Forum Home Forum Home > Progressive Music Lounges > Prog Music Lounge
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Would Prog benefit from better music education?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedWould Prog benefit from better music education?

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
Prog Reviewer
Prog Reviewer

Direct Link To This Post Topic: Would Prog benefit from better music education?
    Posted: March 18 2015 at 19:16
I don't know much about other countries, but in my native Spain and in Belgium where I have lived for 13 years, music education for kids in basic public or even private school is next to nothing. I studied in semi-private school in Spain and yes, I remember having had some music lessons and learning what a whole note, a half, a quarter, an eight note etc were, doing some very basic exercises hitting wooden blocks or triangles etc, but the music education was close to non-existent.

Only because I decided to take private music lessons at the age of 16 (guitar and singing) I could learn a bit of more serious music concepts and theory.

Actually I already liked Prog before that, taking some music lessons was not the gate-opener but only a facilitator to understanding better some of the things I liked listening to (I was too lazy to practice at the required level and gave up the lessons after 1.5 years).

My question is, do you think if kids in public school received more music education this could help Prog getting more popular? For sure, it's not needed to have any music education to enjoy Prog, but perhaps having it can help seeking qualities in music which can be satisfied by Prog better than by most mainstream Pop music? If you get your son / daughter to have some music education, will he/she be more prone to appreciating Prog?

LearsFool View Drop Down
Prog Reviewer
Prog Reviewer

Direct Link To This Post Posted: March 18 2015 at 19:44