Honorary Collaborator

Direct Link To This Post Topic: Recycling
    Posted: October 04 2015 at 11:29

infocat View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member
VIP Member

Direct Link To This Post Posted: October 04 2015 at 13:36
I've long thought all of this recycling craze was mostly just "political correctness", and this seems to agree with that.  My mom tends to put most anything that is not food waste in the recycle bin, even though I tell her it just takes more time and manpower to remove the non-recyclable trash from the recycle.  I think she thinks there is some magic machine out there that separates everything with ease.
--
Frank Swarbrick
Belief is not Truth.
Raff View Drop Down
Special Collaborator
Special Collaborator
Honorary Collaborator

Direct Link To This Post Posted: October 04 2015 at 13:48
I have been recycling for many years now - paper for the longest time of all. In my case, recycling has more to do with my inherent dislike of waste (which was taught to me by my parents) than "political correctness". I have seen people become really obsessive about it, not realizing that dirty paper/plastic dishes are not recyclable any more. What I am obsessive about (and that also comes from my upbringing) is not wasting food, and I try never to toss anything unless it's gone bad (which doesn't often happen).
TeleStrat View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member

Direct Link To This Post Posted: October 04 2015 at 13:55
^ I have recently heard that one third of all the food produced and purchased in this country 
ends up in the dumpster.
TeleStrat View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member

Direct Link To This Post Posted: October 04 2015 at 14:02
As far as recycling is concerned, I found the article to be very interesting and probably
not far off the mark.
An industry exists now that did not exist before so that means jobs were created.
Is that industry doing more for the economy or for the environment?