Forum Description: Help us improve the site from a tech standpoint
URL: http://www.progarchives.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=130381
Printed Date: April 28 2024 at 22:54
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 11.01 - http://www.webwizforums.com

Topic: Message box weirdness
Posted By: JimAnder
Subject: Message box weirdness
Date Posted: January 20 2023 at 17:39
I'm new to the ProgArchives forum but searched the archives and didn't find anyone else asking about this so forgive me if it's been asked before. There are two things I'm wondering about... First, whenever I start a new thread or reply to an existing one the Message box opens with a little square character right where I would normally be starting to type my message.  I've just been leaving it there, but what is it? Is it important? Is it just something to do with the browser I am using? (Safari v16.1 in macOS Monterey (12.6.1)

The other issue is more problematic... After I've typed some text, if I want to go back and edit it then where ever I drop the cursor isn't where the form starts editing, and I either backspace over some text I didn't mean to delete or I start typing in the middle of a word. It's as if it's not WYSIWYG. Is it just me? Any workarounds?  Oddly enough I just tried it while writing this post and now it's fine, but I had this problem in each of my previous posts.  Very strange indeed!

Replies:
Posted By: NotAProghead
Date Posted: January 20 2023 at 19:00
I always deleted the square character. Now I see that if I don't delete it it's not shown in the post.

Didn't understand the second problem. Confused

-------------
Who are you and who am I to say we know the reason why... (D. Gilmour)

Posted By: I prophesy disaster
Date Posted: January 21 2023 at 00:13
I always delete the square. Maybe not deleting it creates the second problem by misaligning where the system thinks the cursor is.

-------------