Forum Home Forum Home > Other music related lounges > Music and Musicians Exchange
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Feedback on my prog project

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote occhigialli Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Feedback on my prog project
    Posted: April 28 2020 at 19:29
I recorded three songs this past week, under the moniker of Occhi Gialli. Influences are Goblin, Libra, ELP and King Crimson. They're short songs and also take influence from the soundtracks of 70's thriller/horror films.

Everything is recorded by me. I would be very thankful for feedback. I'm a jazz kid and I haven't really written any rock/prog songs before, so this is my first attempt.

I recommend ''Death Watches Through Oblique Windows''.

Cheers!

Edited by occhigialli - April 28 2020 at 19:41
irrelevant View Drop Down
Collaborator
Collaborator
Honorary Collaborator

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote irrelevant Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: April 29 2020 at 03:38
Nice. I can dig the "lost cassette" sorta vibe here. The conventional criticism might be "bring the drums up" as they are a bit lost in the mud (and they could be just a bit clearer), however I personally wouldn't care to hear this all sharp and huge and "correct"; you'd lose some of the character in the process. 

My main advice for you would be to ramp up the ambition in your following compositions. Maybe try stretching out a few more minutes and adding some different parts / dynamics. You've got a cool thing going here, we just need more!

Anyway I was pleasantly surprised with this. I'm sure you'll kick on well.

Cheers!
- Gabe
occhigialli View Drop Down
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote occhigialli Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: April 29 2020 at 13:34