Forum Home Forum Home > Other music related lounges > Tech Talk
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Tape to MP3
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedTape to MP3

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
chopper View Drop Down
Special Collaborator
Special Collaborator
Avatar
Honorary Collaborator

Joined: July 13 2005
Location: Essex, UK
Status: Offline
Points: 19051
Direct Link To This Post Topic: Tape to MP3
    Posted: December 09 2005 at 08:31

What's the best way of transferring my treasured old bands' demo tapes onto my PC so I can keep them in MP3 format?

I have a rather old PC at the moment, although I'm hoping to upgrade early next year.

Back to Top
Snow Dog View Drop Down
Special Collaborator
Special Collaborator
Avatar
Errors & Omissions Team

Joined: March 23 2005
Location: Caerdydd
Status: Offline
Points: 32995
Direct Link To This Post Posted: December 09 2005 at 08:35
plug your tape deck into your PC  and copy them to wav!
Back to Top
krusty View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member


Joined: September 27 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Points: 1777
Direct Link To This Post Posted: December 09 2005 at 09:41
^Yep, that's the way I have done it in the past.

I used a program called Cooledit which also has a load of noise fillters & such like for removing hiss from tapes and any hum you might get from your amp.
Then I used dbpoweramp to convert the waves into mp3s.

I do the same with vinyl and Cooledit can remove any pops & clicks.
Back to Top
MikeEnRegalia View Drop Down
Special Collaborator
Special Collaborator
Avatar
Honorary Collaborator

Joined: April 22 2005
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 17178
Direct Link To This Post Posted: December 09 2005 at 09:50
I suggest you wait until you can afford a new PC, and buy a nice Creative X-Fi. Then record the tape to wav with no filter/mogrification whatsoever. On that wav you can then use all sorts of software to de-hiss, de-noise, etc.

Edited by MikeEnRegalia
Back to Top
goose View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: June 20 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Points: 4097
Direct Link To This Post Posted: December 09 2005 at 10:54
Creative X-Fi should be fine, but you can get equally good performance for much cheaper by buying a stereo card without all the gaming effects - even something as simple as the low-end M-AUDIO, I think.
Back to Top
porter View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: August 07 2005
Location: Italy
Status: Offline
Points: 362
Direct Link To This Post Posted: December 09 2005 at 10:57
MMM, I wouldn't suggest going for cheap stuff, because it sucks anyway. You could look for a used audio card, ECHO's are very good.
"my kingdom for a horse!" (W. Shakespeare, "Richard III")
Back to Top
Certif1ed View Drop Down
Special Collaborator
Special Collaborator
Avatar
Honorary Collaborator

Joined: April 08 2004
Location: England
Status: Offline
Points: 7559
Direct Link To This Post Posted: December 09 2005 at 11:25

M-Audio and Echo make great soundcards - get one now and transfer it to your new PC, so you can start copying straight away

I use Wavepad (software) for recording - because it's FREE, records to WAV by default, and you can use it to convert into practically any format you like.

www.nch.com.au/wavepad/

 

Back to Top
MikeEnRegalia View Drop Down
Special Collaborator
Special Collaborator
Avatar
Honorary Collaborator

Joined: April 22 2005
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 17178
Direct Link To This Post Posted: December 09 2005 at 12:09

Originally posted by goose goose wrote:

Creative X-Fi should be fine, but you can get equally good performance for much cheaper by buying a stereo card without all the gaming effects - even something as simple as the low-end M-AUDIO, I think.

The smallest X-Fi is priced at €100, and even with this you get really good gaming performance. So while I agree that some low end M-Audio cards would be cheaper, if you're also a gamer the X-Fi is the best choice. 

Back to Top
goose View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: June 20 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Points: 4097
Direct Link To This Post Posted: December 09 2005 at 13:22
Originally posted by MikeEnRegalia MikeEnRegalia wrote:

Originally posted by goose goose wrote:

Creative X-Fi should be fine, but you can get equally good performance for much cheaper by buying a stereo card without all the gaming effects - even something as simple as the low-end M-AUDIO, I think.


The smallest X-Fi is priced at €100, and even with this you get really good gaming performance. So while I agree that some low end M-Audio cards would be cheaper, if you're also a gamer the X-Fi is the best choice. 


Fair enough - I thought that X-Fi was much more expensive than that , but then it probably is in the UK .
Back to Top
krusty View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member


Joined: September 27 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Points: 1777
Direct Link To This Post Posted: December 09 2005 at 16:17
^ Well the cheapest I could find a x-fi card for was £86 here OK I didn't do an exhaustive search.

My question is why would you need the "World's most powerful audio processor!" to quote Creative Labs just to capture audio? Then turn it into a lossy compression format which MP3 is?

I have done what Chopper is trying to do using just a Creative Labs 5.1 live PCI card and I'm pretty sure you can do it using onboard audio if that's all you have.

The best (cheapest) solution may be to use Wavepad as suggested by Certif1ed along with the soundcard you already (must) have. Cost ZERO.

Or alternately, instead of spending £50 up on a new soundcard, use the money to buy the CD versions
Back to Top
Certif1ed View Drop Down
Special Collaborator
Special Collaborator
Avatar
Honorary Collaborator

Joined: April 08 2004
Location: England
Status: Offline
Points: 7559
Direct Link To This Post Posted: December 10 2005 at 16:31

Originally posted by krusty krusty wrote:



My question is why would you need the "World's most powerful audio processor!" to quote Creative Labs just to capture audio? Then turn it into a lossy compression format which MP3 is?

If you want a decent source (ie the wav file you create when you initially record the sound) then you need a decent 24 bit soundcard.

 

 

Back to Top
goose View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: June 20 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Points: 4097
Direct Link To This Post Posted: December 10 2005 at 17:25
Definitely not onboard - I don't think anyone provides good quality sound as part of a normal package. At the same time unless, as Mike says, you're playing games as well, there's no real benefit to the X-fi over any other card - especially if you're paying more and will have to fiddle around with the settings to remove all the compression and EQ (I believe, although I couldn't say for sure, that they're on by default, which is not at all what you want for doing a copy!)
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.01
Copyright ©2001-2014 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.141 seconds.

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.