Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


McDonald & Giles

Crossover Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

McDonald & Giles Driver's Eyes album cover
2.56 | 13 ratings | 1 reviews | 15% 5 stars

Write a review
from partners
Studio Album, released in 1999

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Overture (2:35)
2. In Your Hands (4:19)
3. You Are a Part of Me (5:04)
4. Sax Fifth Avenue (4:21)
5. Forever and Ever (5:08)
6. Saturday Night in Tokyo (2:52)
7. Hawaii (5:14)
8. Straight Back to You (4:46)
9. If I Was (4:28)
10. Demimonde (3:26)
11. Let There Be Light (3:22)

Total Time 45:44

Line-up / Musicians

- Ian McDonald / vocals, guitars, synthesizers, piano, electric piano, Hammond organ, flutes, saxes, clarinet, percussion, bass, string arrangements
- Kenny Aaronson / bass
- Steve Holley / drums, percussion
- Paul Ossola / bass
- Dan Coleman / string arrangements and conducting
- G.E. Smith / lead guitar
- Michael Giles / drums, percussion, vocals
- Steve Hackett / harmonica, lead guitar
- John Waite / vocals
- John Wetton / vocals
- Lou Gramm / vocals
- Gary Brooker / vocals
- Hugh McCracken / lead guitar
- Peter Frampton / lead guitar
- Stephen Gosling / piano
- Mitch Weissman / vocal
- Ian Lloyd / vocal
- Keith Underwood / flute
- Immanuel Davis / piccolo
- Park Stickney / harp
- Maxwell McDonald / acoustic guitar

Thanks to SouthSideoftheSky for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy MCDONALD & GILES Driver's Eyes Music

No release results - showing artist results instead
Mcdonald & Giles (Clear Vinyl/Limited)Mcdonald & Giles (Clear Vinyl/Limited)
KLIMT 2016
$138.49 (used)

More places to buy MCDONALD & GILES music online Buy MCDONALD & GILES & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

MCDONALD & GILES Driver's Eyes ratings distribution

(13 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(15%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(38%)
Good, but non-essential (15%)
Collectors/fans only (31%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

MCDONALD & GILES Driver's Eyes reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by SouthSideoftheSky
2 stars Welcome to McDonald's!

The man who wrote or co-wrote all the music for In The Court Of The Crimson King, returns here with a selection of jazzy Soft Rock tunes exactly 30 years after the release of the famous King Crimson debut. Old collaborations are revived and old band mates are brought in to participate. The original King Crimson drummer, Michael Giles, with whom McDonald made an album in 1971, provides drums for a couple of tracks here. Peter Sinfield, the lyricist associated with King Crimson, ELP and others contributes words to one track. John Wetton, another former King Crimson member, is present here even if he were never in the band at the same time as McDonald. The two of them did, however, play live together as part of Steve Hackett's one-off band in the 90's (as can be seen on the excellent live DVD The Tokyo Tapes where both King Crimson and Genesis classics are performed). Hackett is here too and provides a guitar solo and some harmonica. Yet other famous guests include Gary Brooker (Procol Harum), Lou Gramm (Foreigner, with whom McDonald played in the late 70's) and Peter Frampton. McDonald himself plays flutes, guitars, various keyboards and sax.

While the cast is clearly something to be excited about, the actual music they produce is sadly not. If you expect some late follow-up to the classic In The Court Of The Crimson King you are way off the mark. Driver's Eyes contains some jazzy instrumentals and some rather conventional Rock/Pop tunes. The level of "progressiveness" is about as high as on an Alan Parsons Project album of the early 80's. Given the multitude of participators, the comparison with the Project is apt.

I cannot recommend this album to anyone but serious collectors and hard core fans

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of MCDONALD & GILES "Driver's Eyes"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives