FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosediPod classic discontinued

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member

Direct Link To This Post Topic: iPod classic discontinued
    Posted: April 11 2015 at 15:51
As Apple introduced the new iPhone and the Apple Watch, the iPod classic was quietly and unceremoniously laid to rest.  I only found this out today.  I have been using a 6th generation 120gb classic since I bought it in December 2009.  I have used it pretty much every day (for at least an hour a day) since I got it it.  The memory is nearly full with well over a 1000 albums.  For some reason today I had a bit of a panic.  I realised that I had been using the device for nearly six years now and that it might not last for many more years.  I looked on Amazon to see how much a replacement would cost and was horrified to see that for a new 7th generation iPod (160gb) you have to pay about £500 sterling.  Last year a new iPod cost £189.  This is how I found out that the Classic has been discontinued.  Obviously a few opportunists bought some new devices before they were discontinued in an attempt to profiteer.  This means that even second hand Classics will now cost a fortune and the price will continue to rise as they get more scarce.

I never thought Apple would get rid of the device that the company was built on.  I'm thinking of getting a refurbished Classic as a back-up for when mine is kaputt, but these are selling for about £180, which is a hell of a lot for a second hand device.

I've looked for alternatives but can't find any.

Is there another MP3 player out there with mass storage and no touch screen (which I really don't want)?  Is there anything anywhere near as good as the iPod's navigation system (easily accessible using the excellent wheel)?

Does anyone else feel that an old friend has just been allowed to wander into his own grave?

I think I need to lie down for a while now.
Haiku