Got For A Little Piece Of Mind (1:17)
13. Singing A Song In The Morning (3:57)

Total Time: 54:53

Line-up / Musicians

- Ned Doherty / bass
- Erik Pearson / flute (1,6), violin & effects (2,3,8), acoustic guitar (4,13), wah guitar (5), electric sitar (7), electric guitar (12), vocals (13)
- Matt Cunitz / Wurlitzer piano (3,4,10,11), Korg CX-3 organ (4,5,9,11), minimoog (3,4,9), Vako Orchestron (2,3,4,8,10), pump organ (13), celesta (12)
- Pat Thomas / congas (3,5,7), percussives (4), bongos (1,11), cymbals (4), shakers (11), drums (11,13)
- Dave Brandt / congas & bongos (3), vibes (4), kalimba (9), djembe, gongs (11), tambourine (13)
- Josh Pollock / acoustic guitar (2,8), ukelele (13), vocals & megaphone (13), slide whistle (9,11), electronics (9,11)
- Alec Palao / bass (2,8), dulcimer
- Emery Dora / Farfisa organ (3,5,10)
- Tim Plowman / guitar (2,7)
- Sonya Hunter / vocals (13)
- Dan Olmstead / guitar (5)
- Woslon Whipple / acoustic guitar (1,6)

Releases information

CD 4Zero Records FZ007 (2010 UK)

Thanks to rivertree for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy MUSHROOM Naked, Stoned & Stabbed Music

More places to buy MUSHROOM music online

MUSHROOM Naked, Stoned & Stabbed ratings distribution

(1 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(0%)
Good, but non-essential (100%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

MUSHROOM Naked, Stoned & Stabbed reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Rivertree
3 stars When comparing this new MUSHROOM album with the other band stuff I've already listened to, I would say it's provided with an extraordinary ethno and folk touch. The use of a standard drum kit is rare to find for example. And the jazzy aspect takes a backseat here nearly completely. What always stays is a special trippy and relaxed behaviour, an important, probably even the most important trademark. They are able to prepare such a friendly peaceful atmosphere which has no equal.

13 songs got a place on the album, recorded over a weekend at The Wally Sound in Oakland. As usual the sessions were both planned and spontaneous. Producer Pat Thomas often changed the instrumentalists on the fly trying to give each song a unique approach. Although you will always feel the jamming character the tracks are short and compact too, so much the more provided with a rich and varied instrumentation. The short Infatuation is the kick-off, an ordinary folk song featuring acoustic guitar and flute. The following Celebration At Big Sur gradually lets you immerge into the mysterious MUSHROOM realm then.

Which concretely means the psych component grows more and more with orchestron and echoed violin swirling around each other. And now you are really confronted with their accumulated competence for the first time when listening to Jerry Rubin: He Ain't Heavy, He's My Brother - a wonderful atmospheric piece of work. Ned Doherty provides a repetitive bass line accompanied by bongos. The violin is irresistible, peculiarly alternating between a country and hallucinogenic flavour. And Matt Cunitz on top of it adds arcane organ and moog impressions. Wow - I like this one!

Now having reached a high level you can take a deep breath when following the spacey flow of All The Guitar Players Around Sean Smith ... - skillfully presented as well, including a slight Eastern balalaika touch. Take Off Your Face And Recover From That Trip You've Been On stylistically represents a turning away a bit when exploring the next songs. It's the jazzy groovy attitude this time - I assume an excerpt from a longer jam session expressing happiness and joy of playing. Tariq Ali stands for intensive raga impressions comprising massive sitar input and congas.

The other tracks are basically dominated by dreamy psych explorations ... the closing early Kevin Ayers song Singing A Song In The Morning is something special though losing every seriousness with a strong pop fundament. Released by UK label 4Zero Records 'Naked, Stoned & Stabbed' is a special trippy experience, something for laid back situations, predominantly interesting for freaks who are feeling comfortable when exploring progressive acid psych/folk connected with ethno elements - 3.5 stars.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of MUSHROOM "Naked, Stoned & Stabbed"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.