Forum Home Forum Home > Progressive Music Lounges > Suggest New Bands and Artists
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedIs Baroque Pop Prog Related?

Post Reply Post Reply
Poll Question: Would you say Baroque Pop is Prog Related?
Poll Choice Votes Poll Statistics
1 [20.00%]
2 [40.00%]
2 [40.00%]
This topic is closed, no new votes accepted

Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
Zebedee View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member

Direct Link To This Post Topic: Is Baroque Pop Prog Related?
    Posted: July 28 2009 at 10:56
I've recently discovered Andrew Bird and while I admire his skills as a musician, I wouldn't exactly call it prog.
This is yet another one of those borderline cases. Anyway... I like his music, whether it's prog or not.

Edited by Zebedee - July 28 2009 at 11:03

Friendship is like wetting your pants: everyone can see it, but only you can feel its warmth.
The Runaway View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member

Direct Link To This Post Posted: July 21 2009 at 08:37
Andrew Bird is more indie rock, my girlfriend is his number one fan. He can be considered as prog, definitely! He has something that sounds like 7/8 on Anonanimal or something, and a lot of looping and sampling. The guy is really prog, most suitably Prog Folk.
Trendsetter win!

The search for nonexistent perfection.
CPicard View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member

Direct Link To This Post Posted: July 20 2009 at 14:01
Originally posted by Dean Dean wrote:

Originally posted by CPicard CPicard wrote:

Er, could you define 'Baroque Pop'? I only heard about "Baroque Kraut Pop" once and I don't know who is Andrew Bird.
Try this for a starting point: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Baroque_pop

Thanks, I got it now.
Dean View Drop Down
Special Collaborator
Special Collaborator
Retired Admin and Amateur Layabout

Direct Link To This Post Posted: July 20 2009 at 12:35
Originally posted by CPicard CPicard wrote: