Forum Home Forum Home > Progressive Music Lounges > News from Official Prog Suppliers
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Liquido's "Float" to be reissued in October
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Liquido's "Float" to be reissued in October

 Post Reply Post Reply
Windhawk View Drop Down
Special Collaborator
Special Collaborator
Honorary Collaborator

Joined: December 28 2006
Location: Norway
Status: Offline
Points: 11273
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Windhawk Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Liquido's "Float" to be reissued in October
    Posted: September 15 2010 at 13:28
Liquido are undoubtedly best known for their smash hit from 1999 – „Narcotic”. The song became a huge mainstream success and is to this day played by numerous European radios. But not all music lovers know that Liquido’s career has since evolved and after their 1999 self-titled debut LP, the band released four more albums. Metal Mind Productions presents “Float” – one of Liquido’s most rock-oriented efforts, filled with a bunch of great, catchy songs. This exclusive reissue takes another glimpse at this truly exceptional offering…
Liquido was formed in 1996 in Germany by four friends: Wolfgang Schrödl (vocals, guitar, piano), Tim Eiermann (vocals, guitar), Stefan Schulte-Holthaus (bass) and Wolle Maier (drums). The band debuted with a 5-track demo called “Narcotic”, which featured their famous blockbuster song. Impressed by their incredible potential, the major label Virgin Records offered the group a recording deal and after releasing the successful “Narcotic” single in 1998,  put out their self-titled debut album in 1999. Liquido was soon dubbed the newest pop-rock sensation and their music became known all over the world, gaining the biggest acclaim in Europe. The band played countless shows, in the meantime writing material for a follow-up LP. “At The Rocks” was released in 2000, bringing another dose of brilliant alternative pop-rock vibe and spawning the hit single “Play Some Rock”. Liquido’s third album, “Alarm! Alarm!” hit the stores in 2002, this time unfortunately achieving less appeal. This caused the band to change labels and by 2005 Liquido announced the controversial decision of signing to an all-metal label Nuclear Blast… “Float” was the first album released in collaboration with NB. It featured an impressive variety of styles, ranging from pop-rock to indie music and even disco! Some songs, like “High Roller” or “Love Me Love Me” (with brilliant female vocals by Eva Jagun) were typical Liquido tracks – catchy and melodic. However, on such compositions as “No Sensitive Healing” or “Bulletin” (sounding a bit like something Queens of the Stone Age would write) the band proved their undying love for straight-forward rock. Other songs were also quite significant – “Fake Boys/Girls” brought a fair dose of electronic experiments (reminiscent of early Therapy?), while “Bang Your Head” was an upbeat disco tune. The group also included a ballad – “The Final Strike” – which bore quite a resemblance to the musical style of Deathcab For Cutie or The Postal Service. Liquido managed to release one more album on Nuclear Blast – “Zoomcraft” – in 2008. Unfortunately, in the following year the group decided to call it quits and eventually disband, with most of the members moving on to different musical projects.
“Float” remains one of Liquido’s most interesting works in their entire career. An album full of musical surprises and genuine talent, this is truly a fabulous treat for all fans of alternative pop-rock. The new digipak edition of the album includes 4 bonus tracks (audio and video) and is limited to 2000 copies. Remastered using tube technology, digitally edited on a golden disc. The release date is scheduled for 11th October in Europe and 7th December in USA (via MVD).
“Float” (remastered + bonus tracks)

Label: Metal Mind Records
Cat. No.: MASS CD 1397 DG
Barcode: 5907785036345
Format: CD Digipak (limited edition of 2000 numbered copies)
Genre: Alternative pop/rock
Release date: 11.10.2010 Europe / 07.12.2010 USA
1. Flip to Play
2. Lay Your Head Down
3. Love Me em Evol
4. Bulletin
5. Mr. Officer
6. Ordinary Life
7. Fake Boys / Girls
8. No Sensitive Healing
9. The Final Strike
10. High Roller
11. Drag Me Down
12. The Standard
13. Jump Off
14. Valentine
Bonus tracks:
15. Prostitute
16. At the Movies
17. Ordinary Life (clip)
18. Ordinary Life (making of)

Metal Mind Productions - Promo Dept.
Websites I work with:

My profile on Mixcloud:
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.01
Copyright ©2001-2014 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.594 seconds.