Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Canterbury Scene

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Gong The World Of Daevid Allen and Gong album cover
3.76 | 6 ratings | 2 reviews | 33% 5 stars

Write a review

Buy GONG Music
from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2003

Songs / Tracks Listing

Disc 1
1. Rational Anthem (4:09) - Daevid Allen
2. Glad To Say To Say (3:44) - Daevid Allen
3. Gong Song (4:09) - Daevid Allen
4. Foghat Digs Holes In Space (6:21) - Daevid Allen
5. Tried So Hard (4:39) - Daevid Allen
6. Tropical Fish: Selene (7:36) - Daevid Allen
7. Radio Gnome Invisible (5:32) - Daevid Allen
8. Flying Teapot (11:46) - Daevid Allen
9. The Pot Head Pixies (2:59) - Daevid Allen
10. The Octave Doctors And The Crystal Machine (1:45) - Daevid Allen
11. Zero The Hero And The Witch's Spell (9:37) - Daevid Allen
12. Witch's Song : I Am Your Pussy (5:06) - Daevid Allen
13. Other Side Of The Sky (7:39) - Daevid Allen
14. Sold To The Highest Buddah (3:11) - Daevid Allen

Disc 2
1. Castle In The Clouds (1:13) - Daevid Allen
2. Prostitute Poem (6:06) - Daevid Allen
3. Givin' My Love To You (0:43) - Daevid Allen
4. Selene (3:33) - Daevid Allen
5. Flute Salad (2:45) - Daevid Allen
6. Oily Way (3:00) - Daevid Allen
7. Outer Temple (1:08) - Daevid Allen
8. Innter Temple (3:19) - Daevid Allen
9. Love Is How You Make It (3:26) - Daevid Allen
10. I Niver Glid Before (5:35) - Daevid Allen
11. Eat That Phone Book Coda (3:07) - Daevid Allen
12. Thoughs For Naught (1:33) - Daevid Allen
13. A P.H.P.'s Advice (1:47) - Daevid Allen
14. Magick Mother Invocation (2:05) - Daevid Allen
15. Master Buiider (6:07) - Daevid Allen
16. A Sprinkling Of Clouds (8:55) - Daevid Allen
17. Perfect Mystery (2:26) - Daevid Allen
18. The Isle Of Everywhere (10:20) - Daevid Allen
19. You Never Blow Your Trip Forever (11:23) - Daevid Allen

Disc 3
1. Save Yourself (2:41) - Daevid Allen, Soft Machine, The
2. You Don't Remember (3:42) - Daevid Allen, Soft Machine, The
3. Time Of Your Life (3:24) - Daevid Allen
4. Memories (3:36) - Daevid Allen
5. Stoned Innocent Frankenstein (3:22) - Daevid Allen
6. Fred The Fish (2:29) - Daevid Allen
7. White Neck Blooze (5:45) - Daevid Allen
8. Tally & Orlando Meet The Cockpot Pixie (3:16) - Daevid Allen
9. Why Do We Treat Ourselves Like We Do? (6:50) - Daevid Allen
10. Poet For Sale (3:26) - Daevid Allen
11. Floatin' Anarchy (5:11) - Daevid Allen, Planet Gong
12. New Age Transformation Try: No More Sages (12:05) - Daevid Allen, Planet Gong
13. Opium For The People / Divided (4:24) - Daevid Allen, Planet Gong
14. It's A Fine Air For Fliss (3:37) - Daevid Allen
15. 333 (4:09) - Daevid Allen
16. Rajneesh With Thanks (0:30) - Daevid Allen
17. Much Too Old (2:44) - Daevid Allen, New York Gong

Total Time: 227:48

Line-up / Musicians

- Gong, Daevid Allen, Soft Machine, New York Gong, Planet Gong

Releases information

3XCD Snapper SNAJ725CD , Charly SNAJ 725

Thanks to PROGMAN for the addition
and to snobb for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy GONG The World Of Daevid Allen and Gong Music

More places to buy GONG music online

GONG The World Of Daevid Allen and Gong ratings distribution

(6 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(33%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(50%)
Good, but non-essential (17%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

GONG The World Of Daevid Allen and Gong reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by fuxi
4 stars Well what have we here?

This very generous 3-disc set actually includes THE ENTIRE RADIO GNOME TRILOGY, which makes it a highly recommended purchase for anyone interested in the so-called Canterbury Scene.

On top of that, more than 100 minutes are devoted to other Daevid Allen recordings. Daevid's first solo album, BANANAMOON, is particularly well represented: all the tracks given here (nos. 3 to 7 on the third disc) are gems. 'Memories' is a particularly fine tune, sung by Robert Wyatt (it also exists as a Soft Machine demo), and 'White Neck Blooze' is a delightful parody of the decadent kind of ballad Kevin Ayers used to wrote for his solo career. The selections from CAMEMBERT ELECTRIQUE (nos. 4 to 6 on the first disc) are fine, but strangely enough the album's best known song ('You can't kill me') is omitted. The selections from NOW IS THE HAPPIEST TIME OF YOUR LIFE (nos. 8 to 10 on disc three) are also excellent, but what a shame the compilers left out the title track, which must be Daevid's single most beautiful acoustic ballad.

If you do not own the RADIO GNOME TRILOGY, and are able to find this collection at the same price as its three separate parts added together (or perhaps even for less!) do not hesitate to snap it up. (It comes with an 50-page illustrated booklet.) The trilogy is one of those pieces of music that will give pleasure for a lifetime. Purely on the strength of all the marvellous music, I'd love to award this set five stars, but I simply don't know if the remastering is any good...

Latest members reviews

3 stars A fairly complete over view of david allen and his work with Gong and Planet gong. This would make a great anthology for somebody who did not want to purchase all of the album's featured but will make no real friends among Gongs fans. retailing at mid price there are cheaper sets out there wh ... (read more)

Report this review (#92822) | Posted by burgersoft777 | Sunday, October 1, 2006 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of GONG "The World Of Daevid Allen and Gong"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.