Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


John Wetton

Prog Related

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

John Wetton Jack-knife / Monkey Business 1972-1997 (with Richard Palmer-Jones) album cover
2.05 | 3 ratings | 1 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2014

Songs / Tracks Listing

CD 1: "Jack-knife" (37:30)
1. Wish You Would (4:48)
2. Too Much Monkey Business (2:26)
3. You Can't Judge a Book by the Cover (3:29)
4. Confessions (4:54)
5. Eyesight to the Blind (3:39)
6. Walk on Heaven's Ground (5:52)
7. Dimples (2:53)
8. Mustang Momma (3:14)
9. Adoration (6:11)

CD 2: "Monkey Business 1972-1997" (61:01)
1. (Flourish) (0:12)
2. Too Much Monkey Business (2:29)
3. Confessions (2:13)
4. Easy Money (1:01)
5. The Nightwatch (live) (4:08)
6. Woman (1:30)
7. (False start) (0:18)
8. Untitled (0:42)
9. Rich Man Lie (5:32)
10. Cologne 1977 (4:38)
11. The Laughing Lake 1 (2:19)
12. The Good Ship Enterprise (4:08)
13. Book of Saturday (demo) (1:46)
14. Book of Saturday (live) (2:56)
15. The Glory of Winning (4:26)
16. Starless 1 (0:33)
17. The Laughing Lake 2 (0:38)
18. The Laughing Lake 3 (0:14)
19. The Laughing Lake 1997 (1:19)
20. Magazines (2:58)
21. Starless 2 (0:33)
22. Cologne 1997 (4:19)
23. Doctor Diamond 1997 (4:45)
24. Starless 1997 (5:31)

Total Length 98:31

Line-up / Musicians

- John Wetton / vocals, bass, keyboards
- Richard Palmer-Jones / guitars
- John Hutcheson / Hammond organ piano, backing vocals
- Curt Cress / drums, percussion

"Monkey Business" (varying from track to track):
- John Wetton/ bass, guitars, keyboards, piano
- Richard Palmer-James / guitars, keyboards
- Curt Cress / drums
- Bill Bruford / drums
- Bob Dalton / cymbals
- John Hutcheson / Hammond organ
- Ramon Vega / guitars

Releases information

Primary Purpose PP001CD.

"Jack-knife" was recorded in February 1978. Released on EG Records 1991 (?).

"Monkey Business" compiles demos, live performances and other collaborations between John Wetton and Richard Palmer-Jones.

Thanks to Matti for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy JOHN WETTON Jack-knife / Monkey Business 1972-1997 (with Richard Palmer-Jones) Music

More places to buy JOHN WETTON music online

JOHN WETTON Jack-knife / Monkey Business 1972-1997 (with Richard Palmer-Jones) ratings distribution

(3 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any rock music collection(33%)
Good, but non-essential (0%)
Collectors/fans only (33%)
Poor. Only for completionists (33%)

JOHN WETTON Jack-knife / Monkey Business 1972-1997 (with Richard Palmer-Jones) reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Matti
2 stars This is obviously a "for collectors only" kind of release. All the more ridiculous one, as it puts together an obscure, poor rock'n'roll album recorded in 1978 and a compilation of demos and other seedy stuff from a long timeline. First about the studio album Jack-knife.

It contains nine tracks, five of them seemingly covers written by others, two by guitarist Richard Palmer-Jones (best known as KING CRIMSON's lyricist after Pete Sinfield), and two by Wetton and Palmer-Jones together. Let's be honest: I didn't listen to this disc more than perhaps half a minute each song. The music is straight-forward mainstream rock and has nothing to interest me. Don't expect anything even distantly reminiscent of U.K. or ASIA!

"Monkey Business 1972-1997", originally released in the late 90's, is described as a scrapbook in the introduction text. The collaboration between the two musicians started already in 1962 when they met at school. In 1972 they rejoined forces in King Crimson, in which Palmer-Jones only wrote the lyrics. Some of the material that would have been on the follow-up of Red is found here in the demo form. The classic CRIMSON songs 'Book of Saturday' and 'Starless' are featured as lyricless raw demos that were hometaped as a basis for lyric-writing. To be more precise, the latter is only as a half minute beginning - twice! But the disc ends pleasantly with the pair's recording of 'Starless' from 1997. From the same year are 'Doctor Diamond' and 'Cologne 1997', both among the most worthy contents of this release. The latter song, concerning "the mixed feelings of many Americans born after 1945 of German origin on first visiting their emigré parents' home country", is featured also in its original form recorded in 1977. Not a bad song at all.

'Magazines' is a demo from 1974, originally written for King Crimson. 24 years later it appeared on Wetton's album Arkangel. Just before Christmas 1976 Wetton & Palmer-Jones spent a week in a French farmhouse, trying to write some songs for Wetton's solo debut, but the outing emerged only 'The Laughing Lake'. There are several brief tapings of it here. How wise such scrapbook representation is, is very debatable, but in its complete form it is a pretty nice, calm winter song.

So if you're a completionist, you will have interesting things in here (compared to high-prized multiple-disc things like Road To Red this is harmless!). If you're not such person, you will more likely be frustrated of all the mess of short and bad home tapings.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of JOHN WETTON "Jack-knife / Monkey Business 1972-1997 (with Richard Palmer-Jones)"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.