Forum Description: General progressive music discussions
URL: http://www.progarchives.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=120616
Printed Date: April 27 2024 at 11:27
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 11.01 - http://www.webwizforums.com

Topic: The future of PA
Posted By: Grumpyprogfan
Subject: The future of PA
Date Posted: July 29 2019 at 09:47
I am a newbie on this site and I have come to the conclusion that most forum members like prog from 50 years ago more than current prog bands. Most discussions/threads are about Yes, King Crimson, Genesis, Pink Floyd, much more than newer bands. That’s ok… I guess.

I have also read threads that mention a lot of members left the website. Why? Did they tire of discussing the same bands from the 70’s or just lose interest in prog? So, I will pose a question. If the PA website survives for another 75 years will members still be discussing bands from the 70’s more than anything? Will the PA top 100 prog albums change?

Replies:
Posted By: lazland
Date Posted: July 29 2019 at 10:06
I doubt the site will last another 7.5 years, let alone 75.

Anyhow, it is the way it is. If you go to Progressive Ears, it is exactly the same. The Yes threads can be interminable, although there are a lot of very knowledgeable people on that site, and I contribute occasionally.

The 70's was the start of it all, and many of us are of an age where we have very fond memories. These bands were the founders of the genre, so it is natural they get more attention. This is precisely the reason, btw, that Prog magazine always carries the "stars" on its covers. A Yes cover will sell a damn site more than, say, some obscure modern prog band nobody barring the band members mums and dogs will have heard of.

That said, I agree with you. Modern music will be the future of the genre, and there is a lot of good stuff out there, and we do discuss and review it, to be fair. If you want more of it, then simply open up threads so we can look, listen, and appreciate.