Forum Home Forum Home > Progressive Music Lounges > Prog Music Lounge
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedDo you like most prog rock?

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 6>
Author
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Direct Link To This Post Topic: Do you like most prog rock?
    Posted: December 10 2016 at 07:54
I am really more of a jazz guy and play guitar in a quartet, but I have always mixed in a healthy dose of prog rock and classical. I have been listening to prog since the early 1980s.  I recently got some excellent new suggestions here that I have been enjoying.  That being said, I find prog (broadly defined) to be a very frustrating genre for me. I absolutely love bands like Yes, Gentle Giant, Yezda Urfa, The Flower Kings, echolyn, and some Magma.   Right now, I am really enjoying some cuts from Seven Steps to the Green Door's Fetish, 3rdegree, Cheeto's Magazine, Moon Safari, Ampledeed, and Mad Fellaz. However, it's a pain in the neck to find this stuff!  Most prog sounds absolutely awful to me (e.g., terrible vocals, complexity for the sake of complexity). I have been sorting through the reviews here by year and trying to listen to albums with ratings of 3.5 or greater in a few subcategories (eclectic, crossover, symphonic, neo-prog). The vast majority of albums that are rated greater than 3.5 stars I find unlistenable.  I generally have to sift through 50 or so albums before I find something that I like (that's how I found Ampledeed, Mad Fellaz, and Cheeto's magazine - by probably listening to parts of 150 other albums that I didn't like at all).  So here's my question: Do you find yourself liking most prog, or do you have to listen to a ton of stuff to find a few gems?        
Saperlipopette! View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member

Direct Link To This Post Posted: December 10 2016 at 08:02
Originally posted by Rick5A Rick5A wrote: