Forum Home Forum Home > Progressive Music Lounges > Official 'review our music' forum
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedEpisodic Rock Opera (1/4)

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member

Direct Link To This Post Topic: Episodic Rock Opera (1/4)
    Posted: March 08 2017 at 16:08
Hi, my name is Rodrigo San Martín and I'm a prog rock musician from Buenos Aires, Argentina.

I've released seven albums in the last seven years (some with prog rock groups, but the majority as a solo artist)
and I want to share my latest project with the community.

I've made a rock opera called The Veil is Broken, which tells the story of the rise and fall of a progressive rock musician in the 70s/80's. To avoid overwhelming the listeners I've been releasing it in four segments which represent different important stages of Robin's (our protagonist) life.

The first one I released (back in March 2016) is called The Veil is Broken I: Childhood, and narrates the early struggles of young Robin, which will leave a huge mark on his future self.

I've had the pleasure of counting with many guests on the recording of the album: four top notch singers (Craig Kerley, Charlie Giardina, Canela Sol and Osvaldo Mellace) that carry the story forward with their perfomance, as well as world class instrumentalists as Mike Buenaventura Lima on drums and Fernando Refay on keyboards. 

What's different about this album over thousands of fantastic albums that overpopulate the music scene this days is it's format: Old Robin has lost it's mind due to a life of trauma and excess so he can't really find an order to his own life, he's lost in he's fantasies and can't really diferentitate what really happenes and what he imagined, and the composition of the albums reflects just that.