Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Procol Harum

Crossover Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Procol Harum 30th Anniversary Anthology album cover
4.21 | 10 ratings | 1 reviews | 60% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 1997

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Conquistador (2:39)
2. She Wandered Through the Garden Fence (3:24)
3. Something Following Me (3:38)
4. Mabel (1:53)
5. Cerdes (Outside the Gates Of) (5:02)
6. A Christmas Camel (4:49)
7. Kaleidoscope (2:54)
8. Salad Days (Are Here Again) (3:39)
9. Good Captain Clack (1:31)
10. Repent Walpurgis (5:01)
11. Quite Rightly So (3:38)
12. Shine on Brightly (3:31)
13. Skip Softly (My Moonbeams) (3:45)
14. Wish Me Well (3:16)
15. Rambling On (4:28)
16. Magdalene (My Regal Zonophone) (2:50)
17. In Held 'Twas in I: Glimpses of Nirvana... (17:34)
18. The Milk of Human Kindness (3:47)
19. Too Much Between Us (3:46)
20. The Devil Came from Kansas (4:38)
21. Boredom (4:34)
22. Juicy John Pink (2:05)
23. Wreck of the Hesperus (3:47)
24. All This and More (3:48)
25. Crucifiction Lane (4:56)
26. Pilgrims Progress (4:32)
27. Whisky Train (4:30)
28. The Dead Man's Dream (4:44)
29. Still There'll Be More (4:58)
30. Nothing That I Didn't Know (3:38)
31. About to Die (3:38)
32. Barnyard Story (2:45)
33. Piggy Pig Pig (4:47)
34. Whaling Stories (7:08)
35. Your Own Choice (3:10)
36. A Whiter Shade of Pale (4:05)
37. Lime Street Blues (2:53)
38. Homburg (3:56)
39. Good Captain Clack (1:31)
40. Quite Rightly So (3:44)
41. In the Wee Small Hours of Sixpence (3:02)
42. A Salty Dog (4:39)
43. Long Gone Geek (3:08)
44. Monsieur Armand [outtake] (2:23)
45. Seem to Have the Blues (Mostly All the... [outtake] (2:46)
46. A Whiter Shade of Pale (6:04)
47. A Whiter Shade of Pale [instrumental] (5:47)
48. Homburg (alternate '67 recording) (3:53)
49. Homburg (unreleased stereo version) (5:32)
50. Conquistador (2:39)
51. She Wandered Through the Garden Fence (3:27)
52. Magdalene (My Regal Zonophone) (2:22)

Total Time:
Reissue of 3 CD box set that includes "Procol Harum", "Shine On Brightly", "A Salty Dog" & "Home" two on one full lengths. Disc 3 is a 17 track collection of rare A & B side single mixes, outtakes & alternate takes.

Line-up / Musicians

- Gary Brooker / lead vocals, piano
- Chris Copping / bass, organ (2/11 to 19)
- Matthew Fisher / Hammond organ
- Dave Knights / bass
- Keith Reid / words
- Robin Trower / guitars
- Barrie James Wilson / drums

Releases information

3XCD Westside WESX 301

Thanks to ProgLucky for the addition
and to Eetu Pellonpää for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy PROCOL HARUM 30th Anniversary Anthology Music

More places to buy PROCOL HARUM music online

PROCOL HARUM 30th Anniversary Anthology ratings distribution

(10 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(60%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(40%)
Good, but non-essential (0%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

PROCOL HARUM 30th Anniversary Anthology reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Easy Livin
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin
4 stars Glimpses of Nirvana

While compilations are often little more than a record company endeavouring to squeeze a bit more income from their back catalogue, this "30th Anniversary anthology" represents an excellent way of obtaining Procol Harum's first four albums, together with numerous singles As and Bs, rare tracks and alternative mixes.

Those first four albums, "Procol Harum", "Shine On Brightly", "A Salty Dog" & "Home" are included chronologically, and in their original track order on discs one and two, with the exception of the title track of "A salty dog" which is removed to the third disc so as to appear with the other singles. These albums show the rapid development of the band, to the stage where they started to fall apart. The proto-prog classic "In held 'twas in I", (relatively) recently covered by Transatlantic, is essential listening for anyone with even a passing interest in our genre.

The out-takes on the third disc include a couple of wonderful variations on "A whiter shade of pale", one of which is the mono backing track. The original A side of that song is also on disc 3, as it never appeared on an official Procol Harum album. Likewise, we have the original single version of "Homburg" plus two alternative takes.

In all, a reasonably priced, cost effective way of obtaining four complete albums by the band, plus a host of essential non-album singles etc. The packaging is informative and tasteful too.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of PROCOL HARUM "30th Anniversary Anthology"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.