Forum Home Forum Home > Topics not related to music > I Have A Question For You......?
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - How Do I post Pictures?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedHow Do I post Pictures?

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 4567>
Author
Message
Horizons View Drop Down
Collaborator
Collaborator
Avatar
Post/Math Rock Team

Joined: January 20 2011
Location: Somewhere Else
Status: Offline
Points: 16952
Direct Link To This Post Posted: March 08 2014 at 13:32
 your link

 another link

Use this link..

When you paste a link into the Insert Picture url bar, make sure you delete the Http:// part in either in bar it comes in or the url you're copying from, otherwise it will have two of them and ruin the address. 


Edited by Horizons - March 08 2014 at 13:34
Crushed like a rose in the riverflow.
Back to Top
Gryphon View Drop Down
Forum Groupie
Forum Groupie


Joined: April 15 2007
Location: norway
Status: Offline
Points: 85
Direct Link To This Post Posted: March 08 2014 at 13:45

link posted as this: http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/4/47/Gryphon.jpg

and, it worked! thanks.


Edited by Gryphon - March 08 2014 at 13:46
Back to Top
Gryphon View Drop Down
Forum Groupie
Forum Groupie


Joined: April 15 2007
Location: norway
Status: Offline
Points: 85
Direct Link To This Post Posted: March 08 2014 at 13:48
Originally posted by HORIZONS HORIZONS wrote:

When you paste a link into the Insert Picture url bar, make sure you delete the Http:// part in either in bar it comes in or the url you're copying from, otherwise it will have two of them and ruin the address. 
Yeah, I knew that. Still can't figure out why it suddenly worked, though.

maybe it was all that extra crap at the end of the previous link that screwed it up:

http://cps-static.rovicorp.com/3/JPG_500/MI0000/763/MI0000763290.jpg?partner=allrovi.com

on the other hand, I post pictures from allmusic on other forums, and the same kind of link always work.

oh well...


Edited by Gryphon - March 08 2014 at 13:50
Back to Top
Horizons View Drop Down
Collaborator
Collaborator
Avatar
Post/Math Rock Team

Joined: January 20 2011
Location: Somewhere Else
Status: Offline
Points: 16952
Direct Link To This Post Posted: March 08 2014 at 13:58
Some links are simply just broken. No idea. If it happens again, just go on google images again and click another one. Thumbs Up


Crushed like a rose in the riverflow.
Back to Top
Dean View Drop Down
Special Collaborator
Special Collaborator
Avatar
Retired Admin and Amateur Layabout

Joined: May 13 2007
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 37575
Direct Link To This Post Posted: March 08 2014 at 14:18

Your http://cps-static.rovicorp.com/3/JPG_500/MI0000/763/MI0000763290.jpg link without the extraneous characters that follow the .jpg part of the URL.


Your link http://cps-static.rovicorp.com/3/JPG_500/MI0000/763/MI0000763290.jpg?partner=allrovi.com with the extraneous characters that follow the .jpg part of the URL,


Sorry, it's our out-dated forum software. We live in the 70s, we like old stuff and that includes forum software.


Edited by Dean - March 08 2014 at 14:23
What?
Back to Top
Gryphon View Drop Down
Forum Groupie
Forum Groupie


Joined: April 15 2007
Location: norway
Status: Offline
Points: 85
Direct Link To This Post Posted: March 08 2014 at 16:36
See next post. I guess I messed up.

Edited by Gryphon - March 08 2014 at 17:59
Back to Top
Gryphon View Drop Down
Forum Groupie
Forum Groupie


Joined: April 15 2007
Location: norway
Status: Offline
Points: 85
Direct Link To This Post Posted: March 08 2014 at 16:44
Originally posted by Dean Dean wrote:

Sorry, it's our out-dated forum software. We live in the 70s, we like old stuff and that includes forum software.
Cool that's ok. I thought it might have to do with those extra characters. and, yes, the whole site seems, well, maybe a little "old", but that's ok. I don't mind living in the 70s either, the golden era of prog!

sorry if I annoyed you earlier.

It's all good now. Cool
Back to Top
Gryphon View Drop Down
Forum Groupie
Forum Groupie


Joined: April 15 2007
Location: norway
Status: Offline
Points: 85
Direct Link To This Post Posted: November 29 2014 at 21:28
no, it's not at all good.

I still have big issues posting pictures here. I do the same thing I do on a whole bunch of other forums, copy the link and post it, and it works. but, it doesn't work here...

can someone please explain what I am doing wrong?


