Forum Home Forum Home > Progressive Music Lounges > Top 10s and lists
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Your favorite flute prog songs

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Philchem8 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Your favorite flute prog songs
    Posted: January 28 2022 at 15:12

I noticed there were a couple of discussion threads on the flute in progressive rock many years ago, but I have not found anything recent. And as I have not seen a discussion asking people for their favorite prog tracks with flutes, I thought I’ll give it a go. If there’s interest, maybe we can build a list of top flute prog songs. Whether it was a recorder, transverse or other type of flute (and I’m by no means an expert), I believe the flute started to be used occasionally in rock mainly around the mid-1960s, notably in tunes such as Ruby Tuesday, Wild Thing and Jefferson Airplane’s Coming Back To Me. The flute then played an important role in a lot of progressive rock from the late 1960s to about the mid-1970s, with Jethro Tull, and to some extent Focus, making it a defining element of their sound. Afterwards, it seems that the flute became somewhat out of fashion, although Tull and occasionally Steve Hackett (with the help of his flutist brother) carried on the tradition to some extent. I don’t think the flute plays much of an important role in neo-prog. I am aware of some more modern bands that have some flute - Big Big Train (for ex. Winchester Diver), Mostly Autumn - but I’m not sufficiently familiar with enough of their material to tell how extensively the flute is used.