FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedProgressive Literature

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Direct Link To This Post Topic: Progressive Literature
    Posted: March 07 2017 at 12:22
Hi guys; I'm a writer, and for a long time I've been studying, since I was eleven, musical theory, besides play seven instruments - so that's how I've got into this world of prog rock. But, wondering and daydreaming with myself, while readying James Joyce, Virginia Woolf, etc, I could realized that these guys were very important to literature, according to innovation.
Even so, if we look at the prog rock conceptions, we see it's a complex kinda of art, which has not borders.
My question is, how could be prog rock conception converted to literature? Long books? Complex vocabulary? Irony? haha. I'm looking for techniques.

(english is not my first language; so, forgive me any mistake) 

Thanks.
Logan View Drop Down
Forum & Site Admin Group
Forum & Site Admin Group
Site Admin

Direct Link To This Post Posted: March 07 2017 at 12:47
When writing, choose a main genre, then throw in various other genre elements into the mix. Add some poetry with unusual metres, or reflect that in prose. Throw in some noodle-y writings into your work that a sane editor might suggest removing. Make your book longer than necessary, and write in the form of an epic. Use multiple climaxes in your book.
Just a fanboy passin' through.
Dopeydoc View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member

Direct Link To This Post Posted: March 07 2017 at 14:55
You can find also some examples in sci-fi:
I Asimov: space rock?
K Vonnegut Jr: Extreme rock?
A E van Vogt: Math rock?
P Boulle: Symphonic?
A Huxley: Eclectic?
G Orwell: Post rock?

What I enjoy in Prog is surprises (intellectual and/or emotion), and sci-fi provides just that.

omphaloskepsis View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member