Edited by Gryphon - November 29 2014 at 21:33
Back to Top
Polymorphia View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: November 06 2012
Location: here
Status: Offline
Points: 8856
Direct Link To This Post Posted: November 29 2014 at 21:55
You have to use the image tag. The little button with the tree. I'm too lazy to post a screen shot.
Back to Top
TeleStrat View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: December 27 2014
Location: Norwalk, CA
Status: Offline
Points: 9319
Direct Link To This Post Posted: January 25 2015 at 20:27
I finally learned how to post pictures in the Post Reply box but I can't figure out how to add text.
What am I missing/doing wrong?
Back to Top
Dean View Drop Down
Special Collaborator
Special Collaborator
Avatar
Retired Admin and Amateur Layabout

Joined: May 13 2007
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 37575
Direct Link To This Post Posted: January 25 2015 at 20:34
Originally posted by TeleStrat TeleStrat wrote:

I finally learned how to post pictures in the Post Reply box but I can't figure out how to add text.
What am I missing/doing wrong?
You insert the image and then type some words, or type some words then insert the image, either way works.
What?
Back to Top
TeleStrat View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: December 27 2014
Location: Norwalk, CA
Status: Offline
Points: 9319
Direct Link To This Post Posted: January 25 2015 at 20:41
Originally posted by Dean Dean wrote:

Originally posted by TeleStrat TeleStrat wrote:

I finally learned how to post pictures in the Post Reply box but I can't figure out how to add text.
What am I missing/doing wrong?
You insert the image and then type some words, or type some words then insert the image, either way works.
I've tried typing after the image. I"ll fool around with it some more and get back to you if need be.
Thanks
Back to Top
Trollheart View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: November 17 2016
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Status: Offline
Points: 122
Direct Link To This Post Posted: November 19 2016 at 17:41
I'm having trouble posting pictures too. Now I know about using the icon, but it's slow and annoying, and as I already have all my ducks in a row with my reviews it's awkward not to be able to just paste the URLs between image tags. Oddly, sometimes it works but most of the time not. The images are all hosted on my own FTP server and have been used (via the icon) many times already, so they're definitely there. What do you guys think I may be doing wrong? 

Here are links for screenshots; the first shows what I've written and the second what happens when I preview it. Any help appreciated.

Thanks
TH

Image 1: http://www.trollheart.com/imageprob1.png
Image 2: http://www.trollheart.com/imageprob2.png
Back to Top
Vompatti View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member
Avatar
VIP Member

Joined: October 22 2005
Location: elsewhere
Status: Online
Points: 67136
Direct Link To This Post Posted: November 19 2016 at 17:50
From my experience it depends on the domain the images are under, for example sli.mg images never work. Thumbs Down
Back to Top
Trollheart View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: November 17 2016
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Status: Offline
Points: 122
Direct Link To This Post Posted: November 20 2016 at 09:22
Well mine are all under my own domain (www.trollheart.com) so that would not apply.
Any other suggestions?
Trollheart: as Irish as losing a 3-0 lead in a must-win fixture!
Back to Top
Vompatti View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member
Avatar
VIP Member

Joined: October 22 2005
Location: elsewhere
Status: Online
Points: 67136
Direct Link To This Post Posted: November 20 2016 at 09:33
Are you sure you're pasting the url between the img tags in plaintext? In the images above it looks like a link.
Back to Top
Trollheart View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: November 17 2016
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Status: Offline
Points: 122
Direct Link To This Post Posted: November 20 2016 at 13:02
Originally posted by Vompatti Vompatti wrote:

Are you sure you're pasting the url between the img tags in plaintext? In the images above it looks like a link.
Well with the syntax it becomes a link, and previously when posted it was a link, so if I copy it, then yes I guess it is a link. Nevertheless, the album cover is also a link (from Wiki) and shows up fine. If I have to take the image tags out and replace them I guess I could do that, but it sort of defeats the purpose. 

Anyway, isn't every image a link, as in, you're hotlinking to it? 
Trollheart: as Irish as losing a 3-0 lead in a must-win fixture!
Back to Top
Vompatti View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member
Avatar
VIP Member

Joined: October 22 2005
Location: elsewhere
Status: Online
Points: 67136
Direct Link To This Post Posted: November 20 2016 at 16:58
Originally posted by Trollheart Trollheart wrote:

Originally posted by Vompatti Vompatti wrote:

Are you sure you're pasting the url between the img tags in plaintext? In the images above it looks like a link.
Well with the syntax it becomes a link, and previously when posted it was a link, so if I copy it, then yes I guess it is a link. Nevertheless, the album cover is also a link (from Wiki) and shows up fine. If I have to take the image tags out and replace them I guess I could do that, but it sort of defeats the purpose. 

Anyway, isn't every image a link, as in, you're hotlinking to it? 

I mean a link as in a clickable link:

This is a link: http://www.trollheart.com/imageprob1.png

This is not: http://www.trollheart.com/imageprob1.png

If you put img tags around the first one, it doesn't work. If you need to copy the url from a link, paste it to a text editor first and copy from there. that'll get rid of the link tags.


Edited by Vompatti - November 20 2016 at 17:01
Back to Top
Trollheart View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: November 17 2016
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Status: Offline
Points: 122
Direct Link To This Post Posted: November 20 2016 at 17:36
Hmm. Okay, I'll try that and report back. Thanks!
Trollheart: as Irish as losing a 3-0 lead in a must-win fixture!
Back to Top
Trollheart View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: November 17 2016
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Status: Offline
Points: 122
Direct Link To This Post Posted: November 21 2016 at 11:53
No, unfortunately it don't work. Because, I assume, the string of characters is seen as a link already, even if I copy and paste it using Notepad, it goes back in as a link, and therefore won't work. Curses! Guess I'm stuck with the icon... Ouch
Trollheart: as Irish as losing a 3-0 lead in a must-win fixture!
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 4567>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down



This page was generated in 0.141 seconds.

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.