Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Edgar's Hair

Psychedelic/Space Rock

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Edgar's Hair Jonathan's Dive album cover
4.18 | 6 ratings | 2 reviews | 17% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 2017

Songs / Tracks Listing

- Awareness:
1. Glittering Heights (12:44)
2. Black Ocean (5:55)
3. Vanished into Empty Air (6:07)
- Conflict:
4. The New Sun Sparkled Gold (4:27)
5. The Gull Sees Farthest Who Flies Highest (4:30)
6. Through Solid Air (3:41)
7. Speed of Life (8:45)

- Succeeding:
8. Banished to a Solitary Life on the Far Cliffs (2:38)
9. Floating Time (5:33)
10. Jonathan's Dive (8:51)
11. The Messenger (7:35)
- Emptiness:
12. God's Plan (1:51)
13. Stratosphere Part I, II, III & IV (20:21)

Total Time 92:58

Line-up / Musicians

- Hans Brussee / guitar, vocals, trumpet, Moog Taurus, Stylophone, sweep generator, theremin
- Leon van der Leer / drums, percussion, sitar, xylophone, backing vocals, Moog Prodigy, Moog Taurus
- Leo Zwaan / bass, backing vocals

- Mike de Leeuw / Tibetan long horn (1), small Balinese gong (1), tabla (2), Chinese wind gong (2,9), backing vocals (5)
- Rone / French voice (1)
- Riet Brussee / Dutch voices (1)
- Pip van der Leer / Dutch voices (1)
- Durba Telkamp / Bengali voice (1,13)
- Noah de Graaf / Czech voice (1)
- Danja Overduin / choir (1,4,9)
- Florine de Graaf / violin (2)
- Rens de Graaf / violin (2)
- Odette van der Hoven / backing vocals (5), vocals (9)
- Petra Blansjaar / Spanish voice (7)
- Marcus Graff / piano (13)
- Milan Ciric / backing vocals (13)

Releases information

2LP/2CD/MC/Digital album Hoor'75 Records (2017, Netherlands)

Thanks to rivertree for the addition
and to projeKct for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy EDGAR'S HAIR Jonathan's Dive Music

More places to buy EDGAR'S HAIR music online

EDGAR'S HAIR Jonathan's Dive ratings distribution

(6 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(17%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(50%)
Good, but non-essential (0%)
Collectors/fans only (33%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

EDGAR'S HAIR Jonathan's Dive reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Rivertree
4 stars Adopted from Richard Bach's 'Jonathan Livingston Seagull' novel, here we have a somewhat erratic epic of about 100 minutes playing time. Designed by three musicians from the Netherlands and Czech Republic, featuring support coming from some friends on diverse, partially ethnic instruments furthermore. Although being experienced musicians, I did not know anything about Hans Brussee, Leon van der Leer and Leo Zwaan beforehand. Luckily that's history now. 'Jonathan's Dive' turns out to be an ambitious blend of rather dark mooded psychedelic space rock, kraut and ethno music, overall mixed with diverse vintage electronica stuff and a proper voice palette concerning multiple languages. Appealing! Worth it to be checked out.

The album is available via Hoor'75 Records label as double LP and CD ... and yes, even on music cassette! This is not a quick shot from one weekend filled with jams. Maybe when it comes to the basics, moreover though conceived with patience right down to the last detail due to a vivid exchange via internet. According to the main frame the sound of the sea, seagull samples especially moreover, won't be missed here of course. At the latest the atmospheric Stratosphere empathically will confirm - this is an album where headphones (respectively an isolated private listening area without any distraction) are strongly required in order to reach for a higher level. Brussee is serving a bunch of beautiful soaring guitars. Theremin, moog as well as diverse gongs are responsible for a hallucinogenic feel in between.

Furthermore, not only on The Messenger, the echoing trumpet turns out to be a very spacey instrument. On the other hand we are experiencing some heavy outbursts too. And you see, track titles are not accidentally chosen. I mean Speed Of Life for example, which appears in a really rushed, rather heavy and biassing manner. The album's title track should not be left unnoted, somewhat special for sure. A range from expressive to screaming vocals, contrasted by nice piano licks, would you like to have much dramaturgy? Now coming to my personal favourite, the opener Glitterings Height marks a fantastic space rock tune which gradually and carefully unfolds. Trumpet or didgeridoo? Whatever, this makes my day. A really well-made debut which was issued at the end of the last year.

Latest members reviews

5 stars "Jonathan's Dive" is a debut album of the Leiden/Rotterdam, The Netherlands based three-piece band EDGAR'S HAIR featuring Hans Brussee (guitars, vocals, trumpet, moog taurus, stylophone, organ, theremin), Leon van der Leer (drums, percussion, xylophone, backing vocals, moog taurus, moog prodigy, sit ... (read more)

Report this review (#1913117) | Posted by raigor | Sunday, April 8, 2018 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of EDGAR'S HAIR "Jonathan's Dive"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.