Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Spirits Burning

Psychedelic/Space Rock

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Spirits Burning Make Believe It Real album cover
3.00 | 3 ratings | 1 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review
from partners
Studio Album, released in 2014

Songs / Tracks Listing

Disc 1

1. Make Believe (It Acoustic) (4.11)
2. Cyber Spice (3.56)
3. Revenant (4.15)
4. Be Careful What You Wish (6.25)
5. Skyline Signal (6.17)
6. Demonkind (3.36)
7. Eternal Energy (5.28)
8. Embers (5.11)
9. SpaceRocknRoll (5.14)
10.Journey Past The Stars (2.50)
11.Reflections (14.15)
(i) footprints, (ii) why,
(iii) brain and body, (iv) smile,
(v) promises, (vi) three's a crowd,
(vii) said goodbye

Disc 2

1. Always (Spirited Away) (6.32)
2. No One Cries In Space (4.00)
3. Iceflow (Icetalk Mix) (5.35)
4. Take Up Thy Stethoscope And Walk (2.32)
5. Make Believe It Real (6.28)
6. Chain Of Thought (8.25)

Line-up / Musicians

- Daevid Allen / electric guitar, bass guitar
- Dave Anderson / bass guitar
- Harvey Bainbridge / synths, wah synths
- Steve Bemand / starboard guitars
- Andy Bole / bouzouki, gliss guitar
- Richard Chadwick / storm drums, space & apache drums
- Michael Clare / bass guitar
- Roger Davenport / acoustic guitar
- Alan Davey / bass guitar
- Jim Dunn / drums
- Doug Erickson / acoustic & electric guitars
- Detlev Everling / French horn
- Renate Everling / double bass
- Don Falcone / keyboards, organ, piano, strings, synths, mellotron, melodion, accordion harmonium, bass guitar, electronic percussion, percussion, arrangement, effects, remix
- Craig Fry / violin
- Jack Gold-Molina / drums
- Paul Hayles / electric piano, synths
- Sam Herzberg / djembe, dumbek, finger cymbal, lap snare with brushes, tambourine
- Simon House / violins
- Nigel Mazlyn Jones / electric guitar,12-string gliss guitar
- Simon Keevil / EBow guitar
- Keith The Bass / bass guitar, low freq bass guitar
- Nick May / guitars, portside guitars
- Jude Merryweather / backing vocals, vocals, choir
- Gabriel Monticello / bass guitar, basses, backing vocals
- John Pack / backing vocals
- Jasper Pattison / bass guitar, high freq bass guitar
- Martin Plumley / guitars, acoustic guitars, arrangement
- Lee Potts / various, remix
- Scotty Smith / bass guitar, wah guitar, synth cabasa
- David Speight / drum kit, shaker
- Jay Tausig / lead & rhythm guitars
- Dan Thompson / tribal drums, male chants
- Twink / tambourine
- Jean van den Elsen / male vocals
- Miles Walsh / guitars, keys, drums
- Bridget Wishart / vocals, bass clarinet, bass flute, cello, claps, dragon?s lair, double bass, energy, English horn, flute, harp, horn, intro synth, oboe, synths

Releases information

Released on Gonzo Multimedia. 2CDs.

Produced by Don Marino Falcone
Mastered by Jakko Jakszyk

Thanks to westcoastavenger for the addition
and to rivertree for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy SPIRITS BURNING Make Believe It Real Music

Behold The Action Man/Make Believe It Real by Spirits BurningBehold The Action Man/Make Believe It Real by Spirits Burning
Code 7 - Bat Country
$28.32 (used)

Right Now on Ebay (logo)

More places to buy SPIRITS BURNING music online Buy SPIRITS BURNING & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

SPIRITS BURNING Make Believe It Real ratings distribution

(3 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(0%)
Good, but non-essential (100%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

SPIRITS BURNING Make Believe It Real reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Rivertree
3 stars 'Make Believe It Real' is another SPIRITS BURNING co-production where Bridget Wishart plays an important role according to lyrics and music - a singer/songwriter artist working in partnership with Don Falcone since 2003. Yet again just about a million freelance collaborators or so are involved in the recordings. Many familiar names are deriving from the widespread Hawkwind family hereby. To bring such an amount of musicians together for the recordings would mean to achieve the impossible, hence cultivating this sort of approach in developing music - which is Don's job most likely - requires another strategy of course.

CD1 features eleven new compositions, where the second disc comprises remixes and songs that were previously available on compilations only. Generally speaken this is more dedicated to spend a relaxed one and a half hour. Apart from the synths maybe, a space rock component decreases here to the benefit of ambient, folk, jazz and lounge associated moments. Accordingly Bridget is not acting like a standard rock singer, her voice is rather charming, more ethereal, restrained, not pushing at all. Also, well-known for being in control of a EWI synthesizer she's contributing a lot here while generating diverse wind instruments. On top of it the cover artwork is developed by her too.

Technically seen this is flawless, as everything what is worked out by Don's hands music-wise, no doubt. A lot of details are to recognize again. And the album is far from being overproduced, regarding such a bunch of different contributors. However the compostions can't seduce me all the way through. The extended fok/chamber drenched Reflections suite for example can't touch my soul, probably designated as the album's centerpiece and certainly produced with heart and mind. A matter of taste of course. On the other hand, featuring Alan Davey's (bass) and Jay Tausig's (guitar) ambitious share, I like the powerful Eternal Energy that much.

Luckily the bonus tracks on CD2 are considerably improving the whole production, starting with the space rock genre typical Always. Or just following the wonderful triphop flavoured Iceflow which comes Lunar Dunes reminiscent. And finally Chain Of Thought evolves to another captivating exemplar. This album may find some fans, especially those who are oriented at Bridget's appeal of course. Anway, I would prefer other SPIRITS BURNING productions though. Apart from that - and this will round up my rating in the end.- for me it's still awe-inspiring to observe how this collective is realizing the process of developing music.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of SPIRITS BURNING "Make Believe It Real"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives