Forum Home Forum Home > Site News, Newbies, Help and Improvements > Welcome newbies!
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedHello!

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member

Direct Link To This Post Topic: Hello!
    Posted: March 01 2018 at 11:11
Finally found a place to talk music!

I'm a musician, author, backpacker... I love movies and stand-up comedy (Mort Sahl, Bill Hicks)..

When it comes to music, I'm trying to find all I can of the 60s and 70s, from any country. I tend to love Eastern music, minor-key, diminished, etc.. Usually slower paced.. I love vocalists who can sing in a high register, vibrato and falsetto. My latest kick started after someone recommended "It's Possible" by Piero Piccioni feature Catherine Howe - whose voice I absolutely love, and I love instrumentals, and found some great stuff of his.. I seem to love long songs, but not 10 minutes of 2-chords, solo turns, etc.... I will not listen to music with a drum-machine, and I'll gladly criticize my favorite band and avoid listening to it. I

I like making lists, but I doubt there's enough room, so I'll limit it to a few..

Pink Floyd, Supertramp, The Doors, Beatles , zeppelin, who, steely dan, ELO, America, Eagles, David Bowie,  Three Dog Night, Fleetwood Mac, Black Sabbath, Neil Young, Marley, Stylistics, Stones, Hendrix

Harry and Tonto, La Strada, Nashville, They Shoot Horses, Don't They?, Network, One Flew Over The Cuckoo's Nest, Battle of Algiers, Treasure of the Sierra Madre, A Woman Under The Influence,  Buffalo '66

Argo2112 View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member

Direct Link To This Post Posted: March 01 2018 at 11:40
Hi,  welcome to Prog Archives. Lots of cool people hear talking progressive rock & music in general.
 Great place to discover music you my not have heard before. Enjoy!
MortSahlFan View Drop Down
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member