Forum Home Forum Home > Other music related lounges > Music and Musicians Exchange
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Just had someone tell me how to play the guitar.,,
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Just had someone tell me how to play the guitar.,,

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Davesax1965 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Just had someone tell me how to play the guitar.,,
    Posted: May 10 2022 at 08:05
- his had been bought from a shop, played a few times in 10 years and had a thick layer of dust on it. 

So of course, I get a lecture on how to play and how difficult it is to form chords and how you should spend hours learning scales. 

This was on a Zoom call for work. I let him go on a bit and then said I've got 9 guitars, I've been playing since 1975 and I'm an improvising musician. 

So. 

He carries on telling me how to play guitar. Without the first idea of how to do it. 

Dunning Kruger, anyone ? 

Edited by Davesax1965 - May 10 2022 at 08:19

Davesax1965 View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Davesax1965 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: May 10 2022 at 08:18
I should add that the same person told me he played piano. But couldn't "get both his hands working at once". 

Or his ability to understand irony. 

ExittheLemming View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ExittheLemming Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: May 10 2022 at 08:33
Was it Andrew Ridgeley?
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Davesax1965 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: May 11 2022 at 03:57
Big smile

MortSahlFan View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member