Forum Home Forum Home > Progressive Music Lounges > Interviews
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedVelislav Ivanov (May 2010)

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member
Retired

Direct Link To This Post Topic: Velislav Ivanov (May 2010)
    Posted: May 09 2010 at 10:21

Velislav Ivanov, born in 1988, is an independent musician from Sofia, Bulgaria. He releases his music for free, which allows him the freedom to do whatever he likes both musically and lyrically. He is primarily a keyboardist and singer, and utilize samples for other instruments. Both of his albums are strictly solo affairs, with only Ivanov appearing.

I got in touch with Velislav for his story.

¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬¬

You were born in 1988. What is your musical background and why did you start with music ?

It might seem a bit odd, but I am almost completely self-taught. My grandmother taught me the very basics of piano when I was less than 10 years old, and that was about it. When I became a bit older, say, 14-15, I sought ways to express myself and my vision, and, naturally, music found its way through me. I think my work has progressed since then and I have become much more confident in my musical abilities.

How is life in Bulgaria ?

In what aspect? I cannot advocate for the whole country, but in Sofia, I suppose, it is rather normal for a Southeastern European city. Surely, there are quite a few negative aspects - a policeman-turned-PM being one of the major ones - but still, as in every big city, one can find his place.

Which artists and bands did influence you most ?