Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Spirits Burning

Psychedelic/Space Rock

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Spirits Burning Healthy Music In Large Doses    (with Clearlight) album cover
4.00 | 2 ratings | 1 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review
from partners
Studio Album, released in 2013

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Treasures At the Dawn of the Century (5:07)
2. Raised On Coal & Oil (6:44)
3. Our Secret Cloud (8:15)
4. Infinite City (6:32)
5. Hand Signals & Daily Horoscopes (5:19)
6. Cool Can of Cola On the Forehead (4:49)
7. Healin Power of Magnets (6:54)
8. Travellin Sideways (5:17)
9. The Kingdom of Music (Bons Sens Revisited) (4:40)
10. In Search of Friends On the Day of Masks (4:42)
11. Italian Lake(2:52)
12. The Road To Shave Ice (6:44)
13. Bring It Down (5:29)

Total Time 73:24

Line-up / Musicians

- Don Falcone - Bells, Bird Calls, Finger Cymbals, Bass, Hi Hat, Marimba, Organ, Percussion, Piano, Electric Piano, Sampling, Shaker, Strings, Synthesizer, Whistle, Wind
- Cyrille Verdeaux - Juno, Keyboards, Organ, Pan Flute, Piano, Vocals
- Daevid Allen: Guitar, Mouth Bass, Mouth Drums, Vocals
- Andy Anderson: Drums
- Yanik Lorenzo Andreatta: Bass
- Giuliano Beber: Guitar
- Scott Brazical: Piano, Synthesizer
- Kevin Carnes: Drums
- Daniel Todd Carter: Tabla
- Michael Clare: Bass
- Tom Dambly: Flugelhorn, Trumpet
- Doug Erickson: Guitar
- Thom Evans: Jaw Harp
- Stella Ferguson: Violin
- Francesco Festi: Vocals
- Ana Torres Fraile: Vocals
- Fabio Golfetti: Glissando, Guitar
- Uto G. Golin: Drums, Vocals
- Paul Hayles: Synthesizer
- Frank Hensel: Horn, Strings, Synthesizer
- Jerry Jeter: Guitar
- Chris Kovacs: Synthesizer, Tabla
- Kenneth Magnusson: Mellotron
- Fabrizio Mattuzzi: Keyboards, Piano
- Pierce McDowell: Bass
- Pete Pavli: Bass, Viola
- Purjah: Bass Clarinet, Soprana and Tenor Sax, Electric Sitar, Woodwind
- Dan Romeo: Synthesizer, Tapes
- Cyndee Lee Rule: Violin
- Paul Sears: Drums
- Karl E.H. Seigfried: Double Bass, Bass
- Adrian Shaw: Bass
- Scotty Smith: Drums
- David Speight: Drums, Percussion
- Jay Tausig: 12 String Guitar, Electric Guitar (Electric)
- Dave Willey: Accordion
- Bridget Wishart: Cello, EWI, Horn, English Horn, Trumpet, Violin
- Don Xaliman: Chimes, Gong
- Steve York: Bass

Releases information

Gonzo Multimedia (CD, 2013)

Thanks to tendst for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy SPIRITS BURNING Healthy Music In Large Doses (with Clearlight) Music

No release results - showing artist results instead
Alien InjectionAlien Injection
Black Widow 2008
$26.88 (used)
Crazy FluidCrazy Fluid
Voiceprint Uk 2010
$13.44 (used)
United States Dist 2015
$15.35 (used)

More places to buy SPIRITS BURNING music online Buy SPIRITS BURNING & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

SPIRITS BURNING Healthy Music In Large Doses (with Clearlight) ratings distribution

(2 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(100%)
Good, but non-essential (0%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

SPIRITS BURNING Healthy Music In Large Doses (with Clearlight) reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Rivertree
4 stars All right, I would say that SPIRITS BURNING are stretching the genre boundaries again with this album. But hey, it's okay - on one hand here we have a distinctive orientation towards jazz, symphonic and avant to state - however, overall synths and guitars are still representing a strong spacey vibe. And so, regarding such a stylistical mix, this album comes as another really unusual attempt. I could only name Bo Hansson, who - but only concerning some parts, to make it clear - had to offer roughly the same in style and mood. CLEARLIGHT head Cyrille Verdeaux from France is deeply involved in the production, makes a lasting expression due to his piano and organ input above all.

Again a bunch of musicians have made a contribution to the thirteen songs. Solely mastermind Don Falcone appears on every track, understandingly enough, as he has assembled the puzzle in the end. This time Daevid Allen plays a relatively minor role, being present on one song named Bring It Down - lyrics and vocals are offered by himself, related to environment protection in general. 'If the hurricane don't shake ya, maybe the song can wake ya' - lyrically seen a clear message, musically this makes it to a proper reggae tune anyhow.

SPIRITS BURNING are on a relaxed trip predominantly - the rock component takes a backseat in general. Hence the first two songs appear in a rather jazzy lounge outfit, where Raised On Coal & Oil is more suitable for background listening. Treasures At The Dawn Of The Century strongly features electronic elements, although eqipped with a sawing electric guitar too. The atmospheric ethno and chamber/symphonic flavoured Our Secret Cloud is the first to offer a vocal presence then, a gripping implementation due to some different stages - excellent - the album's peak I would say ...

... if not Infinite City works inspired in a quite similiar way, shows - partially distorted - lyrics in French by Verdeaux, just another tricky exemplar which obviously appears jazz/fusion laden. Hand Signals & Daily Horoscopes is the very best to remind me of the aforementioned Bo Hansson, where The Road To Shave Ice otherwise mirrors something like an avant space attitude. A variety of events is summed up, no wonder, considering that members of Thinking Plague, The Muffins, Universal Totem Orchestra are also taking part here.

'Healthy Music In Large Dosis' - an aural panacea in other words - this means yet another song collection where the listener has the opportunity to explore a lot which evolves off the beaten path. Released on Gonzo Multimedia this is an album with an unpredictable flow and quite a few compositions of high quality. Wind instruments are very present, just to note another prominent trademark. I hear a challenging blend of different music styles and instruments, suitable for moments of reflection basically ... and equipped with a lasting impression, if you decide to stay tuned to it for a while.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of SPIRITS BURNING "Healthy Music In Large Doses (with Clearlight)"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives