Forum Home Forum Home > Progressive Music Lounges > Prog News, Press Releases
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Pink Floyd awarded Polar Music Prize
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedPink Floyd awarded Polar Music Prize

 Post Reply Post Reply
Kotro View Drop Down
Prog Reviewer
Prog Reviewer

Joined: August 16 2004
Location: Portugal
Status: Offline
Points: 2680
Direct Link To This Post Topic: Pink Floyd awarded Polar Music Prize
    Posted: August 28 2008 at 13:22

The Laureates of the Polar Music Prize 2008 are:


Renée Fleming Citation
The American soprano Renée Fleming receives the 2008 Polar Music Prize in recognition of her sublime unparalleled voice and unique stylistic versatility. Connoisseurs and the general public alike have been dazzled by the beauty of her soft and natural voice, which is equally supple in every register and exudes sensitivity in every tone. With apparent ease and brilliant command, she takes on the entire operatic repertoire, from Handel to principal parts in newly penned operas. Concert audiences over the world have all been captivated by Ms. Fleming’s magnetic stage presence. She holds a truly exceptional position among the world’s singers.

Pink Floyd Citation
The 2008 Polar Music Prize is awarded to the British group Pink Floyd for their monumental contribution over the decades to the fusion of art and music in the development of popular culture. Through extensive sonic experimentation, they captured the mood and spirit of a whole generation in their reflections and attitudes. Pink Floyd managed to evolve and create exciting music and albums over the years, When rock'n'roll developed, Pink Floyd was foremost in shaping the sounds that would influence artists for ever.

The laureates will receive the prize from His Majesty King Carl XVI Gustaf of Sweden at a gala ceremony at the Stockholm Concert Hall to be followed by a celebratory banquet at Grand Hôtel on Tuesday the 26th of August. The event, which is broadcast on national television (TV4), attracts international media, members of the international music business, celebrities, artists, musicians, government ministers, politicians and leading members of society and industry.

A whole weekend of activities is being planned under the name of Polar Music Prize Week, encompassing exhibitions, workshops, seminars, film screenings and live performances at various locations in Stockholm. This is an important area of expansion for the prize and it is a means for increasing both local and international awareness of the Polar Music Prize.

Each recipient receives a total amount of one million Swedish Crowns, which is equivalent to approximately USD 164.000 or EURO 106.000.

The Polar Music Prize was founded in 1989 by the late Stig ”Stikkan” Anderson, one of the true greats in the history of popular music. As the publisher, lyricist and manager of ABBA, he played a key role in their enormous success. Its name stems from Anderson´s legendary record label, Polar Records. The Polar Music Prize is one of the most prestigious and unique music prizes in the world, crossing over musical boundaries and awarded to individuals, groups and institutions in recognition of exceptional achievements.

The board of the Stig Anderson Music Award Foundation includes representatives from the Stig Anderson family, SKAP (The Swedish Society of Popular Music Composers) and STIM (The Swedish Performing Rights Society). The task of scrutinizing nominations submitted and selecting the ultimate laureates is undertaken by an Award Committee comprising of experienced members of the music industry.

Laureates from a wide range of countries, cultures and continents have received the Prize in Stockholm from the hand of His Majesty, King Carl XVI.

Sir Paul McCartney, Dizzy Gillespie, Witold Lutoslawski, Nikolaus Harnoncourt, Quincy Jones, Mstislav Rostropovitch, Sir Elton John, Joni Mitchell, Pierre Boulez, Bruce Springsteen, Eric Ericson, Ray Charles, Ravi Shankar, Iannis Xenakis, Stevie Wonder, Bob Dylan, Isaac Stern, Burt Bacharach, Robert Moog, Karlheinz Stockhausen, Sofia Gubaidulina, Miriam Makeba, Keith Jarrett, B.B. King, György Ligeti, Gilberto Gil and Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, Valery Gergiev, Led Zeppelin, Steve Reich and Sonny Rollins have all been bestowed with the Prize since its inception in 1992. In 1992, the Baltic States were also awarded the Prize to encourage them in their work for protection of copyright.

An announcement video together with publicity photos and this press release are available for downloading on our web site
Congratulations to Pink Floyd on winning the unofficial "Nobel Music Prize".
Bigger on the inside.
Back to Top
Philip View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member

Joined: June 13 2007
Location: Porto, Portugal
Status: Offline
Points: 413
Direct Link To This Post Posted: September 21 2008 at 10:24
That's it, congratulations for being awarded this important prize.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.01
Copyright ©2001-2014 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.094 seconds.