Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Steve Howe

Crossover Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Steve Howe Anthology 2 (Groups and Collaborations) album cover
3.00 | 2 ratings | 1 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2017

Songs / Tracks Listing

Disc 1:

1. Maybellene (w/The Syndicats) (2:08)
2. On the Horizon (w/The Syndicats) (2:45)
3. Finger Poppin' (w/The In Crowd) (2:01)
4. Blow Up (w/The In Crowd) ((1:52)
5. You're On Your Own (w/The In Crowd) (2:17)
6. My White Bicycle (w/Tomorrow) (3:15)
7. Claramount Lake (w/Tomorrow) (2:51)
8. Revolution (w/Tomorrow) (3:45)
9. Why (w/Tomorrow) (3:54)
10. The Spanish Song (w/Canto) (2:09)
11. Beyond Winter (w/Bodast) (2:45)
12. Nothing to Cry (w/Bodast) (3:45)
13. Roundabout (w/Yes) (8:30)
14. Montreux's Theme (w/Yes) (2:20)
15. Tempus Fugit (w/Yes) (5:13)
16. Heat of the Moment (w/Asia) (3:46)
17. One Step Closer (w/Asia) (4:16)
18. Lyin' to Yourself (w/Asia) (4:11)
19. Masquerade (w/Asia) (3:17)*
20. When the Heart Rules the Mind (w/GTR) (5:20)
21. Toe the Line (w/GTR) (4:31)

Disc 2:

1. Brother of Mine (Rock Edit) (w/Anderson, Bruford, Wakeman, Howe) (6:30)
2. Dangerous (Look in the LIght of What You're Searching For) (Backing Track) (w/Yes) (3:26)*
3. Without Hope You Cannot Start the Day (Backing Track) (w/Yes) (3:40)*
4. Bring Me to the Power (w/Yes) (7:22)
5. From the Balcony (w/Yes) (2:43)
6. Nine Voices (Longwalker) (w/Yes) (3:19)
7. We Agree (w/Yes) (6:30)
8. Kenny's Sound (w/Steve Howe Trio) (4:34)
9. Sweet Thunder (w/Steve Howe Trio) (3:53)
10. Wish I'd Known All Along (w/Asia) (4:06)
11. Over and Over (w/Asia) (3:31)
12. Through My Veins (w/Asia) (4:23)
13. Light the Way (w/Asia) (4:30)
14. Hour of Need (Full Length Version) (w/Yes) (6:43)
15. Reno (Silver and Gold) (w/Asia) (4:42)
16. I Believe Again (w/Yes) (6:54)

Disc 3:

1. Traveller (w/Billy Currie) (3:15)
2. Time and a Word (w/Fish) (4:17)
3. Sweet Eternity (w/Paul Sutin) (4:44)
4. Voyager (w/Paul Sutin) (4:41)
5. Lily's In the Field (w/Annie Haslam) (4:24)
6. Turn of the Century (w/Annie Haslam) (6:27)
7. The Forgotten King (w/Oliver Wakeman) (3:01)
8. Most of a Man (w/Dean Dyson) (2:45)*
9. Cross that Bridge (w/Keith West) (3:06)
10. Heaven (w/Keith West) (2:55)
11. Strange Girl (w/Keith West) (4:04)
12. Luxury of Love (new mix) (w/Keith West) (2:37)
13. Curved Ball (new mix) (w/Keith West) (3:08)
14. Running in the Human Race (w/Max Bacon) (4:47)
15. Hot Touch (w/Max Bacon) (3:43)
16. Runaway (w/Max Bacon) (4:07)
17. Forever (w/Max Bacon) (4:21)
18. Tell the Story (w/Max Bacon) (3:18)
19. Slim Pickings (w/Ray Fenwick) (3:51)*

*previously unreleased

Line-up / Musicians

- Instrumentation could not be verified at this time.

Releases information

3x CD - Rhino Records (081227941819)

Thanks to TCat for the addition
and to TCat for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy STEVE HOWE Anthology 2 (Groups and Collaborations) Music

More places to buy STEVE HOWE music online

STEVE HOWE Anthology 2 (Groups and Collaborations) ratings distribution

(2 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(0%)
Good, but non-essential (100%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

STEVE HOWE Anthology 2 (Groups and Collaborations) reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Matti
3 stars In 2015 was released the 2-cd Steve Howe compilation Anthology, subtitled "A Solo Career Retrospective". Anthology 2 covers a much bigger portion of this extraordinary guitarist's diverse musical path: two discs are an absolute minimum to make a chronological run- through from Steve's first ever recording at the age of 16 (a Chuck Berry cover 'Maybelline' by The Syndicats) to the Yes album Heaven & Earth (2014).

The journey leads us through ten different bands! Let it be said right away that the best-loved era with YES, ie. the whole 70's, is represented with only three tracks ('Roundabout', the instrumental beauty 'Montreux's Theme' and 'Tempus Fugit' from Drama, 1980), "due to the high number of re-releases" as Howe says in his track-by-track liner notes. I think that's a wise decision, without which just two discs would have been painfully inadequate. I confess I spent very little time with the first half of CD 1, the sixties stuff. The Syndicats (the other track here also being a cover) was followed by r&b oriented The In Crowd featuring Keith West on vocals. "As if through metamorposis, we transformed into a psychedelic band": TOMORROW is represented with four songs. CANTO was a short-lived trio which evolved into BODAST when vocalist Clive Skinner joined in.

After the mentioned YES section comes four ASIA songs from the super group's early 80's era, one of them (Howe's composition 'Masquerade') being a previously unreleased instrumental. Disc 1 is finished with two songs from GTR, the equally commercial act led by Howe and his namesake Hackett.

For an acquainted listener of Yes, Asia and related, disc 2 in general is perhaps the least eye-opening or interesting part of this release. The albums represented are e.g. ABWH, Keys to Ascension 2, Open Your Eyes (the Anderson-Howe duet 'From the Balcony'), The Ladder and Magnification. Then comes two pieces of traditional guitar/organ/drums jazz of STEVE HOWE TRIO. The original ASIA quartet returned with Phoenix (2008) and continued with albums Omega and XXX. The Yes albums Fly From Here and Heaven & Earth are represented with one song each.

The third disc contains various collaborations and is IMHO the most rewarding part of this release. Here the majority of pieces were new to my ears, although there are legitimately 'Time and a Word' with FISH and 'Turn of the Century' with ANNIE HASLAM. Other collaborators include e.g. PAUL SUTIN, OLIVER WAKEMAN, KEITH WEST and MAX BACON (the vocalist in GTR). The music is mostly not very proggy but fairly pleasant pop/rock anyway. Three strong stars are well deserved due to the easy-to-follow and verbally commented representation.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of STEVE HOWE "Anthology 2 (Groups and Collaborations)"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.