Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


North Sea Radio Orchestra

Prog Folk

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

North Sea Radio Orchestra Birds album cover
4.00 | 12 ratings | 1 reviews | 17% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 2008

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. The Angel (2:13)
2. The Wound (3:55)
3. Copt Gliders (4:49)
4. Move Eastward, Happy Earth (4:08)
5. A Poison Tree (2:16)
6. The Flower (3:54)
7. Harbour Wall (3:58)
8. Guitar Miniature #2 (1:22)
9. Phantom (2:11)
10. Personent Hodie (3:25)
11. Now Welcom Somer (6:15)
12. Golden Cage (2:48)

Total Time 41:02

Line-up / Musicians

- Craig Fortnam / acoustic guitar, piano, chamber organ, vocals
- Ben Davies / piano, chamber organ, chorus vocals
- James Larcombe / monosynth, chamber organ, chorus vocals
- Sarah Longe / violin
- Brian Wright / violin
- Harry Escott / cello
- Nicola Baigent / clarinet
- Luke Crooks / bassoon
- Geraldine Peach / oboe
- Hugh Wilkinson / percussion
- Sharron Fortnam / soprano lead vocals
- Dug Parker / harmony vocals
- Richard Larcombe / chorus vocals
- William D. Drake / chorus vocals
- Louise Harrison / chorus vocals
- Suzy Kirby / chorus vocals
- Gideon Miller / chorus vocals
- Kavus Torabi / chorus vocals
- Melanie Woods / chorus vocals

Releases information

Artwork: Chin Keeler and Emma Tornero

CD Oof! Records ‎- OOF010 (2008, UK)

Thanks to the hemulen for the addition
and to Quinino for the last updates
Edit this entry


More places to buy NORTH SEA RADIO ORCHESTRA music online

NORTH SEA RADIO ORCHESTRA Birds ratings distribution

(12 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(17%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(67%)
Good, but non-essential (17%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)


Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Lewian
4 stars The North Sea Radio Orchestra shows some consistency here; I could more or less take my review of their first (self titled) album and copy it in here. The mix of styles is again the same, there are some folk songs sung by the delightful voice of Sharron Fortnam (The Angel, A Poison Tree), some classical and chamber music influences, some crafty choir arrangements, some well woven instrumental parts, another quite classical solo guitar miniature, hardly any drums. Some songs are very guitar oriented, some are carried through by the piano, and in some the strings and choir take the show, Personal Hodie is even an orchestral piece. Also harmonically there are some complexities to be found; although all is well listenable there are some remarkable changes and turns to be found. The last song Golden Cage is a bit of an outlier as a more easy going pop song with some more beat, sung as a duet by Sharron and Craig, although it still has strong folk elements and it is certainly not an outlier in that it is as beautiful and pleasant as the rest of the album. Now Welcom Somer has the most ideas packed into it; Copt Gilders is a very uplifting and dynamic instrumental, these are my highlights.

The first album was first, so this is just not quite as original as the first one, it's a second offering of the same kind; however, if I had heard both of them without knowing which came first, I'd say they are on a par, if Birds is not even the better one. I think regarding compositions arrangements and musicianship both are on the same level, but the production of Birds is more transparent and professional. OK, you can't exactly accuse them of too much development, but after the first one I was very happy to get another fix of this kind of music. (Don't expect revolutions on their third album either.)

In any case it is as much of a pleasure to hear this one from beginning to end as its predecessor, and so I give it the same rating.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of NORTH SEA RADIO ORCHESTRA "Birds"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.