Topic ClosedMoonJune Records

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member
Retired

Direct Link To This Post Topic: MoonJune Records
    Posted: December 05 2011 at 15:45

MoonJune Records is a record label who operates between progressive jazz and progressive rock. 

Progressive music in other words. 

MoonJune Records are celebrating their ten years anniversary this year and I got in touch with it's owner Leonardo for it's story.

#################################################################################

I gather your label name refers to the excellent song on Third, Soft Machine's masterpiece. What was you background and why did you want to start a record label ?

I was born in former Yugoslavia, grew up in Italy and since 1990 I live in New York City. I studied Portuguese language and literatures and history of Portuguese speaking countries at the University level and when in Italy I have translated many books essays, literary and scientific work from/to Portuguese, Italian, Serbo-Croatian. And I have been collecting records since I was a teenager. When I came to NYC, I was partner in a graphic design and advertisement company with a very vast clientele in any sort of music business not only in NYC.

When I started the label in 2001, all I wanted was to help few young Italian bands, and few musicians gravitating around Soft Machine Legacy to have a legitimate record label voice, since I was also involved in booking their gigs. My objective then shifted to something that was growing inside of me, to create a label that supports music that gravitates within an evolutionary progressive musical continuum that places jazz at one end and rock at the other, and anything in between.

Is Moonjune Records your daytime job or do you have a sane job in addition to the label ?