Forum Home Forum Home > Progressive Music Lounges > Prog Music Lounge
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

150 most important Prog albums

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dymanic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 150 most important Prog albums
    Posted: June 17 2019 at 00:38
Hi all,

As a relative prog newbie I'm trying to compile a list of the "Most Important" prog albums from the birth of prog through to about 2000. This will be the basis of a listening project to attain more insight into the genre.

I've looked around a fair bit and it's easy to find people's "Essentials" or "Best of" lists but this isn't necessarily what I'm talking about here. What I mean by important is albums which contributed to the development of progressive rock in a significant way, furthering the advancement of the genre or taking it in new directions. I'd like to get a good overview of all the important subgenres too.

Obviously this will have a fair bit of overlap with Essentials or Best Of lists but the emphasis is different. It's easy for an album you hate to be important to the genre, or for one of your favourites to not be important at all.

I'm looking to include 150 albums over the time period so I'm guessing there's also room for a lot of the "Best" albums too, I'm not looking to be overly dogmatic about it.

Any suggestions / resources anybody can point me to? Even particular album suggestions would be helpful. Apologies if this is an already answered question.
octopus-4 View Drop Down
Special Collaborator
Special Collaborator
RIO/Avant/Zeuhl,Neo & Post/Math Teams

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote octopus-4 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: June 17 2019 at 01:12
Curiosity killed a cat, Schroedinger only half.
My poor home recorded stuff at https://yellingxoanon.bandcamp.com