Topic ClosedSteve Wilson - unplugged, London 16th April

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Special Collaborator
Special Collaborator
Retired Admin & Razor Guru

Direct Link To This Post Topic: Steve Wilson - unplugged, London 16th April
    Posted: April 17 2007 at 03:26
Don't really know if this can be construed as a review, but Vicky and I (along with about 100 other lucky ones) attended Steve Wilson's launch of 'Fear Of A Blank Planet' yesterday evening at Camden Town, London.

The launch took the form of a short 'unplugged' set by Steve Wilson and John Wesley; SW joked at the beginning that he'd agreed to do the unplugged set, then listened to the album again & realised very little was suited to the format "but we'll do our best" - SW then went on to apologise in advance for his poor piano skills, saying "If I'm looking down all the time, I'm not shy, I'm just a crap pianist...".

With SW & JW sharing acoustic guitar & piano duties, they opened with 'Fear Of A Blank Planet', segueing this into 'My Ashes' (a completely fluffed piano chord prompting laughter from the audience & "I told you so" from SW) & then (for me) the highlight of the short set, the enotionally charged "Sentimental".

These were the only three SW said were playable in that format (and listening to the - signed, thanks Steve/John - album later in the car, I can well understand this), so he played one more song - here I have to admit I'm unfamiliar with some of Porcupine Tree's later albums, so I couldn't identify the song by name, but it was fab ...